We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Banana Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Banana Beach House to your Saves list
Blue Banana Beach House
1 Ika Lahi Rd | Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island, Tonga   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Auckland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Blue banana for 11 days. It is a beautiful place, with wonderful people. Blue banana is a tranquil resort, great for relax, nice swimming and snorkeling in the lagoon, which is just at your doorstep. Chris and Shane are very friendly and nice people, who gave us a lot of new information about Tonga and the history and life in Tonga. They are really helpul, and can arrange pick up at the airport, transport to city and great trip around the island.
I recommend the local fish on the bbq, it is delicious, especially with the beautiful sunset. Our holiday in Blue banana was absolutely amazing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
74
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We just spend 8 days at Blue Banana, a tropical paradise. This experience for us was one of our best holidays with fantastic hosts, all cabins with unbeatable beach frontage, environmentally friendly and sustainable- a total relaxed location. The breakfast basket and fresh fish platter which Chris and Shane can provide are absolutely recommended. Overall their webpage complies with everything they have put on. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in the Maui Fale at the Blue Banana. It was a lovely, secluded spot right on the water. We loved being able to see the water when we woke up in the morning and have breakfast in our garden overlooking the beach. We felt like we were able to truly relax as well as enjoy the local culture. We took the bus into town, rode bikes out to the blowholes, had dinner at the restaurant next door and enjoyed the fish platters that Chris and Shane made up for us. We would highly recommend the Blue Banana! Our sleep was interrupted only by the humidity (despite the fan in the room) but having such nice, warm water to sleep in was great!

Room Tip: The Maui fale was secluded and very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opunake, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spent 10 days at Blue Banana and were blown away with it and the hosts Chris and Shane. An absolutely amazing couple who made our stay one we will never forget. Blue Banana does not have the resort style facilities but that is not what we wanted. We got good clean basic facilities where we were comfortable and were able to prepare out own meals, The beach and lagoon were right on our doorstep. It is well sheltered and we were able to snorkel and swim in the warm water every day. Its location is perfect being only an interesting 30 minute bus ride from Nukualofa where we would stock up on provisions when needed. We were able to walk or cycle through the numerous villages and were so taken with the Tongan people who are so friendly and hospitable. Missing Blue Banana and will for a while.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

With the cabins right on the beach and a mesmerizing ocean view to wake up to every morning Blue Banana Beach House is just perfect for a much needed relaxing holiday. We stayed in the Boat House on our first week and after returning from Vava'u we stayed in the Maui for 12 days. Both cabins are very clean and equipped for basic cooking facilities (all you need on a holiday). A barbeque area come sundeck is situated right on the beach also a great spot for evening relaxation and watching the sun setting on the horizon. Being able to walk out of the cabin straight to the beach and turn left or right for a nice easy morning walk along the beach is a bonus. Or just having a cup of coffee on the beach first thing in the morning is simply glorious. There is a whale watching deck where relaxing and spotting the whales swimming by right in front is a great experience. The hosts Shane and Chris are very caring and warm people who treat us more like friends. They have a little collection of Lapita pottery, Tongan rock art, old surfboards and traditional artifacts in their house which are very interesting. It's worth checking them out if you are interested in archaeology, old artifacts or the origin of the Polynesian people. We loved our stay at this little slice of heaven and we highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you're after a cheap and cheerful getaway in the sun, the Blue Banana is an excellent choice. Chris and Shane are charming hosts who make you feel more like friends than guests. The cabins are very clean and perfectly equipped for basic catering. There is even a bbq for general use and the fish platters are very much reccomended - delicious and great value. Bring a snorkel and explore the reef, or just chill in the sun watching whales. Whatever your needs the Blue Banana is just the ticket. Thanks so much for a delightful holiday!

Room Tip: The Maui is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently spent a week relaxing and enjoying the beauty of the beach at Blue Banana. Chris and Shane were wonderful and provided all that we needed. A highlight for us was seeing whales swim past very close to the shore. Being able to self cater was a plus and a bus trip into the markets to buy fresh fish and vegetables was an experience worth doing. Our fale was clean, comfortable and well equipped. We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Banana Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Banana Beach House

Address: 1 Ika Lahi Rd | Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Phone Number:
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tongatapu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beach front nestled in a tropical plantation on the Royal Estate of Kanokupolu, right in the middle of the most beautiful sandy beach, close to marine reserve. All fales have prime beachfront positions right above the waters edge making them the closest accommodation to the water in Tonga. Whales swim past your door. All are fully self-contained & have great views from the windows & personal decks for relaxing solitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Blue Banana Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Banana Beach House Hotel Tongatapu Island
Blue Banana Beach House Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Banana Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.