We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast and pool, average rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mitru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Mitru to your Saves list
Hotel Mitru
Av. Chichas 187, Tupiza 067, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tupiza
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“good breakfast and pool, average rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pro: central location, great pool, and buffet breakfast
con: a bit too expensive, rooms need a makeover

Stayed here for 1 night, I think the room was about $20. We also booked a tour with the agency in front of the hotel "Tupiza tours". We had some problems with the operator (national park was closed), but to be fair, the refunded us some of the money and apologised after the trip. This is definitely something you can't expect in Bolivia and we very much appreciated it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    78
    43
    10
    5
See reviews for
12
86
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

After backpacking through South America for several month, the Hotel Mitru was a bit of a treat stay, but for a very affordable price. The twin room would have been 200 Bolivianos per night, but we got it for 180 since we stayed for 3 nights (and probably also because we booked our Uyuni tour with Tupiza Tours which has the same owners).

The room was nice and clean, the shower had good water pressure and was properly hot and even the WiFi worked most of the time. The breakfast buffet also was pretty decent, at least compared to a lot of the other breakfasts we got in SA. The staff were very friendly too, at least if you spoke Spanish. T

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Pretty nice place. The lobby had a lot of computers, they did laundry for super cheap prices, the rooms and shower were just ok. I personally really didn't like the breakfast here. A lot of travelers to talk to. We booked our Salt Flat tour through this hotel and were very pleased.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

there is decent budget accommodation in tupiza, but if you've a bit of extra cash, this place is definitely worth the money.

we checked a few rooms for 200 bols before settling on the matrimonial room which was 300 bols. the manager offered it to us for 280 without us even asking.

room was spotless, and the bed the comfiest in 2 months of backpacking.

don't think about booking online as the prices on their website are way more.

eggsellent breakfast.

nice communal area.

lovely pool with garden area.

only negative was weak wifi/Internet on communal PCs but apparently this is standard in tupiza.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a private room with a shared bathroom. It was very comfortable and clean. There is a big pool outside with lounge chairs around it that lots of guests were taking advantage of in the very hot weather.
The breakfast is really good. Lots of variety including scrambled eggs, bread, fruit, muffins, and cereals. Breakfast wasn't included on the day that we arrived as per usual but it was only 5 bolivianos to pay for it.
The tour agency Tupiza Tours in the front service is very good and the staff speak perfect English if you need help trying to find a shop/restaurant around town. We booked our 4 day Salt Flats tour through them and had a FANTASTIC trip. It is more expensive than other tour companies but you will see why when you go with them. New cars that don't break down, very well organized teams, and we had an awesome English-speaking guide, a young guy named Rinaldo i believe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazca, Peru
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Paid 200 Bolivianos for a double room. Big room, nice bed, not so nice shower. WiFi was bad, but hey, you are in Bolivia so don`t expect fast internet. It`s a pity to say, but again, very unfriendly and not guest friendly service. Also something that is typically Bolivian. Nice pool with Bolivian hygiene, so swim around the dead insects which are still laying in it 3 days later. Breakfast was great. Tour agency in the same building as the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Looked like someone with a stomach bug had voided up the walls (they hadn't- it was just an odd choice of paint scheme).

Good breakfast- lovely outdoor space with the pool. Nice service.

Don't do your laundry through the hotel though. Overpriced and some items came back damp and none of it had been ironed.

We used Tupiza tours (which is run from the office in this hotel) to Uyuni etc. It was a highlight of the trip. Really good value for money and the guide (Freddy) was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mitru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitru

Address: Av. Chichas 187, Tupiza 067, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Tupiza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tupiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you’ll find all the rest that you need, it guarantees relaxation and offers direct contact with nature. The hotel counts with a beautiful temperature controlled pool and nice gardens, where the guest can enjoy a special drink. Comfortable rooms with shared and private bathrooms. Different prices, according to your possibilities. The main characteristics of the hotel are: Freedom, green areas, country and sun atmosphere parking, safe box, frigo-bar, hot showers (24 hours a day) games room, baggage storage room, and Buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mitru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mitru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.