We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin de Cactus

Jardin de Cactus
Carretera General del Norte, s/n, 35530 Guatiza, Lanzarote, Spain
34-928-529-397
Improve this listing
Visit Jardin de Cactus like an insider
$66*
and up
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Guatiza
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful and unique garden composed of exotic cacti and strangely shaped natural rock formations.
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited during Easter holidays (4 of us including children of 6 & 3).

The gardens are really enjoyable but are quite small. We had lunch there but stayed for little over an hour.

There's a huge variety of cactii and it's really well laid out and maintained. Entry fee is pretty reasonable (most attractions are in Lanzarote) but food & drinks quite expensive.

We were staying at Playa Blanca and visited on our last day on a circuitous route to the airport. It would have been slightly disappointing if we had travelled so far just to visit the gardens.

I'd suggest that the Cactus gardens is best combined with a trip elsewhere (eg Jameos del Agua).

Nearly forgot - there's a windmill here but there's no window so not really worth the effort of getting small children up & down the stairs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    349
    97
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sangano, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“cozy cacti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although quite small, surface-wise, in this garden you can find the most amazing display of different stinging plants you can imagine. Some of them are really particular, their shapes and their flowers quite amazing. Well worth a visit!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanzarote
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Cactus gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was amazed at the many vast types of cactus and the gardens are set up beautifully, once home to the cochineal industry!! Great for all the family and well worth a visit, guests get a free drink at the bar with the entry fee price!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you asked me where the humble cactus ranks in my list of must see things, it's going to be scoring lower than a UK Eurovision entry. However, I was pleasantly surprised with this attraction, particularly the garden design which is like a huge terraced bowl with banks of cactus in all manor of shapes and sizes.

Downside was the cost. I think when you're on holiday it's easy to lose perspective on the value of the coinage in your wallet, so at 9 euros a head its perhaps not until you're departing that you realise you've just shelled out £20 for a walk around a garden and a couple of coffees.

Get In early before the bus tours turn up to make the most of it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Cactus Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was a bit sceptical at first, thinking, do I really want to look around a garden full of boring old cacti? How wrong I was. This amazing garden was created by Cesar Manrique from an old disused quarry. It is a fantastic use of space with over 1,400 species of cactus from around the world and around 10,000 plants in all. The varieties are stunning, especially when in bloom. The garden features an old windmill, a water garden, stone sculptures and a café/bar with tables set under sailcloth awnings. There is also a souvenir shop.

The café/bar offers reasonably priced snacks and drinks with waiter service and the shop has some interesting locally produced goods. There are two separate blocks of toilets which are very clean and have rather interesting depictions of ladies and gents. There is also a separate block for the disabled.

Entrance to the garden is inexpensive at between 4-5 Euros but if you plan on seeing several attractions, you can purchase, 3,4 or 6 attraction tickets. There is a price list outside the garden which gives you a choice of what attractions you can choose from. These tickets will save you a lot of money. The 3 & 4 attraction tickets (20 & 26 Euros respectively) are valid for 7 days and the 6 attraction ticket at 30 Euros is valid for 14 days; so you don't have to do everything in one day. Children under 6 are free and between the ages of 7 & 12, half price. Opens at 10am. The garden is well worth a visit. We really enjoyed it and would not hesitate to return.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin de Cactus also viewed

Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
 
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Punta Mujeres, Lanzarote
 

Been to Jardin de Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin de Cactus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.