We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ha'atafu Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ha'atafu Beach Resort
Save
You added Ha'atafu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ha'atafu Beach | Ha'atafu Beach, Tongatapu Island n/a, Tonga   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
'SUMMER SPECIAL
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Tongatapu Island
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We came to Tonga to surf but when we got to Ha'atafu Beach Resort we found so much more than just a surf camp, we were in a tropical paradise.
Moanna, Hola and the rest of the staff looked after us so well it felt like we were being looked after by our own family and the meals were off the charts amazing! We can't wait to come back and visit again, the only thing we could possibly have asked for was a bit more swell : )

Room Tip: If a premium room is available I would recommend taking it, but that standard fales are just fine as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
59
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a place! Ha'atafu by far is one of the nicest destinations I have ever had the pleasure of going to. It is a slice of heaven so close to our home. As soon as you arrived you are warmly greeted by beautiful people and smiles all round. This place truly has something for everyone. Whether you just want to hang out in your fale or on the beautiful beach. Or if you're a little more extreme, snorkel out to the drop off, surf the waves or go on the daily morning fishing trips. Every night you are supplied a dinner service like no other, all eating at one table brings everyone together like a family and by the time your trip is over you have made life long friends. Moana, Hola and Steve are exceptional hosts always accommodating far past our expectations. I will be begging to return to this place as it was unforgettable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Simply the best place to stay in Tongatapu. I wouldnt want to stay anywhere else when I visit the beautiful islands. A real place to get out of Nuku'alofa. Straight into island time and a beautiful family feel. Combined a beautiful setting with amazing tongan/ western food.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Ha'atafu has everything for everybody... If you want to chill.. Beautiful beach, hardly any people, and a pace guaranteed to relax anybody!!
Or if you want to be busy... Tuna fishing every day, Surf trips, Snorkelling and lovely walks to lookout and village. Every night you eat at one table, like having a dinner party every night, the hosts are Moana, Holla and Steve and the food and company never disappoints!! This Tonga experience was unforgettable we came away with an idea of true Tongan family spirit. We will most definitely be back!! Also can highly recommend the Island tour with Vay, he is a wealth of knowledge and very sweet and entertaining!!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Me and my family of 6 (15-50) spent 3 awesome nights at Ha'atafu, I wish we had booked longer! Me and my siblings (15,16,20) stayed in a family fale which was awesome, they were very clean, had plenty of space and lots of breeze at night while my parents stayed in the fale next door. I really loved how all the fales' were spread with their little pathways and surrounding gardens, you kinda get lost in the paradise until you leave. The bathrooms were always clean and well stocked and I expected them to get busy but they never did. Moana really had everything sorted for us :) We spent most of our time snorkelling just out on the reef where there was always plenty of fish to see, swimming, kayaking and playing table tennis! Me and my brother even managed to learn how to surf with Adam which was awesome! The meals at Ha'atafu were sooo good, fresh fish, pasta, meatballs, satay chicken, salads and roast for Christmas ah everything was always made with love. My sister couldn't get enough of the smoothies and we lived on jaffles and salads for lunches, yum! Everyone at Ha'atafu made us feel at home, we really enjoyed our stay here because it was so chilled, there was no rush to do anything and you could do what you wanted when you wanted. We felt like family by the time we had left because everyone was always so friendly. Moana even went out of her way to get my Camera back to NZ which we left in the dining room the night we left, they really do go out of their way to make sure you are all sorted. Thank you to Steve, Moana, Hola and the Ha'atafu Family for our amazing stay!

Ha'atafu really is a little paradise :) I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you are going to Tonga you go to Ha'atafu, take the family, the reviews look too good to be true, but they are really true. This is a great destination for the family when you want them to see the really island atmosphere. This is NOT a 5 star resort where the reality of the destination you are in is safely pushed away from the acres of swimming pools and perfect buildings, this is a CAMP style true Tonga Fale - but clean and safe
We stayed in the ensuite Fales they were clean and comfortable, the Hosts Hola and Moana were awesome and we loved it.
As I said to them at the time, it is a great place and the only reason anybody would complain is if they thought they were going to the Hyatt Noosa Dua, otherwise if you want the best place ever, this is it. There is no swimming pool, there is a beautiful lagoon, there is no mile long slippery dip or bungee or helicopter pad - there is just a great Tonga Island paradise.
The most under rated activity is snorkeling, kids and parents will love it, you would go there just for this.
Remember Rash tops - long arms, kids lycra suits would be best, extra sun screen, hats and sunnies, - it can be really hot in the sun, otherwise its normal tropical temps

Room Tip: If you want ensuites go ensuite - or you will have to use the ablution blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had booked to stay at Ha'atafu Beach and were really looking forward to it when we met someone at another resort who told us it was completely unsuitable to take small children to (ours are 5 and 7). That was a source of concern - until we got there. It was absolutely beautiful, from the fale (clean, well set up with comfy double and two single beds, mosquito nets and power points), through the restaurant and facilities area to the exquisite beach. The bathrooms were spotless. The price of our breakfasts and dinners was included in the (very modest) price, which made everything incredibly easy. And the food was just superb - simple, fresh, local ingredients, varied and delicious. Everyone eats communally, which is a nice way to meet others who are staying.
The management can't sell alcohol, but never fear: they get around it by refrigerating your own supplies of beer/wine etc and fetching it for you on request. You write it down in a book to keep track. They will also get supplies for you from Nuku'alofa when they go into town, if you want. Nothing is any trouble for Ola and Moana.
And the beach was perfectly safe. Kayaks were available (and lots of fun). Surfers enjoyed themselves out on the reef (beyond our ambitions and abilities), and the snorkelling was fantastic, especially when we swam out through the reef to the drop-off. Throughout the stay the kids formed a critical mass with other kids, including Tasa (the owner's littlie) and had a ball rampaging around and playing with the dogs and kittens. There was a table tennis table under a tree, and the whole fale area was beautifully sheltered from the sun by huge trees, which was a welcome change from the sweltering foreshore. And there was the beach... Wanna go back.

Room Tip: If available ask for one of the fales that is closest to the beach. The sea breezes make it easier t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ha'atafu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha'atafu Beach Resort

Address: Ha'atafu Beach | Ha'atafu Beach, Tongatapu Island n/a, Tonga
Phone Number:
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tongatapu Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tongatapu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, locally owned and family operated resort offering limited occupancy and catering for our resort guests exclusively. This ensures our guests enjoy a quiet, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere around the resort. Established in 1979 and located on the beachfront at Ha'atafu Beach .... Tongatapu's premier swimming, snorkelling and recreational beach. We welcome families with children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ha`Atafu Beach Hotel Tongatapu Island
Ha'Atafu Beach Resort Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ha'atafu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.