We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improuvements at Hluhluwe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
Save
You added Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hluhluwe Game Reserve, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Geneva-Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Improuvements at Hluhluwe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were there recently after 2 year and there are some improuvements:
Rooms have been repainted and are not so dark and gloomy as before,
linen in better and much new softer towels,
2 people at the reception desk and you are not ignored till the 2pm check-in time.

We saw so much on our own that we did not do the game drives with the lodge and therefore went to diner early and had a good selection of food.

Be aware that Hluhluwe/Imfolozi game park does NOT have a machine to check the validity of Wild card members and if you don't have a confirmation letter with dates on it, they make you repay!

Room Tip: Perimeter rooms have a small sitting area and a partial view but don't expect to see animals fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
29
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richards Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

From Richards Bay we visit the Game Reserve frequently. Unfortunatley the reception facilites at the top Hluhluwe Gate remains a problem with at least 15-20 wait due to only one cashier on duty from 5am - 7am. The roads remain a issue with large potholes, not sure what happend to the predicted repairs reported in 2013. Hilltop facility is a popular tourist attraction, it is the only camp that has restaurant facilities. These restaurant facilites are not good with poor service, misunderstandings when orders are placed, only one checkout / cashier service the terrace, restaurant and bar and sometimes very long ques for tables during lunch hours. Check in / front desk, shop and accommodation facilites are good. Accommodation self catering chalets could do with some modernisation and a coat of paint but still a pleasurable stay. Will be returning again in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stay at Hluhluwe Hilltop Camp for two day's. The units is clean inside but the patios do need attantion. The first night we ate at the Restuarant and it was very good. The second night we went to the shop to buy all to catter for ourselfs. The shop assistents was all friendly. But the price is way to much. I will asvice that the Shop owner re- look at the prices. The park itself was a dissipointment as we did not see a lot of anamals. The Park is nice and green.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a two day game drive. The lodge was amazing and came with a man that cooked a barbecue at night for dinner.
The rooms and living quarters were clean. You can see the animals from the lodge. There is a shop at the reception where you can buy small items of food and drink.
Well worth it.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in rondavels and they were clean, well equiped and the beds are amazing! At all times of the day you can find some bok in the camp watching you braaing or just eating some bushes. They come close up to you to just a few meters. The view from the camp is especially good if you want to see some big birds of all kind.
We joined an evening game drive and the game was definitely different than Kruger! We saw no cats at all and also no elephants. But instead a lot of rhinos, buffalos (loads!) and different kind of bok.
All in all a nice camp and accetable game.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I visited again. I took my mum and aunt on their first safari. It was a last minute trip and we didn't book in advance. The friendly staff at Umfolozi were really helpful and sorted us out with a bungalow. They made this a very nice stay.

We were lucky to see African Wild (painted) dog, which my mum put down to beginner's luck.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth Pride of the south
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here with 2 friends from South Africa. We had a lodge sleeping 4 (2 twin bedrooms). It was well furnished, very clean and had everything needed for self catering. The balcony was lovely in the morning and evenings.
We didn't think the place overcrowded, staff were helpful and there was very little in the way of unwanted wildlife (insects). The monkeys were about and doors needed to be left shut if unattended but they were easil deterred.
We did game drives on our own - except for one night drive - and were happy with what we saw, although we didn't see any big cats. The night drive was good value and enjoyable- even in a thunderstorm!!!!
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Cabin 40 was well situated and not kverlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp

Address: Hluhluwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 347
Also Known As:
Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp Hotel Hluhluwe Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.