We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reliable company, lovely guide.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Planet Expedition - Day Trip

Red Planet Expedition - Day Trip
155 Santa Cruz Av., Uyuni, Bolivia
+(591) 72403896
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Activities in Uyuni
Attraction details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great reliable company, lovely guide.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We did the 3 day tour of the salar Uyuni. The company were reliable, collecting us from the bus station and giving us time to gather ourselves and get set up in their office. Food on tour was picnic style and homemade, really really tasty! We had some problems with the weather but the guides and drivers went above and beyond to make us comfortable anyway. As a consequence we didn't manage to see all the promised sights but I didn't feel shortchanged, I was glad these guys kept us safe in the difficult conditions.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    78
    25
    17
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wels, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery, great Landcruiser 4x4 and good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We did the 3day tour which was absolutely a great adventure! It was nicely organized, the hostels were good and you will have a hot spring pool just for the small red planet group at night with an amazing sky - all other tourist agencies come there early in the morning resulting in a very crowded pool.

Some details:
We had a very good blue Toyota Landcruiser which was pretty new with great suspension (your spine will thank you!). As Red Planet has 12 cars, some are older, so you can be lucky - possibly you can order them, try your best! Our driver Leonardo was very experienced, and we felt comfortable and safe at all times, although the terrain is sometimes definitely a challenge. Make sure you don't sit at the back, as you won't see much of the scenery if you are >1,75m and it is less comfortable. The first hostal was a nice salt hotel with private rooms and a shared hot shower, the second is a dorm with 5-6people per room with the perk of a natural hot springs pool right outside next to a lagoon!
Our guide, yes Gonzales, was despite all the negative reviews a good tour guide, made some fun, gave insights and let us have lots of free time. Just remember, that you can ask them, to stop somewhere if you want to!

All in all, the 3 day tour was an amazing adventure!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Haters be hatin' - but this was a great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We traveled with Red Planet in August and learned after the fact of the negative reviews of Gonzalo, who was our guide and apparently is still there. Contrary to all the haters out there, we had a great tour with Gonzalo who was polite, charming, insightful, and made the trip very enjoyable. Red Planet further took care of my husband's dietary considerations without any advance warning or hesitation. The cars we used were in great condition (we had one flat tire, but hey, that happens), and our driver was excellent. The accommodation was alright - we were warned that night 2 was in a common dorm, which was fine, although one bathroom for two tour groups perhaps a bit too little. Terrific group too. All in all, a great experience, and the Salar is not to be missed. No hesitation to recommend Red Planet, who seem to address the good and bad from their reviews to improve their service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful 3 Days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My fiance and I spent a long time researching the Salar de Uyuni tour agency options, and finally booked with Red Planet (which has the best overall score) with some anxiety- we specifically asked Not to have Gonzalez as our guide. We were soon made very happy with our choice. Our guide Oscar was extremely energetic, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, and speaks excellent English. Our driver Ronald spoke little English but was also unfailingly friendly, helpful, and conversational to the extent allowed by our Spanish- and very importantly, he was a 100% sober and safe driver.

Our tour stopped at many impressive attractions, including the train graveyard, salt mining sites, Isla Incahuasi, several gorgeous flamingo-filled lagoons, volcanoes, rock formations, thermal cauldrons, and hot springs (along the way we saw many llamas and vicunas, as well as an andean fox). At every stop, we were given an in-depth explanation, time to ask questions, and plenty of time to walk around/explore/take pictures. On the salt desert, Oscar spent 1-2 hours helping us take the famed perspective pictures. One thing we really appreciated about the itinerary of the tour is that our group often visited sites well before or after the other agncies' tour groups, so the sites weren't swarmed with people. One highlight was our nighttime visit to the hot springs, which are right next to the second night's salt hostel, so you can soak under the stars before bed. Only our group and one other was there at the time, but the next morning as we were leaving we saw about five or six groups crowded into the springs- it did not look very relaxing.

The food was always surprisingly good; we have been travelling S. America for ten months and have learned not to expect much from tour food, but all our meals on this tour had protein, grains, fruits, veggies, beverage choices, sweets, and best of all, flavor. Accommodation was also better than expected; we bundled up like Eskimos to go to bed, only to end up stripping down from heat; both hostels provide three very thick blankets per bed, and Red Planet provides sleeping bags, plus a hot water bottle on the second night (included in the tour price).

Overall this tour constituted three of the best days of our entire trip and we would absolutely recommend it to anyone. Red Planet may charge a bit more than other agencies, but it is worth every penny. Tour agency aside, the Salar is simply unmissable; sometimes it feels like another planet.. However you end up getting there, be sure to go!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

the tour is factasnic our guide Oscar J is the best guide and driver. thank you RED PLANET, for amazing trip, We had so much fun and recerved great service .Absolutely loved the springs and hot woter bottles on night two , tancks again

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Planet Expedition - Day Trip also viewed

 

Been to Red Planet Expedition - Day Trip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Planet Expedition - Day Trip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.