We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God sent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Malokamazonas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Malokamazonas to your Saves list
Hotel Malokamazonas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 8 No. 5 -49 | Leticia - Amazonas, Leticia, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Leticia
Charlotte, Carolina del Norte
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“God sent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were on a mission trip and stayed at Malokamazonas. Francisco and Paola are wonderful God fearing people. Their hospitality are beyond amazing. They went well beyond to accommodate 11 spoiled Americans :). Even thought of us and gave us a little hand carved Tortuga (Turtle) as a parting gift. HIGHLY recommend this hotel if ever visiting this edge of the world!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    22
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
36
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The people that owns and serve in this hotel are most caring people I have ever met in a hotel. I didn't feel like a guest in a hotel, I felt like I was a guest in their house, and they treat all guest like that. It is a small very nice hotel, with nice gardens. Rooms are clean and breakfast is delicious. Breakfast includes eggs, cheese, bread,fruit, juice, hot beverage (hot cocoa, coffee or tea), jam and butter. You can feel free to ask the owners anything you need to know (where to go, how to get there, where to eat, what plant is that, why the soil is like this, etc.) they will be more than happy to help you. Don't worry if they tell you there are no air conditioning in this hotel, you will not needed it because it is a bio-archiquecture construction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We travelled recently to Leticia, Colombia and staying at Malokamazonas was a wonderful experience. Francisco and Paola are very kind and they really care about your comfort and safety during your stay. Additionally, they are the best advisors for your tours around the Amazonía. The eco-hotel have several rooms around a patio creating a calm atmosphere. Rooms are comfortable and clean, and the breakfast is wonderful. The talk in the afternoon with Francisco and Paola planning next tour is very interesting, they know everything about the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was looking to have an Amazonian jungle experience like the natives, but without the bugs, and Malokamazonas hotel in Leticia, Colombia, offered me exactly that. Malokamazonas has no air conditioning, just electric fans. The rooms are large with tall ceilings and screens and are naturally well ventilated. The showers are void of hot water. Mind you, it was 93 degrees Fahrenheit while we were there for five days/four nights, who needs hot water? After every shower at night we felt refreshed and slept like babies. Malokamazonas hotel is also a very clean place that provides fresh smelling clean sheets and towels everyday and specializes in giving caring attention to their guests.

The owners, don Francisco and Paola, are very nice people; for instance, my mother had the "turista" run (diarrhea) on our last day there and Paola made her some herbal tea and don Francisco went out in the rain to purchase some prescription to help my mom feel better. Don Francisco helped us book the Puerto Nariño Tour upon our arrival. This tour on the Amazon River and jungle was an amazing unforgettable experience. The Ticuna Indians gave us a warm welcome to their village. I believe that everyone who visits this area of the Amazon region ought to experience the Puerto Nariño tour. We also enjoyed short runs in "motocarros" (motorcycles pulling a small covered trailer for up to three passengers) to Tabatinga, Brazil, and a boat travel across the Amazon River for a Peruvian lunch in the small village of Santa Rosa, Peru.

Side note: the town of Leticia, Colombia, is not a glamorous place. Leticia is actually a littered little town. Most of its citizens don't seem to care about having a clean welcoming town. But the people themselves are very kind and friendly. Please bring your bug repellent for the jungle tours and remember to start taking probiotics a week before your travel and keep it up during your trip. Those of us who did it did not get sick.

Room Tip: Rooms way on the back of the property provide quieter restful nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Beautiful, serene grounds that make you feel like you are in the Amazon, (but comfortable) and not cooped up in a hotel. Rooms are villa style and ours had three beds, two in one room and one in the adjoining room. There is a private deck patio with a hammock that is enclosed by screens so you can be outside without the bugs. You walk out to exotic plants and rock pathways leading to the courtyard and to the main entry. Free breki is served outside in the courtyard, not a normal free breakfast, its pretty gourmet!
Francisco, his son, and the rest of the staff are all amazing and go above and beyond helping you to arrange whatever it is you want to do, and give you the budget options if you need those instead! They also tell you what is good to do and see around town!
I really loved this quaint boutique hotel and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: They have larger rooms that have up to 5 beds and two bathrooms! Great for a family or group trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantida, Uruguay
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Francisco made our stay special. He was like a father taking care of his children. He gave us good advice, arranged tours for us and was always on the lookout to help in one way or another.
Without him being around we would have not seen and done half of what we did in such a short time. Always concerned about us having the best time possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantida, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Francisco, the owner of Hotel Malokamazonas, has a B&B attitude. He goes beyond providing a good room with breakfast; he also helps to plan your activities and to make necessary arrangements. If you allow him, you can retire for the evening knowing what time you will need to have breakfast, who will pick you up or where you must walk, and what clothing and precautions you must take. This service certainly makes life easier and we saw nearly everything we wished to see with different agendas each of the six days we were in Leticia. Let Francisco and Hotel Malokamazonas make your Leticia stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Malokamazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malokamazonas

Address: Calle 8 No. 5 -49 | Leticia - Amazonas, Leticia, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Amazonas Department > Leticia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Leticia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malokamazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BOUTIQUE, 100% natural, type with a private bathroom, ecologically friendly, confortable and family-style room decoraded with accents from the rain forest, you don't need to use air conditioning. Bioclimatic. Provide lodging for 1 to 25 custumers. free WI-FI connection. It is nature tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Malokamazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Malokamazonas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.