We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Point Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horseshoe Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown Point Resort
Save
You added Crown Point Resort to your Saves list
1530 S Ivory Lane, Horseshoe Bend, AR 72512   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very disappointed........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We recently bought a week at this resort and were told that we were getting a "Gold Crown" accomadation. We were given condo 103 But never did I guess that they would put us in condo right next to where they were building a new building and across from where they were tearing one down!! I loved their work ethic, but did not enjoy them starting work at 6:30 am and working till past 6 in the evening.......they even worked on Saturday and Sunday!! The building they put us in only had 4 condos and I'm sure they could have kept that building empty as they said they were not full......... We even had to ask the forklift operator to move his truck so we could get out the driveway! Condo was nice but definitely NOT Gold Crown!!! The other cabins and condo buildings around the lake looked much nicer. The only good thing about our stay was the nice view of the lake..............check it out: http://youtu.be/eTKXwkDKrG0

Room Tip: Ask questions!!!!!!!!!!! Get a condo on the other side of the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
32
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myron, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

All of the bad reviews in this resort are in a resort that is being tore down. The available units are all plush and updated with all new appliances, new TVs, new everything. This is a really wonderful place to vacation and I can assure you that the staff is all friendly. We've been coming to this place for 10 years and have enjoyed our stay every year. It's certainly a gem in the Ozarks...

Room Tip: All the rooms are plush!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

If you want a relaxing vacation away from the city. Crown Point is the place to be . Bring the kids or leave then home. I had the best time this summer and can't wait to return. I rented a 1 bedroom cabin just a few steps up from the lake. There is a beautiful white sand beach at the entrance to the lake from Crown Point, next to the pool. The cabin was very clean and spacious with all the amenities of home. The was something to do every evening, providing by the Crown point staff. I was so glad to get the "heads up" phone call from the activities director who also included the fact that Horseshoe Bend, Arkansas is located in "dry county". That tip alone was very helpful. Not too much to do at the resort but did do many other activities outside the resort. There is an orientation that should not be missed. I found out where to go trout fishing and also did a float trip near by. All in all this was one of the nest vacations I ever had close to home. I live in the Kansas City area about a 5 hr drive.

Room Tip: I did not choose the room myself and was very happy with the one I wanted. Although I did call with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We arrived Sunday Oct. 2 , 2011 and stayed through Friday October 7th. We stayed in Cabin 513 and had a great view of the lake off the deck of our bedroom patio. We had one of the log cabin style places with a great jacuzzi tub.
We cooked all our meals there and everything worked perfect. Glad we brought our own wine and beer this part of Arkansas is a dry county. Missouri is an hour away if you need more.
We visited Blanchard Springs Cavern and enjoyed our time in the cave, I recommend this. We also drove to Mammouth Springs and were amazed by the amount of water this spring produced.
Great fishing on the Spring River for trout at the Bayou Access, and by the resort the Strawberry River for smallmouth and goggle-eye.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My mother ,stepdad ,and I had rented a 2 br 2ba here. I had also called ahead because my mother had ,had knee replacement surgery 4 weeks before and she is 73 and asked that we have something with the least amount of stairs.To our surprise when we arrived we had 16 deep concrete stairs and our room only had 2 br 1 an half bath. It was dirty and in very bad shape not at all what we had seen on the internet. We called and was told they would not be able to do anything about any thing until Monday,this was sat. but offered us a 1 br 1 bath we looked at it it was cleaner and was on the ground floor with min. steps we decided to take it well needless to say after I moved all our stuff there we noticed there was food in the fridge someone else was staying there so we called and they said whoops to which I moved all our stuff back up the stairs All said and done we ended up having one with 18 stairs straight up but it was better than really steep deep concret stairs, it was dirty the shower head was falling off the wall we had a broken window with plastic on it it leaked over our table there was only one tv in the whole place the microwave when it worked made the kitchen light go off and on the shades were all tore up so you had no privacy We will never go back there and we will tell our friends and family the same By the way we called on monday but whoever Jo was was to busy to get back with us the whole week the very least he could have done was called and told us no, we can't move you thanks Jo good business ethnic. We have never had anything so aweful ever and we are not complainers either you are welcome to check any places we've stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Horseshoe Bend hotels

Chattanooga
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We spent a very relaxing week at Crown Point Resort Aug. 12-19. We stayed in the lake-side units. One of the units was upstairs and the other was downstairs. These are the blue buildings that are all lake-front. We had a spectacular view of the lake from our deck.

Other units on-site are: log cabins in the middle of the resort (they don’t face the lake but some have a lake view. They have neat front porches with rockers.). The older town-home units (cream & brown color in the photos) described in some reviews do not have a nice appearance from the outside.

As stated in many reviews, this is not the place to go if you want exciting night-life and a thrill-a-minute. We wanted a get-away-from-it-all week and Crown Point Resort was perfect.

Our accommodations were very good: up-to-date appliances (including full-size refrigerator with ice maker, stove, dishwasher, garbage disposal, microwave, blender, mixer), plenty of dishes and cookware. The washer-dryer in our units were the stackable kind. They are not the full-size ones at your home, but plenty big enough to freshen your beach towels or bath towels and to get a head-start on your own laundry.

Each unit had a queen-size bed that was very comfortable with a pillow-top mattress and down comforter. There was a queen-size sleeper sofa in the den. Each unit had a walk-in shower, whirlpool tub, two toilets and two sinks – essentially two bathrooms in each unit. Everything worked fine – A/C kept us very cool.

Two pools were great (one indoors at Rec Center + hot tub, and one outdoors near the beach area). Beach at lake and dock area very good for swimming. There is a floating dock that you can easily swim to for some sunning or jumping in the water. Plenty of beach lounge chairs at pool and at beach. Numerous docks around the area for tying up your boat or fishing. You can also use the canoe or kayak to paddle around the lake area.

Very good entertainment throughout the week. Monday night was the Elvis impersonator, Tuesday was a folk singer Dave Sharp who did just about any request you could imagine. Karaoke on Thursday night. Water aerobics on two mornings. A cooking class one morning. There was also bingo ($10 each), Texas Hold-em and a magic show. We were truly amazed to have that much entertainment at a resort this size. You can also sign up for a pontoon boat ride ($5 each) which tours the lake area. We chose to rent a pontoon boat and inner tube at the nearby Box Hound Marina for fun on the water. It was $50 for 2 hours or $85 for 4 hours, plus gas and oil. The tubing cost an extra $20.

Units had big flat-screen TVs in the den and another regular TV (about 25”) in the bedroom. DVD player in one of our units and the Rec Center had numerous DVD’s and/or VHS movies that you can check out for free. Cable TV had plenty of selections, including all the ESPN’s, NFL Network, MLB Network, Lifetime, History, etc.

On-site restaurant called Papa Dick's served mostly pizza and chicken. We cooked all our meals in the room, but heard from others that the food was very good.

Nothing is very close to Horseshoe Bend. It’s about 30+ minutes to the nearest Walmart in Ash Flat. We suggest getting your food at a grocery store called Town and Country Grocery Store in Highland, AR (100% employee owned…reasonable prices, too).

For off-site entertainment, we spent an afternoon in Hardy, AR, walking through quaint antique stores and pottery shops. Good restaurant there called Downhome Country Restaurant (was once a gas station). Also drove to Mammoth Spring (good trout fishing there), Calico Rock (more neat stores) and Mountain View (a street-corner soda fountain/prescription shop, plus lots of neat antique stores).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and I had to move twice in order to get into a space that was livable. The first accomodation was in one of the oldest building at the resort. We were told that they are going to tear this building down soon. The AC didn't work, so they moved us across the hall. That one had black mold around the vents. We talked to one of the employees who cleans the units and she said that she had reported the mold prior to us moving in. We ended up moving into one of the nicer, newer buildings and enjoyed the rest of the week.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Point Resort

Address: 1530 S Ivory Lane, Horseshoe Bend, AR 72512
Location: United States > Arkansas > Horseshoe Bend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Horseshoe Bend
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Crown Point Hotel Horseshoe Bend
Crown Point Resort Horseshoe Bend, Arkansas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.