We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mapula Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mapula Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mapula Lodge
Save
You added Mapula Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Moremi National Park | P. O. Box 22149, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mapula Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Mapula Lodge mid November and had an amazing experience. It is a beautiful location and very close to nature. The cabins were spacious and clean and the outside shower a treat. Our first day we saw a pack of wild dogs. How amazing. Two huge hippo had a fight 10' from our cabin at about 2 in the morning. Food and staff were very good. We would go back any time. It is so refreshing to stay somewhere where everyone is genuinely lovely, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you looking the realy wild place - Mapula is for you! Hippos, elephants and lions are nearby! Good fishing facilities! Excelent game rangers - Mozila is the best! Car, boat and mekoro tours were very interesting. Helpfull staff, good kitchen. Very nice and clean cholets. It was the best sleeping place for me. Thanks a lot from all our team(12 persons) which spent 3 amaising nights in Mapula!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We enjoyed our staying at this lodge. We appreciate the kindness of the staff and in particular of our guides Mozilla and Simon even if we were not able to see leopard! We heard all nights steps and noises of hippos and elephants eating grass just under our veranda. Rooms are "Flistone-Style"- but very nice and clean. The chef prepared really special food. The location of the lodge is. difficult to imagine, is completely isolated, to arrive to the lodge you must take a truck (20minutes from the airstrip) and also a motorboat...great experience, a fantastic place nestled is the wilderness

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Mapula Lodge for 3 fantastic days in August 2012. Our first wildlife sighting was on the drive from the airstrip to the lodge- 3 lions feasting on a young elephant! Our guide Philemon and tracker were really good but overall the award for best staff member goes to the manager of the lodge - her name was also Mapula! We had very productive game drives, bush walks, motor boat sundowner cruises and very relaxing outings in the local canoes called 'mokoros'. Food was superb and the rooms basic but very comfortable. You have the choice of bathing in a tub or an outside shower (my choice). The water was hot and with good pressure. Be careful of wild animals at night as they wonder all over the lodge area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We enjoyed staying at this lodge. We took a Cessna small aircraft at Maun that took us to an airstrip near the lodge. Guides were waiting for us giving us a warm welcome. We stayed in a cottage where we heard steps and noises from hippos every night. After breakfast and at sundown we watched the game from open Land Rovers, with a guide and a tracker in each truck.
Service and food was excellent. We have been in other game lodges in South Africa, but the search here is more natural. In three days we only cross two trucks! This is real Africa!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The concession is beautiful and the location and design of the lodge are excellent. Loved the rooms and the views from the beautiful verandahs. The "wear" in the room we had was really minimal. Food is fine and staff and management were as pleasant and attentive as I would wish for. The only issue I have (and it's a big one for me personally) is that when the lodge was really full, two guides was not really enough to comfortably take care of all the guests. It all gets a bit crowded and has to be quite regimented. Vehicle problems compounded this issue, and there was a lot of water around (making offroading and tracking a bit dificult). To be fair, we still had a great time, and the same "issues" of vehicle overcrowding are common to many other camps in southern Africa. We'd certainly return but there are a number of other places we'd return to first.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg RSA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent a few days at Mapula lodge last week - we saw great wildlife and brilliant birding! Lions killed and ate a warthog on the airstrip.

They are upgrading the lodge and it is very comfortable and relaxed. The food was outstanding.
We can certainly reccommed it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same - we preferred to be close to the main area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mapula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapula Lodge

Address: Moremi National Park | P. O. Box 22149, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mapula Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mapula Hotel Maun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mapula Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.