We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at Mystic Sands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mystic Sands to your Saves list
Mystic Sands
Utungake Village, Neiafu, Tonga   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT / FREE WINE
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Neiafu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“Excellent service at Mystic Sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were six friends spending a couple of nights at Mystic Sands in October 2013. We rented a big house right next to the other apartments. The sea view was beautiful, the house had two large bedrooms and a huge living area and verandah where we could spend time together. Transport to the town is not a problem, Maka and Mosi are very helpful and will drive you to town whenever you ask for it. We had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Google Translation
Det var kjempehyggelig og motes, haper vi treffes igjen en dag ett sted :)
Send en email til Mystic nar du far tid eller finn meg pa facebook sa vi kan holde litt kontakt

lykke til med resten av ferien :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    18
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for 9 days at Mystic Sands. Maka picks you up from the airport (make sure you confirm your flight times with real tonga airline as we nearly missed ours as they changed it without letting us know). We stopped at the supermarket which has a fair amount of selection and beer and wine. The market for fresh food. On arrival Mosi greeted us and explained everything in length. Mosi is such a gem and always come round every morning and evening to see if you want or need anything.
We stayed in room 1 which was lovely and airy although I do recommend closing the windows at night because of the roosters, the dogs seem to join in the noisy party too! (or pack ear plugs) The internet isn't great couldn't get it in our room but if you sit on the bench by room 3 you will be able to log on.
There are some mosquitoes here but they provide coils for you to burn at night if you sit outside and I didn't get many bites at all. The snorkelling is great, lots of fish, including nemo, we saw lion fish and a stone fish by the jetty which was great we had a new camera and managed to get some brilliant photos as the water is so clear, we donated our old one to the owners so maybe others might get to take some photos if they get it working better than we did. We did four whale swims while we were here and saw whales every day a truly brilliant experience. If you want to book extra tours then as long as you are ringing within Tonga there is a phone in the office which is free to use.
Mosi feast is a great way to meet fellow guests and the food is wonderful, we got to know most of the other guests during our stay, we asked Mosi if she liked working for her boss Kjell and she told us it was like being a family and it shows and as you stay it feels like you are part of the family too.
There is a salt water pool for kids mainly, although we used it too to cool off. There is loads of information on laminated paper in the room, we went on a 30 minute walk to another beach one Sunday and it was lovely to see all the locals going to church in their Sunday best.
Thanks Mystic Sands we had a great time and the views from the rooms are heavenly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi :) Thank you for the great review and especially for the underwater camera. i am not sure but it seems to be working fine, there was a button to turn the screen on and off! If that was the problem i feel kind of bad for accepting it... Anyhow, it will be incredibly fun to play with it when the tourist season is over and we can move out to Mystic ourselves and take pictures of little Kristian in the pool. I will send you some photos if i get some good ones. Anyhow, just wanted to say thank you for coming to stay with us and it was great meeting you. i hope you have a mild winter up there in cold europe and that your next vacation is a success as well.
cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently spent 10 days at Mystic Sands and had a fabulous time. We stayed in the two bedroom house which was clean and spacious with a wonderful view of the sea and surrounding islands. The caring and attentive staff helped to make us feel at home and part of a larger family - Mosi and Maka, thank you so much. Our 10 year old son, James, had a fabulous time fishing and snorkelling (as did my husband and I) and even managed to get some great photos of the "Nemos" living right next to the jetty. We spent 4 days out on boats - we were picked up each morning from the Mystic Sands jetty. Too easy! The owner Kjell, visited us (and all guests) each day to make sure our stay was going well and help with booking activities. We spent many enjoyable hours exploring coral gardens and, yes, we got to swim with the whales. Mosi - thank you for your wonderful feast and for your friendly checking of us each morning. We miss you! When asked where we should holiday next year, our son said "Tonga." Thanks Mystic Sands for an idealic holiday. Glenn, Naomi and James

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello Melburne. Thank you for such a great review and for choosing to stay with us at Mystic Sands on your Tonga visit. We will remember you for a long time and especially James, he will no doubt be a great fisher-man when he grows up a little more :)
Thank you again and hope to see you all again sometime somewhere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having just enjoyed a 7 night stay at Mystic Sands (yes, even flew on the MA60 with no problems) we want to totally agree with all the other lovely reviews. And more. As a family of four, with two of us being well over 50, and two being mid-20s, we chose to book the biggest unit - a two bedroom self-contained house set separate to the main block of four units. It has a wonderful full-length verandah on which we could sit in all weather to enjoy the seaview and beach frontage. There are some delightful snorkelling areas just off the jetty outside, as well as kayaks to paddle to a nearby island for more snorkelling. The kayaks and snorkelling gear are all provided, as are the beach towels.
Having stayed in Tonga previously, we knew to pack earplugs for the over-enthusiastic cockerels, the early-morning church bells and the noise from local pigs that live nearby, and would never complain about such noises as they are all part of the Tongan experience. We always slept well being so tired from swimming all day, and tended to go to bed early when the night is at its quietest.
Dear Mosi continues to provide a kindhearted and caring service - going out of her way to ensure all the guests are well looked after. She truly went well beyond the call of duty to ensure our domestic flight homewards co-ordinated with our international connection. She cooks a feast on any night that is required, so arranged a tasty meal when it suited for most of the guests to be able to attend. 10 of us sat around a long table under a thatched roof by the sea to enjoy a delightful meal in very mellow surroundings. It was a great way to meet the other guests at Mystic Sands, and made our holiday all the more relaxing as we could share stories and tips of the best snorkelling spots and our whale-swim adventures.
For the whale-swim days we also found the pick-up from our jetty a very convenient arrangement.
Tonga is having internet issues at present, so the service was very patchy. It was possible to receive mail, but difficult to send, so we mainly didn't try. (If anyone is having problems with bookings on Vava'u at the moment, this is why. It's driving the owner-operators nuts at present. But as holidayers, there was always something better to do than stress over the internet service An amply stocked lending library is on-site for those occasional rainy days.
To feed our family, and knowing we had a full kitchen, we took all the special food we wanted, (gluten-free foods, cereals, nuts, dried fruits, packaged foods etc) and had the fruit and veges bought fresh from the market courtesy of Mosi or Maka. This is a service that is provided to all guests, as the main village is 20-30 mins away. Maka also provides a taxi service for anyone who wants to go there for meals or shopping. Mosi and the owner Kjell both check daily to ensure everyone has whatever they need and to answer any questions. This extra care made the holiday all the more relaxing so we would certainly love to go to Mystic Sands again, and recommend it as a great spot for any whale-watching or a relaxing time in Tonga.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi again, thank you for the lovely review. It was funny that you mentioned the internet in Tonga because i just wrote a nice long reply to you and when i hit send it died and i lost it all, lol.
The good news is that now there is a new fiber cable to Tongatapu and they have slashed all prices across the country in half so we can now offer FREE 'OK' internet to our guests :-)

Again thank you for coming to Mystic Sands and we are all really happy that you had a great holiday, there is nothing more rewarding to hear and i will tell Mosi and Maka hello from you and brag about their work a bit too.

Have a great week and hope to see you up here again one day.

cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a wonderful 9 days at Mystic Sands. Mosi and Maka are so warm and welcoming and provide exceptional service. Mosi visits everyone each morning to check if there is anything that you need, she will cook meals on request which are delicious and great value. Maka makes a daily trip into town so if you need any groceries you just need to write a list and he will get it for you. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable, with deck, good kitchen and bathroom facilities. Mystic is set in a great location, with beautiful views from all rooms and the dive and whale watch tours will pick you up from the jetty right out front. We will definately be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you soo much for coming to visit us up here in remote Tonga. It was really cool meeting you and although we did not have time to get to know you too much this time i hope that we might meet again when we visit Amy and the new baby down in Tauranga. I think it will be around Easter.
Thank you again for the great review and have an awesome weekend.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family stayed with Mosi and her staff and we can't recommend them highly enough! As someone recently wrote, "this is not a five-star hotel, thankfully... if you want that, then go somewhere else!"

My family loves a little (or a lot) of adventure and we've travelled quite a bit around the world. If you'd like someplace to stay where you can relax and avoid the locals, then there must be other places in Tonga (and the rest of the world) where that might be possible. But, if you'd like to have one foot in a comfortable place to stay and your other foot exploring what life has to offer, then the Mystic Sands is a truly wonderful place to stay.

We stayed at Mystic Sands for four nights. Mosi's husband picked us up at the airport and drove us to Mystic Sands. Upon arrival, we were helped into the house in which we stayed - and our kids (7 & 9) took off! They were in their swim suits and in the kayaks as quickly as possible. After we settled in, we kayaked a few hundred meters away and snorkeled near an island and enjoyed the wonderful underwater scenery.

We also were fortunate enough to enjoy "Mosi's Feast" on Thursday evening. If you're fortunate enough to be there on a Thursday evening, then Mosi will prepare you a wonderful meal, and create a wonderful atmosphere where you can meet other guests. Mosi's feast was definitely one of the highlights of our stay (including the Mosi's feast leftovers!).

On our second day at Mystic Sands, the staff had arranged for us to enjoy a whale-watching tour - and we swam with humpback whales! On our third day, we went on a snorkeling tour around some of the nearby islands. On our fourth day, a Sunday, we had a very relaxing day at Mystic Sands, enjoyed lunch next door at the Tongan Beach Resort [It was quite a contrast, as Mystic Sands was full, and full of very interesting people, while the Tongan Beach Resort was nearly empty - the staff told us that they owners there were charging too much. :) ], bicycling in the area (sorry, Kjell, I broke one of your bikes), and swimming.

We truly had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Mystic Sands. Mosi and the rest of the staff were great and attentive. Waking each morning to a sunrise over the harbor was great. Our kids were safe and had plenty of opportunities to entertain themselves - kayaks, swimming, snorkeling.

If you're heading to Vava'u, then this is the place... :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the large "house" and would recommend it if you have a family or two couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
How awesome it is and how good it feels to come home with our new baby to reviews like this is hard to express. Thank you :-) Going away for 3 months in high season was not easy for us.

We are very proud of the staff and helpers that we had while we were away and even more proud happy that our guests enjoy the experience.

Thank you again for coming to stay with us at Mystic Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, NV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First off, this is not a 5 star hotel, thankfully...if you want that, then go somewhere else! If you like to stay at a place that has friendly, helpful, down to earth people, has everything you need and even things you didn't know you needed, such as: home cooked meals by Mosi, walking out your door to be picked up by your boat on the dock, giving your list of items needed at the store which is 15 mins away and having Maka shop for you, then you will like the welcoming feel of Mystic Sands! Your wish is their command.

I really can't say enough about this hotel, it is very small, 4 spacious rooms with a huge, comfy king size bed, dining area, kitchen with utensils and decent sized bathroom. We never felt like we had to lock our room and we kept my purse, cameras, dive gear, etc. in there and nothing was ever disturbed.

The small resort makes it easy to make friends with your neighbors and spend the night telling stories sitting on the covered dock. We stayed in room 2 and were quite happy with our experience, although if you can, ask for room 1 or 4 as they are on the ends and have extra windows on the side.

Kjell, the owner, met us when we arrived and made sure we knew everything about the place and thoroughly explained everything we needed to know about the island, he even has taken the extra step of having laminated info sheets for each room with a map as well. Maka will take you wherever you need to go and Mosi will have your breakfast, lunch or dinner waiting for you when you need it. We went next door to the Tongan Beach Resort once, but after having Mosi cook for us we never went back. She is an excellent cook and much cheaper, and wants to do whatever it takes to make sure you are taken care of. I wanted to pack Mosi in my suitcase and bring her home! We will definitely be back to swim with the whales again and we will stay at Mystic Sands again!

Room Tip: *Ask for room 1 or 4 if you would like additional windows... *Have Maka stop at the market and frui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticSands, Owner at Mystic Sands, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Just read through our reviews and realized that i had not responded to your review. i am sorry to be so late :) we have been super busy with our little one and are having a blast. Anyhow, just wanted to say thank you for the great review and for coming to stay with us, i really hope that we bump into you again sometime somewhere.
have a great week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystic Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Sands

Address: Utungake Village, Neiafu, Tonga
Phone Number:
Location: Tonga > Vava'u Islands > Neiafu
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Neiafu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Sands is great for couples, families,business or independent travelers and is located right on the beach about 10 minutes from Neiafu center. The units have private kitchens so you can prepare your own meals if you like. If not we are happy to make breakfast or any meal for you. We also provide free kayaks and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Mystic Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Sands Tonga/Neiafu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.