We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay by the Atlantic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luderitz Nest Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luderitz Nest Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luderitz Nest Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Dias Street | Lüderitzbucht, Luderitz, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Luderitz
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A great place to stay by the Atlantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Located next to the Atlantic a well appointed hotel with modern practical rooms. Tea and coffee making facilities. A nicely appointed dining room but can become a bit cramped when hotel is reasonably full especially at breakfast. Good menu and a great breakfast selection. Small but pleasant bar area. Short walk to Luderitz's main streets. Secure car park area. Wifi available, but only works in the vicinity of reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    93
    34
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
72
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We only had one night at the Nest and would have loved to have stayed two. We were made very welcome on arrival, given a glass of fruit juice and shown the hotel facilities. I would have liked to have tried out the small swimming pool but a cold wind was blowing for much of the time we were there.. Our room was on the first floor with a wonderful view over the sea. The room was clean and had a fridge, television, and a comfortable bed. The room felt a little on the small size compared with many of the lodges we had stayed at but this was not a problem. The high point of our stay at the Nest was our evening meal in the restaurant. We were unsure what to have so our waitress suggested we have a look at the fresh fish buffet. This was a selection of freshly caught fish. You choose which you would like and the chef then cooks it. We tried the angel fish and it was some of the best fish I have ever had.. A very large portion cooked to perfection!
The buffet breakfast was very good with all the usual items including porridge!
A great place to stay, with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for two days after a disasterous night at Seeheim hotel. Hotel becoming a bit run down for a four star hotel. One bed light in room was broken and shower cable was short and bend in bath. Shampoo, bath gel and soaps are not replaced daily when staying for more than one day but that was the only faults that was found during our stay. Another small issue is that the front sliding door is manual and not manned by a hotel staff member(poor for a four star hotel).
The breakfast and dinners are great. Each room has a fantastic sea view and freshens the room at night when left open. The parking area outside the hotel is small especially when a function is held at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund, Namibia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Again, I spend my little break in Lüderitz nest hotel. Like the last time a very friendly welcome at the reception where I was very nice informed about all activities and tours around the beautiful town of Lüderitz. The hotel has to offer everything the hard is desire ring . a cold beer or two at the well stocked house bar after a long trip does wonders . the rooms are facing the bay and your are rewarded with a magnificent few. The mouthwatering dinner, I had the crayfish and a shrimps cocktail as a starter and the wine list put a bright smile in my face. Lüderitz is well known for the best crayfish in the country .the rooms are practical and good and after a good nights rest I had a fabulous breakfast with a great selection of all breakfast items , cold cuts and pastries ,omelets are done in front of you . The staff has been friendly and always helpful.
All in all I had an relaxing break and many thanks to the management and staff of the nest hotel in Lüderitz .keep up the good work and the outstanding standards, you will see us soon again..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I would go back to the Nest hotel while staying in Lüderitz.
It is rather expensive but it is definitely the best place to stay in Lüderitz.
You have a beautiful see view, you are very near to all major attractions, the rooms are nicely furnished and very clean.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Nicest hotel in the area. Comfortable and clean. Good internet. Food tasted good, but wasn't the best quality. People were nice.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lowest floor on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Is situated a little bit off town, but it's a small town so there's no problem to get down town. Great bar with terrace! Restaurant also keep good standard. Every room got a good seaview, maybe not so luxurious standard in the room but everything is new and clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luderitz Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luderitz Nest Hotel

Address: 820 Dias Street | Lüderitzbucht, Luderitz, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Luderitz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Luderitz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luderitz Nest Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luderitz Nest Hotel is the perfect location from which to visit and experience the historical coastal town of Luderitz in southern Namibia. All 73 air-conditioned en-suite rooms are sea-facing with FREE Wi-Fi facilities. For your gastronomic needs the hotel's locally acclaimed Penguin Restaurant serves the best full buffet breakfasts as well as a varied lunch and dinner menu. For leisure and relaxation, the hotel's Crayfish Bar Lounge, with far reaching views, is the perfect venue to enjoy quality coffees patisseries, wines, beers and cocktail sundowners. The sparkling swimming pool is located in secluded verdant gardens and the sauna is located directly on the rocks and sea.The hotel's friendly staff can organise various activities including; Catamaran dolphin cruises, Luderitz Peninsula Tours, Namib Desert 4x4 Tours, Luderitz Town and Area 7 Tours. The interesting and historical Luderitz Heritage Route - self-guided tour - is within walking distance of the hotel. For total relaxation with an informal seaside ambience, make sure that the Luderitz Nest Hotel is on your Namibian itinerary. We look forward to hosting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Luderitz Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nest Hotel Luderitz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luderitz Nest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.