We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wagon Wheel

Wagon Wheel
166 S. Broadview St., Greenbrier, AR 72058
501-679-5009
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Greenbrier
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
cakelady83
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place is more of an institution in a small town than a place you go to get great food. The food is good country cookin'. Some dishes are a little bland. The fish on friday is really good, though. I wouldn't waste any money on dessert. Well, there's really no place in this small town to get good dessert, though. It's just ok.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Plate lunches and Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Forget the diet unless you have massive will power. We had a great lunch here with fried mushrooms followed by plate lunches and coconut cream pie with three inches of meringue. We traded bites around the table and we loved everything. Roast beef was tender and slightly salty and I suspected most of the dishes may have had some bacon grease flavor which I loved. Pinto beans made me wish I had opted for the corn bread instead of the soft, fresh roll. Green beans had chunks of ham and onions for flavor. The carrots were what my sister called "real" carrots sliced up and cooked with butter. The fried okra was perfectly breaded and fried crisp. My brother-in-law loved his big bacon cheesburger with hand cut fries. I was thinking $9 might have been high for a small town diner lunch but I was stll stuffed at dinner time and I will never bypass the Wagon Wheel on the way through Greenbrier at lunch time again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great old-time home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have eaten here more than a dozen times. Breakfast is complete and cheap, lunches will fill you up, the service is outstanding, but leave your credit cards outside. Nice old-time diner like it used to be.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Just had a great lunch. Plate lunches come with 3 side, but save room for a slice of pie.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mom/Pop diner with great food and prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

When traveling, we look for local, non-chain restaurants that have a packed parking lot. This means the food will probably be good. We were not disappointed when we made a last second decision to try the Wagon Wheel. The prices were very reasonable. A burger with fries was under $5 and this was a huge burger! My husband got a bacon/cheddar burger, but they forgot the bacon. So after we all laughed, the nice waitress went back, and I heard her call for some bacon to go on the bacon/cheddar burger. She brought 5 thick-cut strips of bacon. My husband put 3 on his burger, then handed the last 2 to me. I took 1 then put the other back for him. Then I took a bite. It was the best bacon I’ve ever tasted…and I eat bacon all the time. I quickly grabbed the last piece of bacon and savored it! I got a Trailblazer sandwich which was almost like a Philly except the meat was so much better. This was no deli style meat. This was your Grandma’s roast cut up and put on a bun with cheese and sautéed onions. Will definitely stop there again when in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagon Wheel also viewed

 

Been to Wagon Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagon Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.