We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Yasur

Mount Yasur
Tanna Island, Vanuatu
Improve this listing
Type: Volcanos, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This relatively short volcano (360 meters above sea level) is regularly active.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Fantastic not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have been to several volcanos around the world including Kilauea (rumoured to be the most active in the world). From what we saw Mount Yasur is by far the best.

This volcano changes on a daily basis we were in Tanna for five days and we could not resist going back after our first visit. an absolute must see for anyone in the area.

The journey to Mount Yasur is a very bumpy one I have a bad back and really felt the journey a cushion helps.

The toilets at this site are probably the worst you will ever see.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    27
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Perfection! Don't go to Tanna and not do this. My one recommendation would be to book on a tour that gets there later and leaves later as the display after dark is by far the best.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adalide
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A must do in Vanuatu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Mount Yasur is a must see while you are in Vanuatu. The island of Tanna is a largly unspoiled landscape with immense natural beauty. The trip to the active volcano is lovely and is only surpassed by the action of the volcano

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
2 reviews
“Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

An absolute must do. You can not prepare yourself for the visible shockwaves and catapulting lava/rocks. We went when it was a level 2 activity (out of 5, with 5 being catastrophic), which was amazing. It actually is active, erupting every minute or less, with earthshaking power. It is quiet frightening (definately not for the faint hearted and NOT FOR CHILDREN!!!), but also more amazing than you could imagine. Has to be seen at night, for only approx AUD$150 more for an overnight trip (with Unity Airlines, who were very proffessional and organised everything) it cant be missed, our guide was EXCELLENT and provided torches, but it is advised to pack your own and have good shoes! If you are booking from Tanna, Tanna Evergreen lodge is nice accomodation and their guide David was absolutly brilliant and had second-to-none local knowledge. Beware, it is not a tourist attraction like we are used to in Australia (OH&S, guard rails etc), it is a real live and very active volcano (there is lava, rocks and smoke spraying from the top for most of the time you are there) so it can get very dangerous. Worth every cent

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Would love to see it in full flight!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

It took us half an hour driving from our accommodation before we entered onto the ash plains where our drivers pretended they were in a Toyota ad much to the delight of our teenagers. After crossing the ash plains, the track winds back through magnificent lush jungle before climbing upwards on a very rocky & rough track. Steam bellows out of the rocks as the jungle gives way to an ash & molten moonscape.
From the carpark, its a short walk up a concrete path to the rim, with the ever increasing smell of sulphur.
Not long after we claimed our vantage spot, the first of many rumbles occurred followed by red lava sailing skywards. Once the sun lowered, the lava display became alot more visible.
Thankfully there was a strong breeze blowing from behind us which blew the smoke & sulphur up into the sky creating a magnificent cloud & allowing us to see down into the volcano, although the actual vents were still obscured from sight.
We were ushered back to the ute just as several large explosions happened. Our guide said the volcano was quiet at present. It would be great to see it more active.
We could see the red glow emitting from Yasur for most of the ride home.
Bring a light jacket, sturdy shoes & some biscuits - it can be a long time waiting to get that perfect photo. And spare batteries for the camera!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Yasur also viewed

 
Tanna Island, Vanuatu
 

Been to Mount Yasur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Yasur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.