We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on Tonga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Reef Resort to your Saves list
Reef Resort
Kapa Island | Private Bag 11, Neiafu, Tonga   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wien
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best place on Tonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Renate and Josef were the best hosts on our whole long trip and the most quoted after our return home as well. The four bungalows were very nice, well decorated, big, airy and clean with a nice private terrace with sea view. The stylish bar/lounge/restaurant with terrace area was a perfect chill out place. After the daily excellent breakfast Josef was showing us the catch of the day of the fishermen of the neighbouring village. As a former chef of a Swiss restaurant he offered different ways of preparation and in the evening we got our choice perfectly and deliciously prepared. Also kids friendly dishes he prepared in absolute high level – our little one liked all dishes very much – and especially the kids friendly or better kids loving approach of Renate and Josef. For us it was the best cuisine we experienced on Tonga. A 15 min walk on the other side of the island there was Port Mourelle beach – a south sea beach of your dreams with nice snorkeling off the beach. We also took the opportunity to go out to the smaller outer islands with a fisherman of the village cruising us around as we wished (clearest water in all shades of blue, white palm fringed beaches, no people around – a south sea paradise) and paying a fair price directly to a local. It was a perfect stay and Josef and Renate´s hospitality was on top of all of that. We had the feeling that we came as guests and left as friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

It has been a few months since we got home but better late than never. We just had to back up the other reviews and say what a great time we had at the reef resort!! The food was unbelievable and has lead to us trying to replicate some of the meals Josef cooked for us (without success). The rooms are awesome and it's great being on the island with only 3 other rooms around. The whale trips all pick you up from the resort.
Most of all Renata and Josef are what make this such a great place. Nothing is too much for them and they go out of their way to do everything they can for you. It was sad to leave after a week at the resort and they even sent us an email saying merry Christmas.
Don't stay anywhere else

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Reef Resort is one of those magical places that lingers in your memories long after you've left. My husband and I spent 3 wonderful days here and our only regret is that we hadn't booked for longer. Renate and Josef are wonderful hosts. Amazing food!....It was great to walk to the nearby village and meet the local children. Make sure you walk to the other side of the island to the beautiful calm beach...I was initially disappointed that we weren't able to stay in one of the waterfront bungalows , however was pleasantly surprised by the bungalow up the hill with the most amazing views. I would definitely choose the same bungalow again.....We have travelled alot throughout the world and this has to be one of the most special and memorable places we have stayed.

Room Tip: Bungalow away from the water offer amazing views. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a very special place, peaceful and relaxing a short boat trip from the main island. Josef and Renate made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble (even our 8y old sons request for sausages!!) The food is amazing especially combined with sitting on the deck overlooking the beach and the reef. You can spend days lazing in the hammocks or out kayaking or snorkelling the Japanese gardens just off the beach. All the whale watch and dive operators will pick up direct from the resort jetty. Nightlife involves looking at the stars or a quiet chat over a glass of wine, again wonderful peace and relaxation. The 3 cats and friendly Sienna the dog complete the home from home experience. Thanks for a fantastic week - we will be back!! (Simon, Louise and Ciaran)

Room Tip: All the fale are beautiful but being right on the beach is quite special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights before heading out to Euaiki island - it was a fabulous experience - just what we needed, an ideal to place for some R&R - stunning food, resturant/bar, bungalow and beach over the hill and the best service - Renate and Joesf were so welcoming, gave us incredible service and spoilt us catering to our every need. My husband had food allergies which they accommodated for as well. Very special people. We thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you crave a total getaway, rest and relaxation this is the place to go. We have travelled many places in the world and this is one place were we would go back. The hosts Josef and Renate are extremely welcoming. The food, bungalow and location were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Reef Resort. We fully endorse what "SlowlyRoaming" and "Annette B" have already said in their reviews. We would add that Kapa Island has some lovely walking tracks through the rain forest and around the fringes of some beautiful bays. We visited the three villages on the island and really enjoyed meeting some of the local people, all of whom were particularly friendly. Their lifestyle is close to subsistence, but with cellphones!
We would love to return one day, particularly if Josef and Renata are still there.
Bruce & Krystal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort

Address: Kapa Island | Private Bag 11, Neiafu, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Vava'u Islands > Neiafu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Neiafu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort is a wonderful, boutique resort located on a tranquil island in beautiful Vava'u. The resort has four stunning bungalows (fales) each with air conditioning, private decks, walk-in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, refrigerator and the most amazing sea views. Finished to a high standard with tasteful furnishings and a modern feel, The crystal clear waters provide brilliant snorkelling and one of the best snorkelling spots in Vava'u, the Japanese Gardens, is just off the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Resort Tonga/Neiafu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.