We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super ambiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HOSTEL RUTA 40

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added HOSTEL RUTA 40 to your Saves list
HOSTEL RUTA 40
Av. Guemes sur, 178, Cafayate, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Cafayate
Cassis, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The place is very pretty, colorful. It's so nice to spend time in the patio, and meet other travelers, the kitchen gives the envy to cook, clean and bright. We are welcomed like in our family. The two guys are always there to help you and provide good advices for the excursions. The location is perfect. Tout est parfait!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
2
30
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Hostel Ruta 40 is a couple of blocks from the main square and just a few minutes walk from the bus terminal (its a very small town so nothing is far away). The hostel itself is really nice, the 6 bed dorm had plenty of room with lockers for valuables and private bathroom. They serve breakfast each morning in a gorgeous courtyard, the usual Argentian fare - bread rolls, dulce de leche, yoghurt, cereal and coffee. We hired the bikes from the hostel and they were great. It's a really easy ride from the main part of town to the vineyard, and very scenic! The staff didn't speak any English but no hay problema, we had a fun time playing charades to communicate with each other ;) The only downside was that there was no room key or security to get into the hostel, but I guess if you keep your valuables locked up you wouldn't have any issues, and anyway the town itself felt really safe. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Booked as a walk-in. Staff were very friendly. Good choice of rooms and quiet courtyard. We were allocated a room with a bunk and HUGE king size bed. The location is within easy reach of the main square.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

No complaints here. We rocked up without a reservation and were greeted by a super friendly reception guy. No problem getting a room. It was nothing special but it was clean and big. Staff are great. You can rent decent bikes here too. Good cooking facilities also. Nice wine selection and bar. You are not allowed to bring your own booze in. Very good WIFI. Breakfast was he typical Argentinian affair. Coffee and breads. Nice chilled vibe to the place. We would recommend.

Dolores & Graham

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My boyfriend & I recently stayed in Hostel Ruta 40 in Cafayate. We only stayed one night but were greeted by the friendly host. We took a double room which was only 80 pesos per person. It's located right off the central square and you are in walking distance to many wine bodegas. The room was huge with a king size bed and a private bathroom, all immaculate. WiFi was the quickest I've had in the northwest region. The hostel has a nice central courtyard and sizable, well-stocked kitchen. The staff is friendly and ready to help you with anything you need. The breakfast is typical of Argentina with some breads, butter & jam but all good quality. Given the size of this room, the private, spacious bathroom with a piping hot shower, it couldn't have been a better value. Perfect place to spend the night in Cafayete.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Arrived in town after a horrendously windy cycle and needed a decent rest. I had initially planned on staying elsewhere, but due to said hostels lack of maps - I stayed here instead. I had only intended on staying for 1 night, but enjoyed the hostel enough to stay another day.

Received a very warm welcome and a quick run down of the facilities. Stayed in the large dorm. Beds are extremely comfortable, so much so I had a quick look at the mattress to make sure I wasn't deluded. Top of the range deluxe mattress at least 10' thick. Bathrooms and general facilities are perfectly adequate. Ate out one night, cooked in the next. Kitchen is quite small for the number of potential people though.

Breakfast only starts at 08:00 and is not particularly well mediated by the morning staff. A small group of rotund tourists pigged down all the breakfast rolls which were not replenished for another half hour. Having said that, there was a better selection of breakfast available than I have had at most.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Despite the cold weather, we sat outside and chatted for hours. WiFi was of the better speeds I have come across in all of northern Argentina. The only detraction I had with the hostel was the water temperature which barely reached tepid both nights running. It would seem that the boiler setup doesn't work all that well if other people are showering or have recently showered - not much good if you have 20+ people.

Room Tip: Probably best to choose a bed not directly opposite the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent two nights in Cafayate, an amazing little place! Stayed here for two nights. The lady at the counter had NO english at all and even though she knew we had no spanish watsoever, insisted on speaking spanish to us! We hired bikes the second day, one of the bikes had a flat tyre so she had to source one somewhere else. Breakfast was poor enough, very small breakfast room too.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HOSTEL RUTA 40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOSTEL RUTA 40

Address: Av. Guemes sur, 178, Cafayate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cafayate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Cafayate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your HOSTEL RUTA 40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOSTEL RUTA 40, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.