We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go see this amazing ancient site!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Zimbabwe

Great Zimbabwe
Masvingo, Zimbabwe
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Masvingo
Type: Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is now the great capital of great significance ancient monument south of the Sahara; in Africa it is second in size and importance to the Egyptian Pyramids. The towering stone houses Dzimba dzamabwe were home of 2000 shona speaking people that prospered between 12th and 15th centuries and its 270 hectares in size. That's where the beautiful stylish fish eagle was found i.e, the Zimbabwe bird on the national flag. The country was later on named Zimbabwe derived from the ruins.Every structure was built using a dry stone technquie- entirely without mortar-involving millions of stones, each one supporting another.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go see this amazing ancient site!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Visited GZ during a rainy morning when there was lots of mist making the area look ethereal and mysterious. We had a great guide who was able to provide us with a comprehensive history of GZ while climbing over rocks and navigating narrow passages.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience at sunrise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The golden reflection of the rising sun on the rocks was amazing... Early in the day there is so much peace and tranquillity.

I was absolutely blown away by the history of this World Heritage site. Although a long distance from other attractions, it was definitely worth the trip. Plus along the way we got to meet some friendly Zimbabweans, which really made it more special. :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Must do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Such History and certainly refurbished since 2007, power issues mean't Museum shut . This historic site is worth a visit again and again, take a guide for a good visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Proud Shona History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was my first visit to Great Zimbabwe, which is a shame because as a Zimbabwean of Shona descent I think this is something you definitely have to see and read as much as you can about. After this experience i will definitely seek out the other ruin sites around the country (which i did not know about until this visit).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A nice place to wonder around and imagine what life must have been like. We regretted not having a guide but felt we had paid enough just to get in.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Zimbabwe also viewed

Mana Pools National Park, Mashonaland Central Province
Matopos National Park, Matabeleland South Province
 
Kariba, Mashonaland West Province
Bulawayo, Bulawayo Province
 

Been to Great Zimbabwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Zimbabwe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.