We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mack's Fish & Steak House

Mack's Fish & Steak House
559 Wilburn Rd, Heber Springs, AR 72543-8714
501-362-6225
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 40 restaurants in Heber Springs
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stopped her for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. Very clean restaurant and friendly wait-staff. Prompt seating. Great, well-priced lunch offerings. Wide variety. I ordered the grilled chicken salad without crutons and came out good... hard to mess up a salad though right? They offer complimentary hushpuppies, beans, and coleslaw after you order. Food was a little slow but it was probably the busiest restaurant in town at the time so to be expected.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    13
    18
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romance
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mack's Fish & Steak House is the place to go in Heber Springs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The food was very good and it is kid friendly. The kid's menu has a good selection and the warm cookies at the end of the meal are wonderful. If you visit Greers Ferry Lake, keep this place in mind. There is plenty of boat parking, so it's great for lake visitors.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mack's is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The food here is amazing and the service was top notch. The prices will keep us visiting here every time we return

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, inconsistent service, Silly additional charges!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I live in Heber and enjoy eating at Mack's (most of the time). The inconsistency comes from the Service not the food. Having to 'flag' down a server to start dinner isn't a good start to a pleasant dinner. The prices are not cheap so good service is most appreciated.

As a local, I would eat here more often, but I'm not going to pay an ADDTIONAL $2 to EXCHANGE the French fries that I can't eat, for vegetables. I've never eaten at a restaurant that won't exchange a comparable side dish for free. Until that issue is resoved, I'll eat my catfish elsewhere where they DONT charge to exchange healthy eating for fried potatoes. I wonder how many customers are charged this fee and don't notice it on the ticket???

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGUNA
1 review
“Catfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The catfish platter was great and the service was great.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mack's Fish & Steak House also viewed

Heber Springs, AR
Heber Springs, AR
 
Heber Springs, AR
Heber Springs, AR
 

Been to Mack's Fish & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mack's Fish & Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.