We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked with them but they cancelled out tour the morning we were due to leave” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tonito Tours

Tonito Tours
60 Avenida Ferroviaria | Potosi, Uyuni, Bolivia
591 2 ( 693 2094)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 15 Activities in Uyuni
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Booked with them but they cancelled out tour the morning we were due to leave”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Cancelled the tour and left us no time to book another. We wasted a day in Uyuni (where there is nothing).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    0
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Be carefull with your choise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Actually, we went February 2010. Our first choice was Colque Tours, but my husband made some research and saw some videos and reviews saying that they weren't so nice. But our experience, mainly mine, weren't also so good with Toñito Tours. We did the reservation 2 months before the travel. And on that time, we already combine the price (actually the price was published in their site). When we arrived in Uyuni, the representative of Toñito, Sussy, told us that since we could go through the Salt Desert, we had to pay more then we had combined. We thought that very weird but, since we were already there what could we do? We payed, each one, U$ 40 more than it was combined. The car we used was very old and without air conditioning. We were a little bit jealous of the other tourists that waited until they arrived in Uyuni to hire the tour company because they could analyse the infrastructure conditions of the tour agencies. We started the tour and everything was fine during the day. All the meals were very nice. When we arrived in our hostel in the end of the day, our driver had to break the locker because the owner wasn't there and the people that lived there didn't have the key. We didn't have hot water but the place was fine. The driver apologized and told us that on the next day the accomodation would be better. Everything was fine during the second day until we arrived in our accomodation. It didn't have a shower!!! We couldn't take a bath even in could water, and after a day without air conditioning and making almost 40 degrees, I needed to take a shower. I complained a lot about that because he told us that this accomodation would be better. The door of our room didn't close, we had to put a spair bed of our room to support the door. He also didn't take us to the mirador of Laguna Colorada and we had to walk almost 2km to go from the hostel until the mirador (the Laguna Colorada on February isn't so nice as we see in the pictures). And to complete our night, we had clean water to flush and wash our teeth in a bathroom's vat. A large group went to Laguna Colorada's mirador and then, when they came back, they decided to washed their boots in this water. So, we ran out of clean water. On the last day, we waked up very early to go to the geisers and after the hot springs. The driver took us to a very nice and desert hot spring and we stayed there for one our. We arrived in the border between Bolivia and Chile arround 10 o'clock. I believe that the driver was so upset with me because of my complaines of the day before, that he seemed very anxious to get rid of us: when we took ours backpacks out of the car, in the border, he gave a ticket to take the bus to go to San Pedro del Atacama, entered in the car and left. We didn't know if it was that bus already there or there were another bus. Our lucky was that we speak spanish and asked someone about the ticket we gave. My recommendation: make some research about the tour companies in Uyuni and arrive one day before your planned day to do the tour, so you have time to analyse the best tour company for you.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Awesome experience, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had an incredible full day excursion onto the amazing Salar de Uyuni, the worlds largest salt flats. Knowledgable guides, good food, and comfortable transportation (as much as it can be!).
I would highly recommend Tonito tours for anyone visiting this part of the world.
Also worth mentioning the pizzas at the Minuteman pizza restaurant in the Tonito hotel - the best in South America and the perfect way to end off an excursion!!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful staff and a wonderful tour of the Salar!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Tonito tours were brilliant from weeks prior to reaching Uyuni to helping us get a train out. The staff via email gave us all the correct info and then the staff in Uyuni were more than helpful with organizing transport. Our tour was fantastic with both guide and driver being very professional and giving us a unique experience by avoiding the big groups!! The hotel staff were also great and they even made us a packed breakfast as our train left at 2AM. Overall, Tonito always went over and above our expectations!! I couldn't recommend them highly enough!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DON'T TRAVEL WITH TONITO TOURS!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We did a tour with Tonito tours in July 2010, we were lied to by the company and paid overprice for a private tours, when in fact they had other people going. Sussy were very rude when we talked to her about the problem. DON’T BOOK with them they will try to cheat you, make you pay extra and they are VERY RUDE!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonito Tours also viewed

Uyuni, Potosi Department
Uyuni, Potosi Department
 

Been to Tonito Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonito Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.