We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Grass Ocean Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added White Grass Ocean Resort to your Saves list
White Grass Ocean Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 kms from the airport, Tanna Island, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tanna Island
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

My partner and I just returned from four days/nights at White Grass Ocean Resort on Tanna and we loved it...if only we could have stayed longer!

The accommodation on offer is a series of individual thatched bungalows with ensuites. They are quaint and suitably equipped for a comfortable stay. And the setting is magnificent with lush tropical gardens looking out towards the fringing reef and sea.

Resort facilities include a small pool, bar/restaurant, mini golf, tennis and bocce. The resort also hires out reef shoes, snorkelling gear and bicycles.

The location is suburb! You can grab some reef shoes and check out the fringing reef and rock pools at low tide, or snorkelling gear and head straight out the front onto the most spectacular reef we've ever seen.

White Grass staff are delightful. They keep the resort bungalows and grounds absolutely spotless and top class. The gardens are well set out with plenty of shady hammocks and lounges to escape the hot Vanuatu sun.

The restaurant is fabulous. The menu for each meal is small (maybe three - five different dishes) but the food is delicious and it changes daily so you won't get bored if you're there for a longer stay. Try the organic Vanuatu beef, you will be blown away by how good it is, not to mention fresh lobster and fish every day. The bar has a small selection of Aussie, French and New Zealand wines and champagnes, a range of beers and spirits.

The resort offers at least 12 different tours taking in things like the Mt Yasur volcano, kastom villages, guided snorkelling, fishing, black magic, underwater caves, etc. You won't run out of things to do and the resort staff are very helpful in terms of advice for making the most of your trip.

White Grass is like a little piece of paradise. If you were thinking about going to Tanna, this is the place to stay!

  • Liked — Breathtaking location
  • Disliked — No sandy beach
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    103
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
49
184
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

We have just returned from a 6 day trip to vanautu-primarily to see the Volcano. And what an amazing adventure!

We stayed only 1 night/ 2 days on Tanna and that was the biggest mistake (although we didn't have much choice). The resort was sensational in every sense- glorious setting on the edge of the island, beautiful management, great food, rustic perfect little bungalows overlooking the ocean...

Tanna is not just about the Volcano- although that is a once in a lifetime experience and not to be missed! We arrived and immediately did a Kastom Village Tour which even my skeptical husband loved. The next day we had planned to go horseriding but had not booked it and there were no horses available, so we went mountainbike riding instead, and played tennis and snorkelled on the amazing reef right out the front of the resort. There were also several other tours we would have loved to do but didn't have time. I would recommend booking anything that is an absolute priority though as I found out the locals are not good at improvising if things go wrong! They have something in abundance that we westerners lack.....TIME!

Overall, a fantastic experience. I would recommend at least 3 full days at White Grass Ocean resort if possible. Also, all tours are booked through the resort so it is easy to organise.

  • Liked — Gorgeous setting
  • Disliked — Very small plane to get there!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

I spent 4 nights at White Grass in Aug06 with my husband and we were very happy of our choice.
Tanna is a beautiful wild island and we enjoied our stay at the resort. Our bungalow was tiny and clean: although we booked a double room we had a room with an optional bed inside.
The room was very quiet and a hammock outside to rest under the trees.
The garden and the sourroundings are amazing. With a five minutes walk you can reach a very nice rock pool where you can snorkel and admire beautiful coral life. You can easily meet wild horses crossing your way!
The restaurant is very good: nice and fresh food locally cultivated and the view is great. Very nice breakfast with juicy fruit and passion fruit juice.
Managers are very friendly and organize any kind of tours and entertainment. We had volcano tour (incredible) and kastom village (intresting).

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

My wife and I spent two nights at Whitegrass in November 06 and absoluely loved our time there. We originally had planned to stay only one night, but soon decided that one night wasn't going to be enough.

We took the volcano tour and loved it, getting lots of great photos and a unique experieince. I won't say much more on the volcano tour since most other reviewers have discussed it.

We also took the 'Blue Cave' tour. On this tour a local fisherman takes you to a secluded cave that can only be entered by swimming through an underwater entrance. Inside the cave, a hole in the roof lets in a shaft of light that illuminates a bright blue circle of water. Stunning! The underwater cave entrance is easy to get through - just make sure you swim down to avoid scratching your back. Also - take a disposable underwater/waterproof camera to grab a photo if you can..

The rooms themselves are small, single room (+ bathroom) bungalows. Ours was clean and beautifully presented. The small size didn't really matter to us as we spent most our daytime outside doing activities, and spent the evenings enjoying the views from the restuarant before heading off to bed early.

Re: security and personal belongings. We had no problems, but we kept our room locked at all times and our valuables packed away.

The food was all based on fresh local ingredients and so tasted great. We didn't find the meal prices too bad - though our perception could be different to others as we are used to eating out in Sydney. Whilst some meals are expensive - this is made up for by other dishes (such as fresh lobster) being much cheaper than what we would normally pay.

Whitegrass may well be the most expensive place to stay on Tanna, but if you like a little luxury to gow with your wilderness, then Whitegrass is deinfitely the place to stay on Tanna..

  • Liked — Great views and immaculate grounds. A very relaxing location.
  • Disliked — The food is good but eating at the restuarant for eveyr meal adds up.
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the 'Blue Cave' tour.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

I just returned from a two week holday in Vanuatu, and spent 5 nights at Whitegrass Resort. Although Port Villa was nice, Tanna was definately the highlight of the trip. 5/6 day's was a minumum to see just some of the attractions, the Volcano was easily the most amazing thing I have ever seen witnessing nature at it's most powerful. We got some fantastic pics! Also spent a fair bit of time snorkelling, fishing, went on a couple of cultural tours and just kicking back by the pool.
I was impressed with the resort, good 3.5 star standard rooms, friendly staff with great management and restaurant over looking the ocean. The food was to die for, I had lobster for dinner twice and enjoyed the selection of natural produce, which apparently is all grown naturally on the Island.
In summary, we were very happy with our stay, great value and I recommend going just to see the volcano, let along spending 5 nights in a tropical paradise!

  • Liked — Clean, Simple
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Tips/Secrets — See as many attractions as possible
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

Whitegrass is situated on a headland overlooking the sea. Bouganvillia grows all over the resort and is truly spectacular. The Australian manager is helpful and pleasant although we did have money stolen from our bungalow which unfortunately we didn't realise until after we had left so nothing could be done. Their website stated (haven't checked recently) that the islanders are very trustworthy, in most cases I am sure this is true but the managers are complacent and the office safe should be used by everyone. Also insist on the volcano tour that the guide takes you to the highest lookout point as we did not and realised afterwards this had been a mistake.

The bungalows were basic but lovely and quiet, the food was good and the choice of drinks excellent - however my husband did feel they were overcharging, even taking into account the location which is very remote. I do believe the prices are bulked up by an unreasonable amount. That said, the fishing and snorkelling from a nearby sandy beach were spectacular and we would recommend it if price doesn't matter.

  • Liked — Great location, fantastic views
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

My partner and I stayed at White Grass Ocean Resort on Tanna Island, Vanuatu for four nights in August. The resort grounds were absolutely lovely, as was the reception centre where we ate all our meals overlooking the sea. The managers/hosts were helpful and friendly, and the staff were friendly, with a more reserved nature than elsewhere in Vanuatu.

The accommodation was fairly basic - in some ways we expected this (in terms of generator power and fewer facilities). However for the price we paid ($AU260 per night) we felt some things could have been improved - the beds were small, only double, which made for some relatively uncomfortable sleeps for my (tall) partner. The rooms were serviced daily but our bathrooms (we stayed in two separate rooms) could definitely have been cleaner, especially the toilets ( I cleaned it when we arrived). They also have field mice at the resort, which isn't a big deal, and they try to keep them out of rooms - our first room smelled mousy and we woke up with mouse poo on the bed - however we were promptly moved when we mentioned it the next morning, with no issues in our next room.

There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms (no food/fridges so as not to attract mice!) - which we understood, however we felt tea and coffee making facilities should have been provided in the reception centre, again given the room prices. Although we had a lovely time and appreciated the beautiful and remote location, we did leave feeling a little "financially exploited" - the only real option for meals/drinks is to buy them at the resort, and they are relatively expensive. Same with activities like hiring mountain bikes and the various tours - these are also quite expensive with no other real options. We did understand that running accommodation on Tanna would have higher running costs than usual, however we have since heard of other local/smaller run guest houses and bungalows on Tanna which offer similar standard rooms (although not sure about hot showers, toilets etc elsewhere), and do meals and tours (eg volcano) at less expensive prices. They may not have the beautiful grounds and stunning location offered at White Grass, so it depends what you're after.

Two final positive things to say though: The Yasur volcano truly was amazing. Luckily we were there 4 nights as the first 3 we were told it was clouded out. We took our chances on the last night and it was clear. Second, the snorkelling on the reef directly out from the resort was really good, that compares to elsewhere in Vanuatu and on the Barrier Reef- very colourful coral, heaps of fish, plus turtles, sea snakes, and lots more.

Overall, White Grass offered comfortable accommodation and a spectacular spot. It's definitely worth visiting if you're prepared for things to be a bit on the pricey side in terms of value for money. We also spoke to lots of other guests there who were very happy with the accommodation and their overall experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Grass Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Grass Ocean Resort

Address: 2 kms from the airport, Tanna Island, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Tanna Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tanna Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Grass Ocean Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Ocean front Bures sitting amounst tropical gardens. Direct access to Ocean for snorkeling & swimming. On site full service Bar and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your White Grass Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Grass Ocean Hotel Tanna Island
White Grass Ocean Tanna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Grass Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.