We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wedding in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lope Lope Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lope Lope Lodge to your Saves list
Lope Lope Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East Coast Road | Champagne Coast, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Bowen, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Wedding in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just returned from six wonderful days at Lope Lope Adventure Lodge where we attended the wedding of our godson Pat. Wow! What a magical place. We were met at the airport and welcomed by Colin who transported us back to the Lodge to settle into our new "home". The warm welcome we recieved from Megan on arrival at the Lodge continued throughout our stay. The bungalows are spacious, clean & well appointed, each with its own private beach. The cool breeze & soft lapping of the ocean at our doorstep ensured all of the party enjoyed an excellent night's sleep. ( Even the snorers amongst us didn't snore! Wish we could take that home!) Well all loved the outdoor showers. Really enjoyed the continental breakfasts on the balcony of the lodge each morning and evening drinks & dinner were a delightful experience.
Hire cars & taxis are reasonably priced (thanks Dusty & John) & we used these to explore the island. We found beautiful spots such as Champagne Beach, Turtle Beach, Velit Bay Jacky's Blue Hole and Port Oiry. The restaurant here - Port Oiry Harbour Restaurant serves Coconut Crab, which is to die for. Yum!
The friendly waves from the local people walking along the road everywhere we went enhanced our sight seeing experience.
The wedding....
Pat & Jen were married by the Blue Hole adjacent to Lope Lope Lodge. The setting was awesome in its natural state, but the staff enhanced it with flowers & palm fronds. -beautiful. The wedding luncheon was held on the balcony of the Lodge which is built out over the ocean. The varing hues in the water made the setting spectacular. Once again the girls did a fantastic job of decorating the area for the occasion. The sumptious tropical feast of local seafood and tasty salads laid out for the guests was delicious. We enjoyed local fish, prawns, lobster and oysters among other things. (Thanks for the beautiful spinach soup Bissend ). The restaurant serves great meals and all served with beaming smiles from the staff. Thanks to Bissy, Chrissy & all the girls who really looked after us.
Our thanks to Megan for ensuring that all our needs were catered for and for helping to make Pat & Jens day so beautiful & special. They will have awsome memories & I know they have some magnificent photos. We would all like to return some day.
Maree & Co

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Everyone

Where do I start.....It was an absolute honor to host your son/godsons wedding at Lope Lope Lodge. Over the period of your holiday we got to know you all at a special level which we will cherish for a long time....

The wedding was a amazing day which could only of come together so well with the help of our staff, Helen the local wedding planner and the local village ladies whom never cease to amaze me how they can make decorations from the local jungle/trees to produce a breathtaking end result!

Having your family and friends visit our Lodge and celebrate a milestone in your son’s life meant a lot to us all.... it was a pleasure to say the least.

Thank you for the fantastic review and I truly hope our paths will cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently cruised Vanuatu and upon arrival on Santo, had no activities or day trips planned. Thankfully we got talking to Megan who manages the actual operation and she invited us to visit her establishment. What a beautiful place. It is a real hidden gem. We have young sons who absolutely loved the place. The staff, particularly Megan and Colin who manage the hotel operations, are very welcoming and friendly and even drove us there and back from the ship port. The meals were fantastic also. If you visit Santo, you must visit this lodge. We are now looking into booking our next holiday to Santo and staying the duration at their lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hey guys,

This truly was a chance meeting, finding your whole family under a small tent trying not to get wet in the heavy rain at the wharf - so really quite comically to be honest... I am glad you took my word and all jumped in the truck to spend the day at Lope Lope.....

Days like that can be quite hard trying to entertain the little ones ,but as you stated there was more than enough to keep them busy and having some good family time together.

Once again thank you for the review and spreading the word about our little bit of paradise in the South Pacific... and tell your great kids to keep up the good work with their "strong hi-five's" - lol... so good to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lope Lope is a fantastic place. Espiritu Santo is not as developed as Port Vilia which is a good thing. We later learnt you can fly direct to Espiritu Santo from Brisbane Australia rather than Melb. to Port Vilia (stay a night). to Espiritu Santo. The rooms are spacious and right on the water, they feature beautiful out door showers, lovely decking looking out over the water and fitted with all the mod cons. The owners Colin, Megan, the staff and the locals are amazing people, so friendly and caring. The food is some of the best I have ever tasted; I especially loved the steaks and seafood. This place gives you a real chance to unwind. We will never forget the special time we spent there. Regards James, Isabella and Steve.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, all as private as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, Owner at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Guys

Thanks for the review!

It was a pleasure having you around - you and the entire family (parents, brothers and the rest) where awesome! I cannot remember how many birthdays there were, but it was great entertaining all of you on those days :) ... even though some nights were real late, it was good chatting away about everything...!

See you back soon, and take care of that beautiful daughter of yours!

Btw - we have since named a shooter after your stunning family yacht...

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrack Heights
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Can highly recommend. I heard about Megan's horse riding lodge from FB and I started emailing Megan with my enquiries. I found her very helpful and a pleassure to deal with. This followed through to our day trip to the lodge. Megan picked us up from the ship and was very welcoming to me and my family. The lodge is amazing. Such an amazing location. Very clean and beautiful. The staff were great and spoke good english. I can highly recommend the fresh food also. Definatley want to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi There

It is always a pleasure to meet and ride with a confident horse lover/rider..........It means a lot to me when I get a personal email thanking us for the great day and that the whole family was entertained while “Mum” was away riding....

Cruise ships are always entertaining and sometimes trying but to know that we can still deliver a personal service to everyone is very rewarding!

Once again thank you for your support and review - see you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My partner and I recently visited Lope Lope for the second time. We stayed last year and loved it, so that's why we decided to come back instead of trying another resort, and you could understand why if you've been before. We arrived on the night of a 60th birthday party for one of the expats living on the island, the bar/restaurant was full of excitement and entertainment and to top it off we had an international acrobatic show, a big bonus! What we loved most about it last year was the personal experience with the staff. They all remembered us, due to the fact that you get to know them quite well, which is a plus because you learn about the culture so much faster. As always Megan, the manager, does such a great job of making sure we are comfortable and settled in and have everything we need. A great thing about Lope Lope is that you never really have to leave the resort, as it's got all you need. Waking up to the sound of the ocean, diving into the water on your own private beach, then starting the day with a delightful continental breakfast is amazing. The the activities: We did Horse Riding, went on the Hobie Cats, played Paintball when the cruise ship was in, lay on the beach, snorkeled the reefs, got set up with local dive operator to dive the President Coolidge, and best of all, had a trip up to Champagne beach! I highly recommend Lope Lope for your next stay in Santo, food and drinks are amazing, customer service is second to none, and the amount you can do is just satisfying. A++++++

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Oi, DJ & Dr!

Was really great to see you two back - the staff still love you I see!

Dr... your man was not bad on the horse riding considering the fact that he grew up in the city where the only thing he could do was ride a bike (I believe)... well done DJ and especially braving a first time on a Hobie Cat in 15 knots of wind on a busy Cruise Ship day!

Yes the 60th birthday was absolutely awesome and a night to remember - that is what we do for our patrons... nice work on the music that night - thanks a tonne for your input that night.

You guys have a great time - see you next time.

Cheers
Ps. We showed your review to our staff - they loved it and told me to say hi and they will see you back again next time - actually Bissend said she will send you guys out to get a better "tan" next time - that must have been be a private joke you guys had... get out of the luxury bungalows and get a tan???!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've stayed here twice now, and if I had to choose only one holiday location for the rest of my life, this would be it.

From the moment the team picks you up at the airport, the friendliness of the hosts and the warm welcome from the staff really sets Lope Lope apart. And then there's the location -- picture-perfect beachfront bungalows with water literally lapping at the shore metres from your porch. The outdoor garden showers are divine and everything in the spacious rooms is beautifully appointed and furnished.

The food is a definite high-point. Both times I've stayed I've been lucky enough to have freshly caught local fish.

Tours of Espiritu Santo - including beautiful beaches and historic sites - are reasonably priced and can be organised directly through the resort.

Thanks Megan and the team for a fantastic trip. I will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi M!

It was great to have you back... thanks for the review - we showed our staff and they had smiles painted all over their faces... lol - they love it when they know they have achieved what we have trained them for... "Personal service to perfection with a free smile!"

They now do all that naturally!

See you back soon and have a great Christmas!!

The Lope Lope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were lucky enough to be told about (lope lope) and spent Sunday 23rd of sep there on our last day of our p&o cruise :) we were made very very welcome and Megan who was extremely busy that day was able to accommodate me and the 4 kids in for 50 minute horse ride which was fantastic :) I must say the service and food was absolutely beautiful and the surrounding... Well the just Speak for themselves :) we were in a large group of people and all of us can not speak highly of this resort and will most defiantly we go back there for a holiday at the lope lope resort :) The two hosts are very lovely and we look forward to seeing you both again :) many thanks to you both for our fabulous day at your paradise island :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi There,

First of all thank you for the wonderful review!

Cruise ship days can always be hectic but I am so glad that I could fit in the children and yourself for a horse trail.....It was hard to believe when you asked to see me and then brought out this little bit of paper with” Megan Lope Lope” on it from a lady you met in Melbourne, as a must do!!!!!

It just shows word of mouth is still strong especially when you provide good old fashion service with a smile!

We enjoyed having your large group at Lope Lope for the day and truly hope you will revisit our little bit of paradise again in the future....

Happy Travels & see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lope Lope Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lope Lope Lodge

Address: East Coast Road | Champagne Coast, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lope Lope Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lope Lope Lodge is Santo's finest new absolute waterfront resort boasting probably one of the best locations on the island. It is a lodge built to 5-star quality standards with the same reflected in our accommodation, service, food, drinks and activities - without the price tag! Situated 15 mins from the international airport and only 11 km out of town on the newly tar sealed East Coast road, we have fast become one the most popular places in Santo to visit, whether staying with us or not. Set on 8.5 Hectares of lush tropical forest, a natural blue hole and an ice cold fresh water creek forms our northern boundary, whilst the warm crystal clear, aquamarine colored Pacific Ocean meets our white sandy beaches with nothing more than a soothing sound that is bound to lull you to sleep in your luxury bungalow...The Slipway Sports Bar & Grill combination of natural & modern design, the Slipway Sports Bar & Grill is well known for its variety of drinks and food, and has fast become the "Place to be in Santo," since our opening in April 2010. Offering free pool tables and darts on our mezzanine level, live big screen TV, free internet and comfortable couches to relax away the day. Our Accommodation design mixture of Modern and Melanesian, our upmarket bungalows are absolute waterfront with most top class amenities and finishes that will make you feel at home, especially when stepping off the deck onto your own white sandy private beach! Our 132 square meter luxury bungalows are one of a kind and designed to meet your highest expectation without losing the true island style feeling you can enjoy while staying with us! All bungalows are built to 5-star quality with a unique feeling of living in your own home - but in paradise & right on a tropical Pacific beach...* Private entrance* Thatch deck, hammock, 4 seat settee* Spacious open plan design* King Size bed (or a twin King Single)* iPod dock* HD TV* A comfortable 3-seat lounge set, Laptop desk, Walk through wardrobe* Bar fridge* Laptop safe* Twin vanities* Luxury Bath* Outside shower in tropical garden. All linen, towels & beach towels are provided. Your room is made up every day & full service every third day!Activities We offer a wide variety of activities with, horse riding trails, Hobie cat sailing, kayaks, game fishing, island hopping, sightseeing, cultural tours, blue holes etc... All at your fingertips! Lope Lope is truly "The Place to be in Vanuatu!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lope Lope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope Lope Adventure Hotel Espiritu Santo
Lope Lope Lodge Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lope Lope Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.