We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emma's Museum of Junk

Emma's Museum of Junk
203 E Court St, Jasper, AR 72641
(870) 446-5865
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 things to do in Jasper
Attraction details
Waddy, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Emma's has a nicely displayed selection of antiques and other "junk". There is just about anything you could imagine laying around. Great place to stop in and look around and beat the summer heat while in Jasper. Her collection of succulents in front of the store definitely should be mentioned, and the kitsch of it all should keep you busy for a good half an hour, even if you don't buy anything!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simpson, LA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've visited this antique store before, but decided to try again while recently in Jasper. Unfortunately, I never find anything I like or have to have. I do a lot of antiquing and I've found that 1) there are shops that are full of junk and things that should just be trashed, 2)there are shops that are owned by folks who are always fill their stores with things that are no longer popular or relevant and then 3)there are those who have a plethora of all kinds of items to appeal to antique enthusiasts of all types. I felt like Emma's falls into the second category - filled with many items that people bought 20 years ago, but no longer do. I may or may not go back the next time I'm in Jasper; I just don't find this store that impressive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Old Stuff Recycled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

An interesting building with rock in the construction. Inside, all kinds of items from yesteryear will tempt those looking for something to add to their collection. Memories are definitely brought back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas,tx
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Museum? Not so much. Junk? Yep, that's it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We loved Jasper. One of the friendliest and fun small towns we've ever been to. And if you are there, Emma's is a must stop. Emma herself is quite a character and we enjoyed talking to her. Her store certainly has its share of junk and the atmosphere of the place has a warm, relaxing and comforting feel to it, sort of like being at Grandma's house out in the country. We had hoped to find some piece of junk to remind us of this incredibly pleasant town, but much of what we saw reminded us of the same kind of junk you're likely to find at a local yard sale. If you're looking for a piece of Jasper to take home with you, after you are done at Emma's, head across the street and down Spring Street a few shops to the Jasper Chamber of Commerce. They had a great selection of locally made crafts that were priced better than you might find on Etsy. They also had a large selection of cakes, cookies, coffee and these really nice green carry bags if you purchased items (we purchased hand made jewelry and hand made placemats at a terrific price).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stop here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

You will find something you need here. Emma is a very good person so fun to visit with. We love her!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma's Museum of Junk also viewed

 

Been to Emma's Museum of Junk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emma's Museum of Junk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.