We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First salt hotel in the world” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio de Sal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Palacio de Sal to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio de Sal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Orillas Salar de Uyuni, Uyuni, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Uyuni
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First salt hotel in the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Second generation involved in the better and proper development of this special hotel, set in the shores of one of the natural wonders of the world, Uyuni saltflats.
All done in salt and with creativity adjusting modern technology to this hard weather and salt conditions.
A must in the world that step by step is fighting is way to be in the top.
Congratulations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
39
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is very pleasant for a relaxing stay.
The shower water is hot , there is plenty of space in the rooms , clean & comfortable furniture / beds and a warm atmosphere.
The staff were attentive and friendly and keen to please as we found in all our travel in Bolivia.
There are two lounges and a bar area where people congregate around an open fire, a small billiard table resting on pillars of salt , chess tables on the bar, a card playing table, and another log fire in the breakfast room.
There is an upstairs viewing area lounge for a great view of the salt flats surrounding the hotel, including two outside viewing areas for a great view of the Southern Cross at night .
There are some extraordinary sculptures in the corridors and very good decor and lighting planned to compliment them , in a traditional theme.
I would put the rating easily at more than 3 stars.
The reason the hotel is 40 mins from Uyuni is because it needs to be in the salt flats , surrounded by the salt flats. A surreal atmosphere.
In rainy weather there is nowhere for the rain to go, so pick the other 10 dry months and hope for a nice sunny day.
It doesn't rain often as you can imagine.
We had a very relaxing stay ,for 4 people, after two days touring the deserts and Laguna .
There were two occasions when the generator stopped for a few minutes and the staff whipped out some candles to add to the atmosphere.
Other guests from UK , Lima and Japan seemed to enjoy themselves and mix in the lounge after dinner.
If you choose to stay here I hope you have as good a time as we had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked the Hotel Palacio de Sal for three nights. When we arrived in San Pedro four days earlier (because we were going to the desert before staying in the salar), we learned the salar was totally flooded since it had been raining for several days, so we decided to cancel our reservation at Palacio de Sal. We hired a driver to take us to the hotel (what an adventure!) to let them know that it wouldn't make sense for us (or any other tourist) to stay there as we couldn't go anywhere. But to our surprise, they told us we couldn't cancel our reservation. We argued we wanted to cancel it (four days before the check-in date) because of the WEATHER and that they actually shouldn't have even made a reservation for us, but they were very inflexible. Besides that, the hotel looked horrible since they were having some kind of renovation and some rooms had leakages and the beds were wet. We lost money and were very disappointed with what happened. I suggest you be very careful with this hotel. It is expensive, they weren't honest with us and I am not sure it is worth it. Go to the desert and enjoy the other lodges. We were much luckier there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmond
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a beautiful and clean hotel to spend the night. I don't know about the cost of stay, because it was a tour package. Most things were made of salt, the rooms were clean. There was heat 24 hours, hot water was really hot. The lighting is amazing, and a lot of effort has been made to make use of the natural light available. At night, its a little bit cold in the common areas, and to walk barefoot. But this is Uyuni, and everything you get is a luxury.

The breakfast and dinner was also quite good. In fact, the chef even accommodated our request to cook vegetarian food, and he made a very nice spicy salsa, quinoa soap and some veggie pasta. Overall a must stay place just to experience a salt hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlqp, Gerente at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment and for choosing Palacio de Sal Hotel.

Best regards.

Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves a bit by staying here after a 3 day tour of the salt flats.

The hotel is beautiful, most things made out of salt but you don´t feel like you´re getting covered in the stuff just being there :) We arrived at about 7.30pm after a very cold tour in freak weather of snow(!) and were exhausted so it was a relief to be shown to a room which had a heater and a bed which had an electric blanket! The shower was piping hot which is, as always in south america, a wonderful luxury.

Breakfast was served whenever we wanted it to be (arranged the night before) and it was great. Quite a treat again - cereals, fruits, yogurts, 3 types of bread for toast, the choice of eggs or omlettes if wanted .... perfect. The staff were attentive and helpful. Wifi is available and works best near reception.

The only downside to the hotel is it´s location in relation to Uyuni - it is a good 40 minute drive away right at the beginning of the salar. As such, if travelling by taxis (as we were) it is expensive to get to! From 100-200bolivianos.

Overall though, this was a real treat to have in the middle of the craziness of Bolivia!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlqp, Gerente at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment and for choosing Palacio de Sal Hotel.

Best regards.

Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a beautiful upmarket hotel just outside the village. There are lots of different areas to sit with log fires and also a room with a snooker table. Our room was nicely furnished.

However we had the buffet meal and the food was nearly cold. A couple of people in our group had upset stomachs including my husband which I feel may have been due to the food not being kept at a proper temperature. The drinks were overpriced and the water was expensive - as there was nowhere else to buy water we were a captive market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlqp, Gerente at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment and for choosing Palacio de Sal Hotel.

Best regards.

Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Did the 3 day trip the wrong way round so 11 hours in jeep in day 1 which was exhausting after first flight from La Paz, night at Takya Desierto which was good, another day in the jeep then unprepossessing looking half under construction arrival at Pakacio de Sal and I was ready to be disappointed. Could not have been further from the truth. The interior is fantastic - beautifully done, staff were really friendly, room was great 137, bathroom a treat after the dust, food good and done with enthusiasm, lovely mixed clientele. Breakfast with fresh juices and omelettes made to order was fabulous. Really liked this place and recommend highly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlqp, Gerente at Hotel Palacio de Sal, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment. It was a pleasure to offer you our services.

You are very welcome to come back to our hotel any time.

Best regards

Lucia Quesada
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio de Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Sal

Address: Orillas Salar de Uyuni, Uyuni, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Uyuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Palacio de Sal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio de Sal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.