We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linda Valley Cafe - CLOSED

Linda Valley Cafe
1 Lyell Highway | Linda Valley, Gormanston, Tasmania 7466, Australia
+61 3 6471 3082
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: French, Coffee Shop, Fusion, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Rosebery, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“What a find !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Believe ALL the good reviews! Brandon is a great bloke who knows his food and manages to rustle up superb dishes - for us it was 3 breakfasts. So yummy! but the real winner is his friendly hospitality and the atmosphere he creates. Fantastic Coffee!! and more fantastic Coffee :-)
If time would allow us, we'd travel down from the Northwest Coast more often to dine out at his place! He could show a few restaurants up here a thing or two! If he'd ever open up something up here - we'd be there!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Truly memorable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We rang this place to check that they were going to be open and they weren't which left us with few dining options in nearby Queenstown. The owner and chef Brandon called back a short time later to say he couldn't leave us caught short - so would open up especially! The restaurant / cafe is pretty rustic but the food was as good as you would get in any big city restaurant. Seriously good food, incredible presentation and hospitality. We'll remember this dining experience for a long time thanks to Brandon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't drive on by - you'll regret it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We came across Linda Valley Cafe when leaving Queenstown at about 5pm and Brandon was more than happy to put us together whatever we wanted from the menu despite us being there in between lunch and dinner and being the only people there.

I had some lasagne which was fantastic but was was even more impressive was that the salad was just as great as the lasagne!!! My mum had the steak sandwich and said that it was one of the best steak sandwiches she has ever had (she loves steak sandwiches!!).

Brandon definitely has a way with food and the taste was of a standard that I would have expected from a fine dining experience. It in fact topped many of my experiences at renown restaurants in Sydney!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't stop and just take pictures; go in and eat!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

What a great little cafe, like you step in somebody's living room, great coffee and we wished we had been here on lunch time or dinner time because the menu looked to die for!!! Very nice owners who told us to visit the Wall and the Nelson Fall and this all made our trip. Thank you!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We, as a group of four tourists from Sydney, had beef steak, pork belly, and chichken there. All were nice, with a 'post-industrial' style funny presentation. It is a family restaurant--by that I mean it is really in a family house. The chef is warm, nice and talktive. Strongly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linda Valley Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.