We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic few days with Whales in the Wild” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whales in the Wild

Whales in the Wild
Valomotu House Toula Vava'u, Neiafu, Tonga
+676 8494628
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Wildlife boat tours taking guests out to snorkel & swim with majestic humpback whales in the pristine waters of the Vava'u Island group in The Kingdom of Tonga.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic few days with Whales in the Wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Tardy in writing this but wanted to review our 3 days with Phil who owns Whales in the Wild. Out of the 3 companies we went with in Tonga, this one is definately the best.
Phil is a really nice man and does his absolute best to give you the most memorable experience, and his Tongan guide Sione is unbelievably good at spotting the whales deep in the depths when all we coud see was blue!
Every day is different and of course it is very unpredicatable how good a whale watching experience you get each day but we always saw something and were able to swim so incredibly close to the whale I had to move away from it's fin.
All the operators are in touch with one another to share informaton on where the whales are but if they are proving elusive there are island with pristine sandy beaches and coral reefs to explore as well as caves to swim in to.
Phil's lunch was by far the best compared to other operators. He gets up at the crack of dawn every morning to prepare a nice selection of fillings for Tongan breads together with soft drinks and fresh fruit all enjoyed on the white sands of a palm tree lined beach.
All the equipment on the boat was clean and in really good condition and included masks, snorkels, fins and wet suits.
I woud really recommend Phil for the best possible whaling expeience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for your Whale experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Phil and Langi took us out for a day swimming with whales. Needless to say the whale swimming experience was amazing, something I could not put into words.

We were very conscious that we wanted to choose a company that respected the whales in their environment and to swim on their terms. Phil and Langi were respectful of this at all times and were very knowledgeable and considerate at all interactions with the whales. At no time did we feel we were harassing the whales, which is highly important.

Phil was an excellent host and a great fella be around and went above and beyond to help us out. Langi was a superb guide and highly skilled in ensuring we behaved appropriately around the whales to ensure we respected their space and our safety.

Lunch was excellent, equipment top notch (wetsuit, fins and snorkel) and on a rainy and windy day that we had the extra towels Phil brought for the guests were priceless - Thanks Phil!

I highly recommend Whales in the Wild and can't wait to head back next year!

Thanks for an amazing day Phil and Langi

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We did 1 whale swim with Sione and had a great time. If Water and towels were supplied it would make this experience `Excellent`. The lunch was wonderful and compared to the 4 dives and 1 whale swim we did with Dolphin Pacific, I would use Whlaes in the Wild without hesitation next time.
Thank you for a great experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Whales in the Wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After spending a week at Vava'u I couldn't recommend Whales in the Wild enough. If you are after a truly unique experience with an incredible tour company then Whales in the Wild is for you.

Phil the owner of the tour company is a very layback and knowledgeable man. During my time with Whales in the Wild I saw Phil go above and beyond his role on countless occasions to both accommodate and benefit the guests. Phil and his team of local guides are so dedicated to making sure that their guests have a great time that many guests extend their time in Vava'u as a result.



I had three days out swimming with the Whales. Your day starts at 7am and usually finishes around 4pm. You have both a local guide and a skipper on board for the day. I found all of Phil's staff to be extremely experienced and considerate of their guests. The Tongan guides have so much knowledge and passionate regarding the whales and the islands, which they are only too happy to share with their guests. The guides also take you to many great places around the islands to snorkel in pristine waters, swim in caves and explore deserted islands.

The actual experience of swimming with the whales is indescribable. It is both a thrill and a privilege to swim and interact with such majestic creatures.

I really enjoyed my time in Tonga and with Whales in the Wild. Tonga seems to be a well-kept secret, and Whales in the wild a fantastic guide to show you all the beauty it has to offer.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had 4 days with Phil Smith and guide Sione. It was fantastic, we saw individual whales, mothers and calves, plus a mother and calf with an escort, it was an unbelievable experience. We were also taken to beautiful water caves and coral reefs The masks, fins and wetsuits were all new and of great quality, a great lunch and snacks were provided, and best of all, the boat was easy to get on and off. If you want a holiday with a difference, then this is for you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whales in the Wild also viewed

 

Been to Whales in the Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whales in the Wild, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.