We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minuteman Revolutionary Pizza

Minuteman Revolutionary Pizza
60 Avenida Ferroviaria | Tonito Hotel, Uyuni, Bolivia
+591 2 6933186
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Uyuni
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Inside the Tonito Hotel next to the army base. Free wifi.
UK
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great ingredients sourced from afar, good value drinks, great atmosphere. Very popular place so go early and be prepared to share table space

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minuteman2014, Owner at Minuteman Revolutionary Pizza, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. Uyuni is a difficult place to run a restaurant. Our poduct costs much more to make because we need to transport items from all over Bolivia as well as Peru, argentina and Chile to make the best pizza we can. Many of our creative toppings are also time consuming which makes it difficult to charge the same as the local pizza shops who wouldn't consider sun drying tomatoes or offering balsamic vinager and fresh pepper mills on the tables. We believe in these little extra steps that we are glad you enjoyed, The salad bar concept can also be costly when you consider we don't limit the amount of trips some hungry travellers take to refill. Your review is important to us and we will constantly find ways to improve. Many thanks, chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    49
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pizza, great salads, great pastries,great owner and the lack of great beer is not his fault !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

An unexpected find in a dusty town that serves as the gateway to Bolivia's Saltflats.
The pepperoni is more like a sopraseta and I think it makes the pizza just that much better.
Don't waste your time eating anywhere else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best pizza in South America!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Chris and his team not only provided a highly personal and attentive approach to each customer, the pizzas and salads were amazing! A rotating selection of fresh salads and a special pizza each day allows Chris to fully demonstrate his strengths as a pizza chef. A wonderful and highly personable experience - do NOT miss out on one of Chris' pizzas while you are in Uyuni.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best thing in Uyuni (aside from the Salar)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We usually opt for local cuisine but Uyuni main strip is depressingly full of identical pizzerias. Minuteman is a little harder to find - and totally worth it!
Located inside the Tonito hotel (non guests have to make a reservation for dinner), it serves delicious thin crust pizza with fresh ingredients and a range of toppings. Purchase of a pizza gives you access to the salad bar as well - was such a tread to have real salad in South America after weeks of the obligatory overripe tomato garnish.
We heard about this place through a long chain of travelers' whispers and I agree and pass it on - go there! The food is awesome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Bolivia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I read this place had the best pizza in Bolivia, I was skeptical, but I'm inclined to agree. Inside you feel like you're no longer on Bolivia but transported to Boston along with its owner (very nice chap). If this place was in Boston it'd probably be the best pizza there to. A welcome return to normality after the salt flats

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minuteman Revolutionary Pizza also viewed

Uyuni, Potosi Department
 
Uyuni, Potosi Department
Uyuni, Potosi Department
 

Been to Minuteman Revolutionary Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minuteman Revolutionary Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.