We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bring earplugs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Decameron Decalodge Ticuna

Save Saved
You added Decameron Decalodge Ticuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Decameron Decalodge Ticuna
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Cra 11 No. 6-11, Leticia, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Leticia
Grover Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“bring earplugs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

This is a great place. The included dinners and breakfasts are in a wonderful open air bar/resturant facing the garden/pool area. The rooms are spacious and surround the wonderful pool. Staff is friendly and efficient.

Unfortunately for me, I'm a light sleeper and could not go to sleep until techno/disco closed across street. If you can sleep through it, or young enough to party into the night...no problem.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
20
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colombia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Very large rooms with separate enclosed terrace to sit and hear the birds in the mornings.The restaurant is very nice as are the gardens surronding it.The hotel offers tours to the national parks along the Amazon river. It is a great place to stay comfortably in the Amazon region of Colombia.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

I traveled with my husband on our honeymoon to Leticia. We were picked up at the airport and this was very convenient. We had to wait a few minutes to be checked in, but it all flowed very well. Our stay here was exceptional. The rooms are wonderful. They are large, beautifully decorated, and very clean. This was a very comfortable hotel that I recommend to all.

We spent a night at Amacayacu as well and this was incredible. We stayed in a Maloka and it was very comfortable despite being the the Amazon. Amacayacu is it bit more rustic and rough edged since its in the amazon, and it succeeded my expectation of comfort and cleanliness.

I recommend Ticuna to all travelers who want to take day trip in the amazon and later on return to the comfort of AC, including older travelers. The food at Ticuna is some of the best i have tasted. Everyday I looked foward to dinner time.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

Simply wonderful. People are very friendly and simple. The hotel is a 5-stars resort but cheap. Huge rooms full services, good swimming pool and an exquisite restaurant with very exotic fruits. Inside the hotel there is the tour-agency . They plan your trips to Monkey Island, 3-Borders and Puerto Nariño, close to Tarapoto Lake when you can see pink dolphins. Every tour costs around US $50 by person (all include). In the hotel you is received by Capax, a man who crossed by swimming the longest river of Colombia. The hand-crafts are pretty and economic. Leticia is a safe city. Do not forget to visit the central park a 5 p.m. The park is full of parrots that make tremendous scandal
Special for people over 65 years old

  • Liked — Clean, huge, safe
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Cool Hotel, very nice rooms, nice pool, good restaurant

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

This is hand down the best place to stay in Leticia. This quirky town is the gateway to the Colombian Amazon. In all my years of traveling I have never been greeted at the airport a group of singing military personnel handing out welcome drinks. After this welcome I knew the Colombian Amazon was going to be a surreal experience. The town has a wild west/last frontier feel to it. The hotel is a clean and tropical welcome to dusty Leticia. My Colombian partner was surprised to meet Copax, (the Colombian version of the crocodile hunter) who had seen as a child on TV at the hotel. The rooms are great, the food is tasty and the staff if friendly. The Colombian Amazon is amazing, a bit more remote than in Brazil or Peru. We loved this hotel. Be sure to take a late night swim in the pool and look at the stars and watch bats fly over you, a bit scary but memorable.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá, Colombia.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

We just came back from a four night stay at Leticia's Decameron Decalodge Ticuna. Beautiful five start hotel in the Colombian Amazon. When you get to the hotel, you're greeted by Kapax, the local celebrity, Colombia's own version of the Crocodile Hunter.

The room is very modern, spotlessly clean, both air conditioning as well as ceiling fans, cable TV, warm water, closet, digital safe box, mini bar, huge bed and even a hammock!

The restaurant has great ambiance and fabulous regional food from Colombia, Brazil and Perú.

Great pool and a Maloka (a typical sacred house of many indian cultures in Colombia) where there's night entertainment with a local chaman who explains about his culture, the jungle and the history of the place.

The hotel has this travel agency inside, the Decameron Explorer. They have awesome tours to offer, do take them all! They're all very well organized.

First day the agency arranged for a walk around town where we visited the museum and the Santander park where millions of parrots gather in the afternoons.

Second day we went to Puerto Nariño (a small town) and the Tarapoto lakes where we could spot the pink dolphins of the Amazon river. We also visited Amacayacu, a national reservation. The Decameron chain of hotels also has another hotel there, more rustic, great if you want to get away from civilization. There's also lots of ecological pathways to walk there.

Third day we went to Isla de los Micos (Monkey Island) where we could see little squirrel monkeys and make an ecological walk. At the end of the day, there was dosel for those who chose to do it.

Fourth day we went to visit the three borders with Brazil, we visited the town of Benjamin Constant, where they speak portuguese. And also visited Islandia, a peruvian remote tiny town, forgotten by their government.

The last day we went to Tanimboca, a park in Leticia where we did dossel.

Overall, an amazing experience, very safe town, the Decameron Ticuna takes care of everything including food and transportation, though the companies that sell the reservations do not provide complete information about that.

Don't worry, you can schedule everything with Decameron Explorer (the agency at the hotel), once you're there. Do use tons of insect repelent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Decameron Decalodge Ticuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Decalodge Ticuna

Address: Cra 11 No. 6-11, Leticia, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Amazonas Department > Leticia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Leticia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Decalodge Ticuna 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Decameron Decalodge Ticuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Decalodge Ticuna Hotel Leticia
Decameron Decalodge Ticuna Leticia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decameron Decalodge Ticuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.