We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular eatery with fresh seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ritzi's Seafood Restaurant

Ritzi's Seafood Restaurant
Waterfront Block D | Hafen Street, Luderitz, Namibia
+264 (0) 63 202 818
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Luderitz
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Popular eatery with fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The seafood was very fresh but a bit oily to our liking. Good service although they do struggle with large numbers of patrons (we went in a busy time) - you'll wait a bit but it's probably the best eatery in Luderitz. The milkshakes are fantastic.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    20
    18
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“beautiful seafood and view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

went there for dinner after visiting Luderditz, food and atmosphere very nice, make sure you park your car in the reserved spot, especially if is a rental your travelling around with and all your stuffs are in...! we had any kind of seafood, oysters etcetera ! beautiful view too, especially at sunset looking at the waterfront! took great pictures too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Slow service, ok food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It took 45 minutes from seating to the first food showing up. Staff are largely absent and inattentive when they are around, making ordering additional drinks, etc difficult without going to hunt for them. They tended to be studious in looking the other way when trying to attract their attention. High chair for baby gradually collapsed and were it not for a nearby diner noticing the problem and alerting us, he could have been injured in a fall. Staff took the chair away, but no note was taken of the fault, so presumably the next person will discover this again.

Restaurant is modern with good views over the harbour and Shark Island. Outside dining on a wooden deck is optional. There were quite a few flies around and no visible fly trap.

Food was plentiful and tasty when it arrived, though the cheese sauce served with the chicken was a sort of congealed yellow goo that looked most unappetising and was best avoided.

Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Namibia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a late lunch/early dinner her 2 weeks ago when we visited Luderitz. My husband had super fresh Kingklip and was very impressed(he's a very fussy eater). I had the stuffed calamari and our boy the fried calamari. When we very all very well done and totally stuffed, our plates looked hardly touched. It is a LOT of food. And it was all very good. Prices are fair and we paid about R550 for 3 huge plates of food, 2 bottles of wine, a few cokes and coffees.The restaurant is right on Luderitz's little boardwalk on the first floor and thus has a lovely and undisturbed view of the little ships that come in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

we had dinner our first night at Ritzi's - it has a great location on the waterfront with a great view of the harbour - perfect sundowner spot.
I ordered calamari it was very good tasty and tender however they did get my order mixed up.
the children all enjoyed their meals and were very happy as was hubby.
the service is a bit slow but the food is worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritzi's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Luderitz, Karas Region
 

Been to Ritzi's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritzi's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.