We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 15 is good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Torre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Torre to your Saves list
Hotel La Torre
Avenida Chichas 220, Tupiza, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Tupiza B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Room 15 is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Be careful which room you stay in. We attempted to reserve a double bed for 3 nights, but were told that for our first night they only had two single beds, which was the same price - 140Bs - as the double.

The room we got was awful room and massively overpriced. The only window opened up onto the stairway, which meant the room was hot, smelly, loud and without privacy and the bathroom was so small you could sit on the toilet and take a shower at the same time. Unfortunately, this set-up was not unique to our room, but was the general rule of the hotel.

For a second night, we were able to choose a different room and moved to room 15, which was infinately better. It was the same price, but had a window looking out onto the main road with the mountains behind it and had a shower which actually had a shower curtain and wasn't on top of the toilet. While our first room certainly wasnt worth 140Bs, room 15 certainly was.

Also, and this isn't really unique to this hotel, but the breakfast was awful - barely worth having. Stale bread and overly sweet jam.

Room Tip: Choose room 15 - the majority of the rest are awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    61
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
5
77
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The staff/owner was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and so were the bathrooms. Loved the breakfast. Kitchen if you need to cook up your own delicacies. Right in the centre of town and if you are keen to do tour out to the salt flats or horse trekking they can look after you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We only went to "Hotel la Torre" to book some tours. The Contact and Service we had was very good. The tours started in time and also the price was ok. As they booked a Taxi for us even though we didn't stayed in the Hotel. The Hotel itself looked very nice. For the service 5 Points.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had planned to just stay one night, breaking up our journey from Uyuni to Argentina, but the road block between Tupiza and Villazon meant we stayed 2. Our first night we paid 156bs for a room with private bathroom (room 15). This wasn't a bad room! It was clean, the beds (its a triple room) were comfy and the shower was good - hot with great water pressure. For some reason we had no tv remote but we didn't ask for one as we had other jobs to do! The room faces the street so gets some noise but it was good to have an open air window to ventilate the room as it got quite warm!

The second night we had room 4 - a double with shared bathroom. It cost us 100 bs. If room 15 had been available we would happily have paid an extra 56 bs - there was only 1 bathroom for the rest of that floor which was in use for about an hour just when we needed it (we were leaving on an early train). The shower cubicle had no curtain so the floor and toilet were always wet and the placement of the window was good if you wanted to look out on the courtyard whilst taking a shower!

Internet was ok - connection went off a few times for up to an hour but when it was working the speed etc were fine for browsing / bookings.

Breakfast was nice - banana, yoghurt, bread and jam with very nice orange juice.

Overall a good stay but book an ensuite if you can - its worth the extra!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a brilliant 4 day tour with La Torre. Marko and Isabella were a great driver, cook team and we have such great memories of our tour. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED.
At the hotel, we had a private double room at the back of the hotel and unfortunately due to the wet room bathroom the room was very musty from mould and the shower in the room above was dripping constantly which we could hear. We suggest you get a room with a shared bathroom.
It's not an expensive place so you can live with it. It's just somewhere to stay before the tour.
The staff are great and very helpful.

Room Tip: One with a window and no bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It was our first stay in Bolivia. And I can say now, after different hostels, that it is a good value for Bolivia standards and prices.
We got a double room with private bathroom. All clean, "real" hot shower, good breakfast with yogurt.
One only negative point: you have guests arriving by train around 4am so you could hear the ring. But generally you stay one or two nights before going on the lipez-salar tour so it's ok, but the management could find a solution about it.
Anyway, I recommend this hotel before going to your tour.
We didn't take the tour with their agency so cannot talk about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nice spot. Was most welcome of a decent bed and a proper hot shower after 17 hours on a bus. The room we had was comfortablea and clean, the breakfast was also far more siginificant than any other "all included" breakfast that I had in Bolivia. Can throughly recommend their tours too -the best thing i did in Bolivia.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Torre

Address: Avenida Chichas 220, Tupiza, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Tupiza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tupiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our area is a family business, with extensive experience in the area, giving our customers comfort, quality, warmth and continuous advice. Our Hotel is located in the center of the city. It is 3 and half blocks from the train station and 2 and half blocks from the bus station. Check in time is 11:00 a.m. Early arrive from 00:00 to 06:00 a.m. you have to pay 100% the price for that night too (Included breakfast). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.