We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great people, great accommodation, great memories!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vakaloa Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tongatapu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vakaloa Beach Resort
Save
You added Vakaloa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ikalahi Road | PO Box 1913, Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island, Tonga   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, great people, great accommodation, great memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just got back from Vakaloa after a 5 night stay in Tonga (our first trip there), and are relaxed and recharged. We had no idea what to expect, and found that Vakaloa Resort was comfortable, relaxed and had all the comforts of home with a Tongan flavour. We feel the resort allowed us to be part of the culture of Tonga, while still having all we needed as a family (with a 2 year old son) to make the stay relaxed and comfortable and meeting all our needs. The owners are so friendly, and we feel we have made new family in Tonga. We walked down to the beach, and sat in the sand under the palm trees every day and swam, kayaked, snorkelled and read books. Sooooo relaxing. Also, we got to experience the Friday Night buffet and cultural show, which had an incredible amount of effort and energy put into it! Amazing, even fire dancing! We learned how to climb coconut trees (and are still learning), drank freshly picked coconut, made lunch in the earth oven and made friends with all the staff who are amazing. Even though it was the end of the season, we even saw whales pass by from where we sat in the open air dining area! Definitely recommended, we will be back with our extended family for sure!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, however the ocean view at the front makes you feel like you have the whole plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    51
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
60
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from our holiday at Vakaloa, where we spent 9 fabulous days.
It is far away from the airport and the city and the best part of the main island if you are looking for a nice beach side resort.
It is a small resort only 3 ocean view bungalows and 5 garden view bungalows to accommodate the guests but the restaurant and function center is huge
complete with bar, terrace and performer's stage. Perfect for all kinds of functions, weddings, birthdays, conferences, etc.
The view from the restaurant and the terrace is magnificent in any weather and any time of the day. Every dinner comes with a free sunset :)
John the owner/manager and all of the staff are genuinely friendly very helpful and they go all the way to accommodate every requests.
I have to mention Siva, Sunlight and Manatu for their outstanding customer service.
We stayed in one of the ocean view bungalows and we were lucky enough to see whales from our porch on our first day. The bungalow is spacious, but it is starting to look a bit tired, they definitely need some TLC to make them more attractive. Also an information sheet would have been a good idea for new arrivals, to explain a few things, like put your rubbish outside, let us know if you need fresh towels, glasses, etc. The garden is well maintained and very pleasant. Pricing of the accommodation is very good value for money, as breakfast is included, free wireless internet in the restaurant area, sky tv with a good selection of channels, dvd player, tv, fridge in the room, free kayaks, snorkelling gear, etc.
The breakfast is excellent, offering a choice of scrambled/fried eggs with toasts butter and jam, pancakes, french toast and lots of fresh fruit, cereals, tea, coffee, etc.
Lunch and dinner menu offers a good selection of meals at a very reasonable price. The portions are really big we never had room for dessert.
Drink and cocktail selection is good, I loved the coconut drink straight out of the fridge, it is so refreshing.
The island night is fully recommended, excellent entertainment and huge buffet dinner all this for only TOP 35.
Make sure you have a few TOP ready for the dancers, as it is custom there to show your appreciation.
We did the the full day island tour, which is highly recommended. They take you to the top sightseeing spots and you get a very informative explanation too.
It is all customized to your need, you can spend as much time as you want at each spot. The blow holes and the swimming in the cave pool was an absolute highlight of the trip.
We made really good use of the kayaks, and snorkelled every day. We had lovely weather and the water was warm too. Snorkelling is better on the right hand side of the resort, finding the best spot in front of Heilala Lodge which is approx 500m to the right.
We used a plug in insect repellent in our room which kept most of the flies and mossies away and also used spray on insect repellent occasionally.
Water from the tap is not drinking water, you can buy bottled water in the bar, or at the small shop in the village which is just a short walk away.
Overall we had a fabulous time at Vakaloa and wouldn't hesitate to go back again, and I am promoting Tonga as a very good destination if you are after a tropical island holiday.

Room Tip: Beachfont unit number 3 is the best as it is far away from the road/restaurant and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from 10 nights at Vakaloa and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. An easy option for those travelling with kids. Lots for the kids to do and yet close enough that we could be lying on the beach while keeping an ear out for them on the swings/trampoline etc... Plenty of other like-minded families staying meant all the kids could play together - great fun!

What we loved:
- The wonderful friendly staff and gracious host John. Thanks heaps guys!
- The delicious restaurant food (including cooked breakfasts as part of the room rate) which was not at all overpriced.
- The beach! The beach! So lovely - sigh.
- The whales! We had 5 awesome sightings of whales just past the reef (approx 100 m away) - magic!
- The sense of being away from it all, but actually not being too far away from the sights of Tonga.
- Only having 8 rooms led to a quiet, relaxed atmosphere, far better than a bigger resort.

What could be improved/some suggestions:
- Some of the fittings/fixtures could do with updating or fixing, eg: new shower mixers so you get an even temp, newer pillows/quilts etc.. (I was sure they were perfectly clean, just looking a bit tired!) But I think John's wife was away buying things for the business, so that could be sorted out soon.
- We would have liked an info sheet in our room explaining all the burning questions that most travellers have, eg: bus info, rental car info, ferry times - to save us pestering the staff!
- Kids meals, while we loved the fancy food, our kids would have loved (dare I say it!) sausages with baked beans or spaghetti, or ham & cheese pizza as a break from richer foods. Just an idea!

All in all, we found Vakaloa to be great, really good value for money and we would def recommend to others if you are looking for a warm break in a beautiful country!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms at the front are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed 6 niths here and loved it. The setting is wonderfull with a beautiful beach right on front of the accommodation. There is a nice lawn in front of the villas for children to play on. Free use of kayaks and some play equipment for ther children as well. Snorkelling and surfing are great. The staff were very friendly and helpfull and the good is very good as well. Thank you so much John and staff for a wonderfull time- we would llove to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Vakaloa Beach Resort (bit late reviewing it!). The staff were so warm and friendly and the beach right by the hotel is beautiful. We would get up and enjoy breakfast on the terrace looking out over the sea before heading to the beach to read, swim and snorkel before heading back up to the restaurant for lunch. The food was fresh and plentiful - we enjoyed the fish (including amazing cerviche) and lots of fresh fruit. The cultural evening was lots of fun and the show was very entertaining. We would recommend the cocktails as well. The fales were spacious and comfortable. We headed into Nuku' alofa on one day and also went to see the blowholes (which were very impressive) but mostly spent our holiday on the beach. Perfect tropical holiday. We didn't want to go home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Seven nights here went by too fast. John and his staff are so friendly and helpful. Our room was a garden view one, which was basic. Next time we would spring for a sea view. Two adults and two kids fitted in well.
The beach is great. The better snorkelling is two resorts over to the right.
Food at the Vakaloa is awesome. My wife loves seafood and was not disappointed at all. Just how much octopus can one person eat....
The breakfasts, included in the room rate, set you up nicely.
Our kids were never bored. They played with other kids who were staying there. The trampoline, swings, and being able to run about safely was great.
Being able to see whales passing by, not too far out past the surf break, was a bonus.
We found this trip excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Lovely fales in the garden, right on the beach with great snorkelling. The food is nice, and the restaurant has a great view over the water, and the people are lovely. Say hi to Sunlight - she's lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vakaloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vakaloa Beach Resort

Address: Ikalahi Road | PO Box 1913, Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tongatapu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vakaloa is a small but grand resort featuring luxurious self-contained units, large and inviting indoor and outdoor areas, an on-site restaurant and bar, weekly buffet dinner and floorshow, and other special nights and attractions.A Located on a white sandy beach of Kanokupolu, The royal waters of Tonga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vakaloa Beach Hotel Tongatapu Island
Vakaloa Beach Resort Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vakaloa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.