We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanna Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tanna Lodge to your Saves list
Tanna Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bethel Area, South West, Tanna Island, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tanna Island
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Me and my mum stayed at Tanna Lodge for 3 nights. Although we had a little bit of a mix up with the pick up from the airport which turned into a little adventure in itself, we were greeted by the lovely owners Stella and Hugh who made us feel right at home.

The little bungalow that we stayed in was great, had two separte bedrooms with an outdoor shower and a outdoor area which looked out over the beach and ocean. The rooms were cleaned every morning, although we were never given fresh towels which wasnt a issue as as soon as we asked they gave us new ones.

During the first day we just had a walk around the lodge and chatted to the local people and relaxed. That after noon we went on the Yasur Volcano Tour which Stella organised for us. We boarded our 4X4 and took the bumpy road up the hill to the volcano. Our guides were lovely and the volcano was even more amazing. I recommend taking a shower proof jacket and some warm clothes as it started raining when we were up there. Also take a torch and good walking shoes.

The second day Hugh had organised his son Ned to take us on a tour on the quad bikes. First we went to the Custom Village where one of the locals showed us around and then they did a traditional dance for us. Then onto a waterfall, which is a great walk if you are fit, was a little bit harder for mum. Make sure you have your togs on if you go here as you can climb up a rock face beside the waterfall and then jump into the deep water. From there we walked back up the steep hill and back on the quad bike to the black beach. This beach was great. The water was warm and clear and the sand was amazing. The quad bikes were great fun to travel around the island with.

The food was good but there wasnt a great selection, which was fine for us as we arnt fussy eaters. I recomend taking some snacks with you as you arnt walking distance to the local store.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    39
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
47
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Tanna Lodge had the ability to be an awesome accommodation but is run down.
The rooms were basic and the sheets were stained . There was old jam and milk left in the fridge. We had to ask for sugar and milk. When I asked for instant coffee as I have black coffee I was told by the owners son that he would go on the quad to get for me but for a price. I walked into town and bought my own.
The lodge is set on the beach and sunset was wonderful.
The food for lunch and dinner was great but breakfast supposedly continental breakfast was a slice from three fruits and toast and jam.There was no choice of food.
I found the owners partner friendly and the staff were great.
It has the potential to be a fantastic accommodation if there was some time and effort to be put into the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Tanna Lodge for two nights. It was Independence Day when we arrived. The celebrations were evident on the drive to the lodge - especially the soccer tournament. On arrival we were shown to a very comfortable room with a view to the black beach less than 50 metres away. We were surprised that we had 24 hour electricity. The WIFI was another surprise - even though it was something we had no need to use. The lunches and dinners there were really enjoyable - dining with other travelers and our host Hugh.

We took in three trips around the island all organised from Tanna Lodge. First over to spectacular Yasur volcano, then the intriguing Yakel Village and also over to Black Beach for some horse riding (we opted out of the horse riding and ended up finding and eating bush tucker). We traveled in (or on) a twin cab 4wd ute to Yasur for an sunset spectacular - glad to wear a warm jumper and long pants on the back of the 4wd. To go to Yakel and Black Beach we traveled by quad bike hired from Tanna Lodge.

For somewhere so remote it was incredibly comfortable, we didn't expect perfection but found so much more. It was great to slowdown and relax. Next time we travel to Vanuatu we intend to spend less time in Port Vila and more time in gems like Tanna Lodge.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper like me, bring some ear plugs. Some people love the sound of the surf - I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have just spent three most wonderful days at Tanna Lodge. The welcome we received from Hugh and Stellah and their family was warm, friendly and genuine. We have travelled extensively and have never experienced such magnificent hospitality. The location of Tanna Lodge amongst a beautiful tropical garden provided a perfect setting for a relaxing stay. Being situated right on the beachfront added to the ambience. All the staff were incredibly helpful and we felt like we were with friends. And the quad bike trips were awesome. The food was superb. We can recommend this as a perfect place from which to visit the volcano Mt. Yusur. We will definitely be back. Thanks so much Hugh and Stellah. Love to everyone - including Prince!
Joanna, Grant and Pip

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at Tanna lodge for two nights.

The food was great and accommodation was basic and clean.

They organised our volcano and Island quad bike tour. Both exceeded our expectations.

Would highly recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: Get the one on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Tanna Lodge; what a gem!

In Vanuatu to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. And to see the volcano on Tanna.
What a lovely place!! What a lovely staff! Love the  outdoor showers!! Love the spacious bungalows!! Love the special dinner you organized for us!!  Thank you Hugh, Stella, kids and staff  for looking after us and making it such a special time!!
Josie and Paul. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have just returned from 3 nights at Tanna Island staying at this beautiful resort where we were able to really get away from it all. We spent many hours sitting on the outdoor terrace just looking at the scenery, reading a book and having some wine. Sure this resort is remote but Tanna is a remote island anyway. The hosts Stella and Hugh are just great and so are their kids and the staff , they are all very warm and welcoming. If we were to go to Tanna again, we would definitely stay there! The trip to the volcano was the highlight, it is a must, our driver Walter was very good and made us feel very safe on the dirt roads especially as the visibility was near zero in some parts. I returned from Tanna with a lots less stress that when I arrived, just open your doors in the bungalow, breathe in the air, listen to the ocean , flop on the armchair and relax!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanna Lodge

Address: Bethel Area, South West, Tanna Island, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Tanna Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tanna Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanna Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Island of Tanna, only 35 minutes flying time from Port Vila and a little over one hour flying time from Noumea. Within close proximity to the main town and only 20 minutes drive from the airport. We are established in a very private sheltered bay amongst extensive gardens and lush tropical foliage, on 4 hectares of interestingly contoured land. The site is unique in its topography, including to the rear heavily vegetated cliffs with large scale caves and tunnels, inaccessible other than from the resort. The resort is nestled in a sheltered private bay and fronts directly onto a large area of sand beach enveloped on both sides by interesting rock formations and coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Tanna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanna Hotel Tanna Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanna Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.