We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elena - Wonderful in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lope Lope Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lope Lope Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lope Lope Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East Coast Road | Champagne Coast, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Espiritu Santo
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elena - Wonderful in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Recently we spent 6 wonderful days at Lope Lope. It was perfect!!! The weather was a bit too hot and humid for us, but we still had an excellent time, enjoying every minute of it. What a nice surprise was the fresh water Blue Hall, a 2 minutes walk from our bungallow, so private, so classy, exclusive, the staff and owners were extremely nice, friendly and helpful in any way. We would like to thank Megan for introducing us to Sandy who showed us a bit of his beautiful island and being so nice to us. It's so much you can do and see, one week it's not enough time to spend in such a beautiful place. Accommodation, restaurant (try the fish and chips, the best we had so far) and bar are all first class in quality and service.
We wish everyone at Lope Lope all the best and good luck in the future and hope to see you soon. We highly recommend it to all our friends and business associates.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Hi guys, it was a pleasure having you stay with us at Lope Lope, we enjoyed our conversations over dinner. Be sure to fly directly to Santo not Vila next time.... lol

In the meantime I will work on my hot chocolate recipe (Kal) We’re always happy to hear that we’ve lived up to our reputation and look forward to having you back sometime hopefully not in the too distant future.

Cheers, see you soon
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here just for a couple of nights and cant fault it... Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Weather really bad while we were staying but still idyllic surroundings. Good solid food in restaurant... Welcome drink was any cocktail you would like from the menu.... bottle of sparkling wine in fridge. This place really deserves to do well...

Only negative... we changed dates at short notice ....still booking for 2 nights but because it was late notice they charged us for three (incl original night we had booked).... still well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Hi Guys - thank you for staying with us; we enjoyed your company and hope the rest of your trip went well, especially the part by dugout canoe... Thank you for the feedback!

In regards to your booking; when you go through outside vendors like Agoda we are unable to make any changes to their booking system, however I do remember after you had changed your Agoda booking that the email we received indicated your reservation had been amended and it carried the same booking ID.

As our cancellation policy was in place when you did the last minute amendment, Agoda applied it as a cancellation (not an amendment), hence the extra day charged. We did contact them and they agreed to refund you as per our request – after all, you only had the time to stay 2 nights and therefore it is only fair you pay for two!

We apologize for any inconvenience caused – enjoy your travels, and see you back soon.

Kind Regards

Kalvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent 5 nights in the most gorgeous beach bungalows right on Lope Lope Beach. Lope Lope ticks all the boxes for a couples holiday, water lapping up to our cabin steps, private blue water hole next to our cabin, kayaks at our door step for us to paddle around in, gorgeous snorkelling area just out from our cabin, horse riding along the beach, fabulous and friendly staff and the list goes on! Megan, the manager organised tours for us with a very friendly tour guide, Sandy, who knew so much about his island and it's history and took us to some gorgeous spots.....there is so much to do at Lope Lope or you can do nothing at all, just stare out at the most amazing view. We loved it and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We found this place on a cruise stopover in January. It was absolute paradise i wish we had found it earlier on in the day we would have spent the whole day there. Megan was so kind to let us have a 30min horse ride on the beach which has always been a dream of mine. As it turned out we have a mutual friend in NZ. Thanks Megan we will come & stay in one of the bungalows one day the resort is absolute paradise.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback! I am really happy that you enjoyed your horse trail,and yes I remember that you said this was something you have been wanting to do all your life...

As you know our horses are so special and always enjoy the last bit of the trail through the water in front of the restaurant - I think they just love the attention they get from all the other guests taking photo's - lol...

I look forward to seeing you guys again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were staying nearby, and on the spur of the moment found ourselves at lope lope's restaurant for dinner. We'd heard about it from some of the locals and thought it would be worth a try. As stunning as the setting and building may be, it turns out that this is really just a big local watering hole - the flickering of the huge screen and rowdy upstairs crowd of expats on the pool tables overwhelms any prospect of potential fine dining.
The menu read well - that is until the waiter came over and told us there were no prawns, lobster or potato chips - and we fared little better with the wine list as the first and second choices were unavailable either. After an inordinate amount of time, the food arrived ... all palatable but nothing exceptional and if memory serves me correctly, it was the most expensive meal for the whole time we were in Vanuatu. Luckily the waiters were nice, but we left not caring if we ever visited this place again...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for visiting us at Lope Lope - we appreciate the feedback even though it seems negative, we in turn will see it as positive criticism and use this post to improve where we can.

The Slipway Sports Bar and Grill is not a “fine dining” venue, but a restaurant that caters for the widest variety of entertainment, foods and drinks on the island.

Friday night is our busiest night of the week, where local expats and guests from other resorts come out to enjoy themselves at our “Pool Competition & Party Night”. We are the only venue on the island that can offer this great service, hence the extremely busy and popular Friday nights.

Living on a remote island locale does provide our industry with a few challenges, one of which is a steady and consistent supply of imported items. Unfortunately, we are at the mercy of local grocery stores, shipping companies and the weather, and sometimes we simply have to do without as in the case of your visit. Our wine list suffers the same consequences as our supply of imported potatoes and as such we are forced to adapt our wine list to what is readily available.

We pride ourselves in the good service our wait staff provide, so are glad to hear they were up to standard. Our apologies that you left with such a lackluster opinion of our restaurant.

If you find yourselves in Santo again be sure to stop by and we’ll be happy to make amends, but make sure to call and reserve if you want to have a quiet dinner (stay away from Friday’s though).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have just returned from an amazing trip to Santo, Vanuatu. We spent 6 nights at the Lope Lope Adventure Lodge set right on the water. There are just three burres – each with its own private beach. Waking up each morning to breathtaking views and ending every day in exactly the same way was the most wonderful experience.

Lope Lope also has a great bar and restaurant and the most considerate and obliging staff we have ever come across Megan and Calvin went out of their way to make our holiday the most unforgettable experience. Chatting when we wanted company, leaving us to ourselves when we wanted to be left alone. They went above and beyond what one would expect – no request was too hard.

This place has something for everyone, horses, watersports and a lot more for the adventurous or you could just relax and take it all in like we did. We would definitely recommend this resort with its well appointed burres, spectacular views and amazing staff. We would definitely return to Lope Lope on our next trip to Vanuatu.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Our stay at Lope Lope was absolutely amazing we spent 7 nights there in late October 11. We
arrived 2 hours before the RWC Final Kick Off and there was a big crowd in the
restaurant/bar area, being a keen AB's supporter I immediately thought we would need to
stand somewhere to watch the game, but as soon as we arrived we were taken to reserved
tables right in front of the big screen (Gold Start with the cream on the top being the
AB's win).

There are just 3 bungalow's at Lope Lope so it was very private and peaceful, with your
own private beach out the front, warm water 24/7, in actual fact we had a couple of nights
with just myself and my girlfriend as the only guests that in itself was a very cool
experience!!! The bungalows' themselves are new and the finishing's and designs are
immaculate, we have travelled a number of times to Vila and stayed at Breakas, Iririki and
Le Lagon and whilst you can't compare directly to these resorts the bungalows here at
Lope Lope are of a very high quality and even have an outdoor shower giving you the real
feel of being amongst nature!!! (Loved the Pure Blondes in the Mini Bar!!!)

Above everything the staff were amazing, Megan, Kelvin and the team really looked after us
and everything was very personalised from entry to departure, the guys were just awesome.
What we liked about this holiday here is you were really forced to relax which was exactly
what we needed, above this though there were the activities available at our disposal so we
had the pleasure of Megan taking us out on the horses (All of the horses there are rescued
horses) through the jungle and out on the beach absolutely priceless, then we had a day with
Sandy seeing all of the hot spots in Santo. We will definitely come back to Lope Lope in
the future and have recommended it to all our friends, we miss the beautiful mornings
looking out at the horses on the beach and hanging out with Boston!!!

Room Tip: There are only 3 bungalows each with a private beach so all are equally great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lope Lope Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lope Lope Lodge

Address: East Coast Road | Champagne Coast, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lope Lope Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lope Lope Lodge is Santo's finest new absolute waterfront resort boasting probably one of the best locations on the island. It is a lodge built to 5-star quality standards with the same reflected in our accommodation, service, food, drinks and activities - without the price tag! Situated 15 mins from the international airport and only 11 km out of town on the newly tar sealed East Coast road, we have fast become one the most popular places in Santo to visit, whether staying with us or not. Set on 8.5 hectares of lush tropical forest, a natural blue hole and an ice cold fresh water creek forms our northern boundary, whilst the warm crystal clear, aquamarine colored Pacific Ocean meets our white sandy beaches with nothing more than a soothing sound that is bound to lull you to sleep in your luxury bungalow...The Slipway Sports Bar & Grill combination of natural & modern design, the Slipway Sports Bar & Grill is well known for its variety of drinks and food, and has fast become the "Place to be in Santo," since our opening in April 2010. Offering free pool tables and darts on our mezzanine level, live big screen TV, free internet and comfortable couches to relax away the day. Our Accommodation design mixture of Modern and Melanesian, our upmarket bungalows are absolute waterfront with most top class amenities and finishes that will make you feel at home, especially when stepping off the deck onto your own white sandy private beach! Our 132 square meter luxury bungalows are one of a kind and designed to meet your highest expectation without losing the true island style feeling you can enjoy while staying with us! All bungalows are built to 5-star quality with a unique feeling of living in your own home - but in paradise & right on a tropical Pacific beach...* Private entrance* Thatch deck, hammock, 4 seat settee* Spacious open plan design* King Size bed (or a twin King Single)* iPod dock* HD TV* A comfortable 3-seat lounge set, Laptop desk, Walk through wardrobe* Bar fridge* Laptop safe* Twin vanities* Luxury Bath* Outside shower in tropical garden. All linen, towels & beach towels are provided. Your room is made up every day & full service every third day!Activities We offer a wide variety of activities with, horse riding trails, Hobie cat sailing, kayaks, game fishing, island hopping, sightseeing, paintball… all at your fingertips! Lope Lope is truly "The Place to be in Vanuatu!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lope Lope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope Lope Adventure Hotel Espiritu Santo
Lope Lope Lodge Vanuatu/Espiritu Santo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lope Lope Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.