We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The English Wine Centre, Flint Barn Restaurant

The English Wine Centre, Flint Barn Restaurant
Alfriston Road, Berwick BN26 5QS, England
01323870164
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Berwick
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Enjoy a leisurely lunch or an intimate evening meal in Flint Barn Restaurant. Our menu changes every month and our experienced chef uses the best and freshest local produce to create quintessentially English dishes. Specialist advice is always available to help you select the perfect English wine to complement your chosen meal.Open daily for lunch and on Friday and Saturday evenings for dinner, Flint Barn is also available to book for small parties.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Four of us had lunch here last week in way of a celebration. The food as always was superbly cooked and well presented in generous helpings and the wine was delicious. This was the first time eating here for two of us and they said that they will certainly be back very soon. Excellent value and great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We 3 ladies 'lunched' there last Sunday at the last minute and found the staff (family run) lovely. Food was excellent and plenty of it.

In the course of ordering we mentioned it was our friend's birthday and after lunch, she was presented with a plate sporting 'happy birthday' piped around the edge and a brownie for each of us - nice touch. My companions were also told just to 'finish off' the bit of wine left in the bottle after they had their one glass of wine. We will certainly be back .....to do their wine-tasting course in the Spring and we will bring our friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“All restuarants should be this way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is what all restaurant should be like: well cooked, well presented food, with excellent service in a good setting. Colin, the owner, advised us on the wine to accompany our food, and this was spot on.

The menu had a good choice of items, was well priced and represented excellent value for money.

As someone who works in the trade, I'm not used to seeing such high standards everywhere I go. I will certainly eat here again when we return to the area, and would strongly recommend it to anyone staying in Eastbourne area. It was a real pleasure to dine here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant and perfect wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I have eaten in the restaurant on several occasions. Each time was a wonderful experience. The staff have always been friendly and courteous as well as very knowable on English wines. The food is superb and consistently beautiful prepared and presented. The prices are very reasonable especially as the food is locally sourced, fresh and often within season. We will definitely return soon to say hello and treat ourselves to another delicious meal ;) We were so impressed with the food (particularly the summer pudding!)we chose The English Wine Centre as our wedding venue.

We held both our ceremony and reception at The English Wine Centre at start of September this year. Christine and Colin are fantastic venue hosts. Although they hold many weddings throughout the year we honestly felt ours was the only wedding that was taking place due to their high standard of care and accommodating attitude. Christine is responsible for the wedding planning on the day and directly liaises beforehand with all other contractors including the florist, photographer and entertainment which is a welcome benefit! She is exceptionally organised and experienced in arranging events with a remarkable eye for attention to detail! Christine remained a constant source of support and calmness answering/ resolving our queries leading up to our wedding and on our actual wedding day. She listened to our wishes and did everything she could to ensure we had our perfect day in the manner we wanted. Colin’s knowledge of English wine is second to none and we had a fun time selecting our wines with him a few weeks beforehand – he was extremely patience and generous with his time and was on hand in Christine’s absence to deal with our questions. We cannot recommend Christine and Colin more highly as venue hosts. They are an incredible professional couple with a refreshing, sincere approach and warm attitude. We gratefully shared many humorous moments with them throughout our planning!

The English Wine Centre is a picturesque venue set in a stunning garden with an array of spectacular colours and wildlife. An assortment of butterflies joined us in the sunny garden as we relaxed with our guests indulging on delicious canapés and sparkling wine. The South Downs backdrop is an additional advantage – on a good day The Long Man of Wilmington can also be seen! The staff were very efficient in looking after us and our guests throughout the day and into the evening. As I have mentioned above the food is excellent and the quality remained the same for a much larger number of covers on our wedding day. The chefs Mark and Tony are a credit to the venue! Our guests thoroughly enjoyed the menu and selection of wines. A great time was had by all – our wedding was perfect! Thank you Christine, Colin and your fantastic team xx

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My mMother and I went to the restaurant at the English Wine Center over the weekend for lunch. The service was excellent, the food delicious and the surroundings spotless, comfrotable, warm and friendly. if you haven't been, take the time out to go, you will not be disappointed. We look forward to returning very soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The English Wine Centre, Flint Barn Restaurant also viewed

Wilmington, East Sussex
Alfriston, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to The English Wine Centre, Flint Barn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The English Wine Centre, Flint Barn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.