We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent colonial style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Joffre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Joffre to your Saves list
Hotel Joffre
BP 160 18 Bd Joffre | 501 Tamatave, Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar   |  
Hotel amenities
Richmond upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent colonial style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Joffre is a very good hotel for a decent price in the centre of Tamatave close to the Place de l'Independence and large market. The room is spacious, although without mosquito nets, and free wifi throughout. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but the breakfast was very good and decent value

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I thought this hotel was really nice, despite finding Tamatave quite intimidating. We had a suite that had a seperate lounge and bedroom. Everything was very modern and clean. The food in the restaurant was top notch but we were the only people there which we thought looked ominous but it was one of the nicer dinners and service we had during our trip. The staff got up at 4.30am with us and made us a lovely breakfast. Couldn't ask for much more. And there was free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I currently write this from the hotel reception catching up on my emails using the free Wifi after a day of meetings in Tamatave port.

The recently renovated rooms are excellent, bathrooms a good size and clean.

If I has to give a downside, it would be that the breakfast was pretty basic and that you could not access the free wifi from your room and had to venture downstairs into the restaurant/bar/reception area. Other than that, I would certainly recommend the Joffre for anyone visiting Tamatave.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I agree with "Renovated" who said "When I started reading the negative reviews for this hotel, I thought I had the wrong hotel." I ended up staying at the Calypso (separate review) which is excellent, but I spent about 1/2 hr checking this place out and would stay here if Calypso was full. It was clean, the rooms were nice and light (they had big rooms and smaller cheaper rooms) and the staff were relaxed but helpful. The wifi was free and fast enough and the restaurant was very clean (I ate there). Within the standard of Tamatave, this is a good place. I think this hotel is getting treated somewhat unfairly.

Room Tip: big room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

When I started reading the negative reviews for this hotel, I thought I had the wrong hotel and there were two with the same name. I had a great experience at this hotel - stayed there one day. I read on their website that rooms had recently been renovated, thus my satisfaction with the hotel. My room had a balcony although, it was a busy street, new and modern furnishings/bathroom with no insects to be seen anywhere. I noticed many business travelers staying there as well. My interaction with the manager Georgina was a terrific experience because we found many similarities in our lives for discussion. I loved the restaurant food with the Asian flair and the staff were all very professionally trained. I gave this a 4 star as it is a great Mada hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Joffre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joffre

Address: BP 160 18 Bd Joffre | 501 Tamatave, Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Toamasina (Tamatave)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Toamasina (Tamatave)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Joffre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Joffre Madagascar/Toamasina (Tamatave)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Joffre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.