We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and location, otherwise not up to expectation.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drehu Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lifou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drehu Village
Save
You added Drehu Village to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   PO BOX 265 98820 We, 98820, New Caledonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Katoomba, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great view and location, otherwise not up to expectation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Lifou is a 40 minute flight from Noumea. We stayed at Drehu Village for 6 nights over Christmas. We were met at airport in an unmarked, fairly old van. Check-in wasn't particularly welcoming and there was some dispute over a 'compulsory' (not the case as it transpired) payment of a special Christmas Eve dinner, which we had in fact pre-paid. LOCATION - right on the beach at Chateaubriand Bay, facing East (so be up early for a sunrise shot as sunsets don't happen). The sand is clean and white and the water clear, however there are no sun lounges or umbrellas. ROOMS - two rows of bungalows, all described as 'waterfront' but if you are in the second row that is certainly not accurate, fortunately we were well positioned in front. Rooms themselves are okay, lot of dark timber so combined with very little natural or artificial light, they are dim. One key deadlocks both the front door and deck door which was bothersome, taking key in and out of each. The bathroom was small and basic and the towels extremely threadbare. No hairdryer supplied. Bed comfortable but strangest lumpy pillows we've ever come across. FACILITIES - did not use the pool, given its very close proximity to restaurant and bar area, only a few ordinary outdoor chairs around it. There appeared to be a games room. RESTAURANT - other than the daily menu, a choice of two entrees/ mains and desserts at a set price, everything was written in French only so ordering from the a la carte was difficult and expensive. There was often very lengthy wait times due to insufficient staff. Entrees and desserts were best, the mains patchy in quality, a lot of tuna based dishes (on daily menu). Breakfast was average. TOURS - alternate days going to North or South. We travelled North, our guide showed up late in same unmarked van, which we noticed had two warning lights on the whole time, and while he was friendly, had extremely limited English so we didn't get a whole lot of information. It really would be best to hire a car and see places on your own, the roads are well sign-posted and not busy and time could be spent at some of the gorgeous snorkelling spots we could only have 10 minutes looking at. STAFF - mostly not helpful or friendly and limitations if you didn't speak, read or understand French. NEARBY - are two supermarkets, within a 10 minute walk (walk down driveway and right at the roundabout), the larger one particularly (furthest from hotel), stocks all you need for putting together your own lunch. OVERALL - Drehu Village is certainly somewhere to go for total relaxation as the days are long and quiet, there is no spa or entertainment. Maybe it was just the time of year we stayed but the orientation East meant that every day was windy, even to the point of being unpleasant. I did ask our guide re this and he said it was always like that but possibly this was something else lost in translation. There was also a stray dog that hung around all the time, following guests along the beach and coming into the restaurant at night which we found very off putting. Check-out was as our welcome and the receptionist did not even raise her head to say good-bye or au revoir as we walked past for the last time to the same van with warning lights still aglow!

Room Tip: Whilst every room is advertised as being waterfront, if you are allocated one in the second row your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    58
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
19
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Good location. Gorgeous island. Very nice rooms. We just felt that as non french speakers we were treated with contempt by some of the staff. This was especially true on the tour. Dont do a tour just hire a car and do your own with a guide book. The menu at the restuarant is all in french too so get an app to translate for you. The staff will help you with translating only when it suits them. The local people are very friendly. Peng beach, jokin cliffs and baie de jenik are all must sees. The snorkelling at baie de jenik is the best i have experienced with gorgeous coral and fish.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at Drehu Village for four nights in October 2012. Having found Drehu Village on the Web and seeing photos from beach and bay in front of the hotel, the Baie de Châteaubriand, we booked what was called a beachfront bungalow using their homepage. We also got a confirmation from something called Travellers Island stating that we had booked a beachfront bungalow described like this : Beachfront bungalows with air conditioning, bathroom, lounge, TV, phone, in room safe. - 1 or 2 persons Bungalow with sea view - Internet special rate. In addition we booked transport from the airport to and from the Hotel, as the airport is located at some distance. Just a few days before we arrived we exchanged e-mails with the reception stating flight number and arrival times for the pickup. When we arrived at the airport there was no one there to pick us up. Someone picking up people from another resort advised us just to stay put. After half an hour an unmarked and rather old van drove up. It turned out to be our transpor¬tation, although the driver only after several attempts could get the door open and windows could not be opened. No apology for being late was offered. Somewhat bewildered we saw a new van with hotel logos in the hotel parking lot when we finally arrived. We were given a welcome drink in the lounge before being shown to our bungalow, which turned out to be located at the farthest end of double row of bungalows, that did not all look occupied. In the room the cables stuck out of the wall from a missing TV, and later we couldn’t get the safe open because someone had programmed it shut. After a hasty look at the absolutely beautiful beach and lagoon, we went to the reception and asked to see the manager. We were told that he/she would come. Half an hour later still no manager and in fact we never saw that person. The reception promised to do something about the TV and the safe, and of we went to explore the surroundings. By the way if one gets the impression that internet would be working in the bungalows, it doesn’t. One has to sit in the lounge in front of the reception.
Drehu Village has in fact an absolutely beautiful location on the Chateaubriand bay with a coral beach stretching for miles and turquoise lagoon. But beware when booking that you really get one of the beachfront bungalows, those in the second or third row do not have the view. Breakfast is delicious and can be enjoyed on the restaurant deck with a fantastic view of the beach. Dining in the evening is so so, with regard to service. In short, a wonderful location, nice bungalow, but a little distant and not very helpful staff, with one exception. No help in renting a car, just given a list of agencies and the message that you have to phone them yourself. As a car is absolutely necessary to explore the fairly large island, we rented a car, and being told we could leave it at the airport; we cancelled the booking for hotel transport to the airport. Perhaps one might recommend renting a car in advance from an airport location, with the benefit of not being dependent on hotel transportation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A good hotel on a beautiful beach with white sands. We did appreciate the view and the relaxing time we had. No much things to do so we sent to bed so early and of course wake up by the bird song before 6 am, perfection for a run on a beach waiting the sunrise, finally stay there 3 days and you will recharge fully your batteries. The service in the restaurant is just as normal, not specially friendly, just the minimum. Nice is the free use of kayak.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Drehu Village will satisfy travellers seeking a comfortable hotel experience on Lifou, but if you were looking for a more authentic stay, I'd suggest one of the plentiful tribe-run gites.

The restaurant is good, and special occasion meals (such as a Mothers' Day buffet) are popular with tourists and locals alike (don't forget to book!).

On the whole, staff are very helpful. A little French will get you further.

Room Tip: All rooms have water views, but some are virtually on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked a suite for the family - two adults and kids of 3 and 5 and it was a great size. A queen bed partioned off from the rest of the room and a double and single in the living area for the kids. We were right on the beach, but far away from the restuarant and pool. We used the trolley to ferry bags and tired kids each day. Beach is good when calm, but not as kid friendly when it is windy, but there are other incredible beaches for all wind directions. Food was okay, but not outstanding. Menu enfant was good for our kids. We skipped the breakfast and just shopped at the local supermarket - breakfast on the deck overlooking the beach was good. Pool kept the kids occupied for an afternoon. Staff were very friendly and most spoke good English - if you wanted to chat then they were happy to share their thoughts and local knowledge. They helped out with various bookings around the island. definitely hope to get back.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed in a bungalow. Spacy and clean. Maybe a lack of light atnight! Bathroom is good, hairdryer was a bit old-fashion tough.
The wooden terrasse with sea view is really enjoyable!
Location-wise it is quitegood, you can swim at Chateaubriand! But if you are into snorkeling you will have to go to somewhere else (Turtle bay in the south or Jinek in the North)
Asforthe restaurant, count abt 4000 XPF for the todays menu. A la carte would be abt 5000 if u go for starter main dessert. Quite a few choices... Enough to entertain our mouthes for 4 days!
I would say it is worth the 10000 XPF per night

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drehu Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drehu Village

Address: PO BOX 265 98820 We, 98820, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Loyalty Islands > Lifou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lifou
Hotel Class:3 star — Drehu Village 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Drehu Village Hotel Lifou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drehu Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.