We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salar de Uyuni

Salar de Uyuni
Uyuni, Bolivia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Uyuni
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest salt plain is a popular and scenic destination for tour groups.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unreal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The salt flats in Bolivia are one of the coolest things I have ever seen!! It is very big and bright, and you can see for miles...and miles...and miles...all the way to the horizon. Cool place to do unique perspective shots! We drove for miles along the flats, to the Isle Del Sol, and hiked around there a bit. We also saw how they processed salt, and went to a cool train cemetary where you could climb on, under, and around all these cool abandoned trains. I love to climb on stuff so I thought this was awesome!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,767
    282
    57
    24
    75
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quechua Connections Salar de Uyni”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had read some terrifying reviews on TA re guides for Uyni but were pleasantly surprised with this company. Despite not paying extra for an English speaking guide we got one anyway which was cool as my Spanish is far from fluent, the cars were in good order and the food (especially the lunches) was excellent. the accomodation was basic (don't expect hot showers!), but more than adequate and the guides were friendly and helpful. we even had a campfire on the last night on the accomodation by the lake which handily has a little shop which sold beers and snacks. If you are reading this I don't need to convince you its worth going for the scenery alone but you could do worse than going with Quechua Connections.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“One of the best tours we have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were lucky enough to find this company and Jose. He replied our email promptly. He was very helpful and spoke very good english.

the tour was perfect. covering all places we would like to see. the sights and scenes were wonderful.

the tour starts with a pack of SUVs. we didn't like that at the beginning as there were other people who might slow you down or they went into your camera viewfinder. but then later we found it essential as the SUVs could break down anytime when driving on salt water. no telephone reception or help could be found during the trip. so the groups can help each other.

we visited a few salt flat from the dried ones to the wet ones which you can see a bit of mirror effect during end of Dec/ early Jan. we only wish that we could spend a bit more time on the wet salt flat instead of the one that was dried and funny pictures were taken there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Top Contributor
558 reviews 558 reviews
274 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
530 helpful votes 530 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We did the 4 day tour from Tupiza with La Torre tours, which finished on the Salar on day 4. Unfortunately we were not able to stay at one of the salt hotels on the Salar because of water on the Salar. Normally we would have driven over the Salar, apparently at a speed of 120 kph. As it was, we spent the night in Uyuni and drove the 20 km out to the Salar the next day in time to catch the sunrise. We drove over the Salar at a speed of around 5kph, to a salt hotel on the outskirts. Here we watched the sunrise and had breakfast.
At the hotel it was interesting to see a building and furniture all made of salt, and at breakfast it was fun to scrape some salt off one of the pillars for my eggs.
Make sure you bring a pair of rubber thongs (flip flops) if you go in the rainy season. I didn’t, and wrecked my only pair of shoes. Then I took them off and had to suffer the sharp edges of the salt on my bare feet. Also some face cream as the sun and salt is very harsh on the skin.
Obviously without the water it would have been better, but we still managed to have a lot of fun, and the experience was spectacular beyond my expectations. It’s good for trick photography because there is no horizon, just a blank white canvas (see my photos).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We did the 3d2n tour with Red Planet. Our guide Luis was amazing as was our driver Santiago. It was soooooooo much fun, the people were awesome, the food so much better than expected and the scenery… WOW! I totally recommend this experience and with Red Planet.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salar de Uyuni also viewed

 

Been to Salar de Uyuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salar de Uyuni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.