We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect camp spot near Great Zimbabwe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norma Jeane's Lakeview Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Norma Jeane's Lakeview Resort to your Saves list
Norma Jeane's Lakeview Resort
Lake Mutirikwe/Great Zimbabwe Road, Masvingo, Zimbabwe (Formerly Inn on Great Zimbabwe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect camp spot near Great Zimbabwe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Lovely clean camp site, great bathrooms, lots of level sites, hot water, loads of wood - all the ingredients for a perfect camping holiday! The resort has beautiful gardens and a great view of the Lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
16
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
geneva
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lakeview resort,.It is ideally located to visit The Great Zimbabwe complex as well as for driving deep into rural Zimbabwe around Lake Mukirikwe, passing beautifully kept mud rondavels, well tendered fields, meeting friendly villagers, soaking in the wonderful vistas of the area.The gardens at Norma Jeane's are amongst the most beautiful I have ever seen in Africa and reminded me of gardens on the Italian lakes with somewhat more exotic species of trees and flowers, a riot of colors, shapes, textures, scents-.
The welcome was very friendly, the staff accommodating, the bungalows very comfortable while giving you the feeling you were back in the fifties with cheery cherry print curtains in the kitchen, plaid couches , raspberry red pillows and chintzy curtains.It all had a retro charm that we enjoyed, like taking a step back in time...
We relaxed, walked around the garden trying unsuccessfully to capture the magic of the place, braaied every night while oohing and aahing over the sunsets.
We wholeheartedly recommend Norma Jeane's Lakeview Resort-

Room Tip: all bungalows seem to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gweru, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Norma Jeane's is truly a lakeview resort as most of the rooms have a direct view of Lake Mutirikwi. The resort is built on a hilltop giving the guest a wonderful vantage point to see the lake. The grounds are perfectly manicured with lots of little cobble-stoned pathways snaking through. The bird life there is vibrant with lots of species being seen in the grounds chirping away in the morning sun.
We went there as a group of friends just exploring the area. We took the largest self catering lodge which sleeps ten people comfortably. The facilities were ok though we felt the beds needed a bit of an upgrade, particularly the single beds. The rooms themselves were clean and we had someone to clean the lodge and do the dishes for us each morning. The kitchen was adequately furnished with all utensils and cookware that we could need.
We also enjoyed the braai area as a fire was lit for us and we were able to sit by the fire side and braai meat enjoying many a drink and laughs.
The rates were good and the service from the reception guys was also great. There is a good place to park vehicles.
For those who are not up to cooking there is a great restaurant which serves all meals.
The resort is right by lake Mutirikwi and only a few km from Great Zimbabwe Ruins and the dam wall. The roads are all tarred.
The ambience of the whole place was quite good and we just loved it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The grounds are fabulous with lots of nooks and crannies to explore while looking out over the lake. The camping facilities are good with fire pits and a washing up area. The showers were some of the best I has encountered in a month in Africa with really hot water and good pressure. Thick grass to camp on as well. The wifi was free although a little variable especially when lots of people logged in at once. The drinks from the bar were reasonably priced although change was an issue (as it is everywhere in Zimbabwe).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The second last destination on our round Zimbabwe safari was Norma Jeane's Resort. With such a large group we took over nearly all of the accommodation with our guests staying in the standard rooms which are very comfortable. The self catering facilities are OK but could do with an upgrade. Meals were quite adequate but with only one waiter (other other was off sick) serving 23 people at one time was a real mission but Sarah stepped in and helped the poor fellow. The gardens are stunning and it is a very relaxing destination after a long journey. It is also reasonably close to Great Zimbabwe and will certainly always be our choice of overnight destination when going to see Great Zimbabwe.

Room Tip: Go for the standard chalets all with their own view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This place really needs an overhaul – or at least a big vacuum and spring clean. Our cottage (no. 4) had a very musty smell, and as the carpets are only swept with a broom there obviously is layer upon layer of dust in them. It is comfortable enough, but in our cottage the sofa springs had gone and the beds were hard. Strangely, the small rooms with a nice view are much more expensive (for two people) than a 3brm cottage.

Annoyingly, we were told beforehand that transport to the ruins and the damn would be no problem, but on arrival we were told that the guy who normally drives people around was on holiday that week, and we had to fend for ourselves. We had planned to have one day at Great Zimbabwe ruins and one day at the dam wall/church. Fortunately we managed to get a Kombi to the ruins and hitch a ride back, but we gave up on going to the damn after waiting ¾ hour for anything to go past. It’s a very quiet part of the world – apparently the wait for a kombi can be up to three hours! If you don't have your own vehicle, both places would probably be walkable for younger people if you got really stuck, however one of us was 75 years old.

On the plus side, the Great Zimbabwe ruins are wonderful, and were certainly a highlight of Zimbabwe for us. The gardens at Norma Jeans are wonderful, though the views of the lake from the cottages would be vastly improved by cutting just a few tree branches. The food at the restaurant is excellent, and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Visiting the Masvingo area and the Zimbabwe ruins managed to get a booking at Norma Jeanes. Arrived late at night from travelling from Victoria Falls and was disapointed in the hotel. It is out dated and does need a revamp mainly in the cottages.which could look nice and cosy if done up.we had a dinner there which was what i would call average home cooked meal.nothing fancy.tired we went to bed . Main fan in bedroom not working but got a large stand fan from reception.not enough pillows. Well at least there was power.
Woke up to a great morning .surperb gardens and views only to be dissapointed by the breakfast. No bacon or pork sausage on menu. This should be offered to visitors regardless of owners beliefs. We did get some beef bacon and a small beef sausage as a replacement.
This resort def needs an upgrade of some sort in the near future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norma Jeane's Lakeview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norma Jeane's Lakeview Resort

Address: Lake Mutirikwe/Great Zimbabwe Road, Masvingo, Zimbabwe (Formerly Inn on Great Zimbabwe)
Location: Zimbabwe > Masvingo Province > Masvingo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Masvingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Norma Jeane's Lakeview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norma Jeane's Lakeview Resort Zimbabwe/Masvingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norma Jeane's Lakeview Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.