We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but pretty good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hospedaje El Salvador

Hospedaje El Salvador
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uyuni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje El Salvador
Save
You added Hospedaje El Salvador to your Saves list
Av. Arce 346, Uyuni, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Uyuni B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Basic but pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I would not give this a Very Good, but would give it a 3 and a half stars as pretty good. This hospedaje is right next to the bus station, but the double rooms on the ground floor were quiet enough (except the radio sometime blaring out of the car garage next door). The room was fairly clean - you can ask for toiletries and they will give it to you (towels, toilet paper, etc). It was pretty cheap (haggle) - and was close enough to some local eateries. Test the shower for cleanliness and that hot water works before settling on a room. Nice enough staff, but pay attention to other reviews of robberies which apparently have occurred. We had no such problems, and we were there for several days (recovering from altitude sickness).

Room Tip: Room 9 seemed a good fit, an it is on the ground floor so is good for disabled access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salta, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a bad experience here: It is really easy to break into your room - which someone did and stole all our electronic stuff. The worst is that the owners didn´t want to help us at all, claiming that is was our fault. Apart from that, the beds were uncomfortable and windowless.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This large hospedaje right in the middle of the bus companies has it all:

Mouldy dank rooms
Peeling paint
Bathrooms with mould
Electric showerheads that don't work
Surly staff that take three hours to find the key to get toilet paper (lworse than Faulty Towers)
Large dog turd in the common area that smelled up the first floor and was still there after 15 hiours even when staff told.

Yes, it is cheap... deservidly so..... Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potosi, Bolivia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Although it is cheap and in good location, I wouldn't recommend it. We stayed 1 night in a double with bathroom. The room had a hole above the doors which means there was no privacy and we could hear everything going on in the corridor, which is part of public toilets...room was dirty and bathroom smelled very bad. It was also very cold, but we expected that. Shower use is for some reason limited to 6 minutes. Our friends took a twin room, which was even worse than our room, because the walls were black of mould, hairs in bedding, etc. we are used to cheap hostels, but require two basic things: it is clean and does not smell like sewage. El salvador failed in both, plus there was a chewing gum on the ceiling, among other things...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Except not a daily train to Oruro and Villazón and small airport, cars and buses are the main means of communication with the outside world for Uyuni. Buses bring here, to the gates of the famous Salar, backpackers from all over the world. "Hospedaje El Salvador" is on Arce Avenue, which serves simultaneously as Uyuni bus terminal. Therefore "Hospedaje El Salvador" is almost always fully booked. It offers a standard hotel rooms (however, with the very minimum of facilities) and hostel-like type ones.
We stayed in a private room. There were no soap, shampoo and towels in the bathroom. Also as promised hot water - to be fair, only in the morning.
However, thanks to a good location and a general lack of an acceptable quality of housing in Uyuni "Hospedaje El Salvador" is still exists and even flourishes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospedaje El Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje El Salvador

Address: Av. Arce 346, Uyuni, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Uyuni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospedaje El Salvador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.