We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Safari Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Machaba Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Machaba Camp
Save
You added Machaba Camp to your Saves list
Khwai, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Gilroy, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Amazing Safari Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My family recently spent 3 nights on safari at Machaba Camp. It was a wonderful experience. The tented cabins were quite charming and luxurious, the food was great, the staff was amazing. The camp directors, Elke and Shawn were very personable. Our guide, Custard made each game drive both exciting and enjoyable - always a smile and a good story. He was determined that we would see as many animals as possible and he accomplished that quite well!! I would recommend this camp to anyone wanting to go on a safari in Botswana!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a three week honeymoon trip across Africa (Botswana - Okavango and Chobe), Namibia and Cape Town. Having never been on safari or been to Africa in fact, I didn't know what to expect. Machaba was booked for our first two nights by our tour company and what can I say... I couldn't imagine a more perfect start to our trip!

Upon arrival at the camp, we were greeted like royalty not only by the lovely team but, right there, in full view across the river, by a herd of elephants - as if they'd been ordered just for us!

Our guide for the four drives was Custard. He was fantastic - clearly so committed to our enjoyment but very respectful of the animals which I really liked. He was very knowledgeable and I could tell that he knew the area inside out. On our first drive we were wowed by the wildlife enjoying the Delta just around the corner from our camp. Our next drive, Custard upped the stakes it further by finding lions. And then the next time, a leopard cub and later its mother. Amazing. We couldn't have wished for a better experience. The camaraderie between th guides in the area was great - we didn't experience similar anywhere else. They shared sightings so that all guests could get fantastic drives without feeling like animals were crowded. There were definitely fewer people around than in Chobe and Etosha (Namibia) but no worse wildlife. No competition in terms of location.

The camp also was excellent. Staying in a tent with a plush double bed, his and her sinks and beautiful furnishings felt like paradise. Although the camps weren't actually that far apart, they were placed in the bushes in such a way that felt like you were alone. Falling asleep to the noise of hippos in the darkenss was pretty cool too!

And the customer service cannot go unmentioned. It's not a cheap place to stay but wow, the service was good! Cold drinks in the jeep when you needed them on drives and when you returned to camp - and magical to have G&T sundowners with delicious nibbles amidst the action. I genuinely felt that the whole team did everything they could to make it a wonderful stay - from Custard on our drives, to Kyle (the manager?) back at camp and Malebogo (sp?) when we chatted to her at dinner.

We stayed at another lodge in Chobe and two lodges in Etosha and they were simply no competition. I would recommend Machaba Camp above every other lodge for accommodation, service and wildlife hands down.

Thanks for a magical start to a wonderful trip!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mkuze, South Africa
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

What a wonderful experience,from the staff that service the rooms to management. Nothing was ever too much asked from them. This is truly a camp that you can feel at home at. Food was definately a 5 star experience. The game drives and surrounding wildlife was amazing and had alot of WOW sightings. Truly an experience that you would want to re-live again and again and again.... This is perfection!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

From start to finish the level of service and dedication from an amazing team never ceased to amaze us.
We work on a Superyacht so we are well versed with 6 star service. Machaba camp gave us a taste of the other side. Never was something too much trouble. I can not thank the team enough for making our stay unforgettable.
The tented accommodation was clean and well appointed, allowing you to feel like you had stepped back to Livingston's time, but with all the creature comforts of today! The food was consistently great and paired with some fantastic wines.
If you are after a holiday that transcends the luxury of a 5 star hotel, with the joy of having some of Africa's best game just out side you tent then this is the place for you.
I can not recommend this place highly enough. The game viewing was the best I have ever seen, with amazing guides who turn even the most mundane sighting of an Impala into an interesting education. Luckily we also had Leopards, Lions, Hyenas and wild dogs to keep us entertained!!!
Thank you to all the team at Machaba and all the best for the future....

Room Tip: We had one of the couples tents, however we also viewed the family tents. All the accommodation is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife said this was one of the very few places that is better in the flesh than on camera. The food was terrific, the bar always open, the staff knowledgable and importantly very caring about their environment and the wildlife sightings magnificant. At our fourth safari camp we finaly saw leopards - yes plural!

If it weren't half way around the world and in the middle of (blessed) nowhere I would be back annually.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wow!!! What an experience! Spent three nights here and didn't want to leave. The owners seem to have put in a lot of thinking as place has the right amount of everything- beautiful, spacious tents, luxurious bathrooms, wonderful setting, spectacular guiding, sumptuous food and friendly, unobtrusive service.
The team of Elca, Shawn, Kyle, Marlene, Chris and "Leopard" our witty & knowledgable guide was extremely warm and helpful, nothing was too much for them.
The camp has no fences, so wildlife free to wander around and much to our excitement we had lions in camp one night, growling and keeping everyone awake. The game drives were excellent and the Khwai area is superb in the dry season. Its not just about 'seeing/spotting' wildlife. Its about watching the incredible action unfold in front of you straight out of Nat Geo. We followed hunts, tracked a male lion for an hour following its pugmarks ( what an enjoyable & exciting experience), watched a leopard eating an impala and then having its prey snatched by another leopard, leopard being chased up a tree by hyenas on a night drive, followed huge male lion marking its territory at night, a pride of lions devouring a hippo 100 mtrs from camp, the list goes on and on.
Machaba- you've spoiled us for life, I wonder if any camp or game viewing would ever compare with this overall experience.

Room Tip: choose the tents at the far end if you want some adventure and adrenalin rush at night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have just spent three nights at Machaba Camp and was hugely impressed by the setup - spacious tents, great food, well organised staff and then the absolutely incredible game. Having been to Tanzania and Botswana before, this experience surpassed all others from the sheer variety of game. We saw seven different leopard in one game drive including a leopard being chased up a tree by hyena and a mother and her cub. We also saw wild dogs and their pups, a pride of 8 lions and were happy to be kept awake on our last night by two male lions calling each other, one from just outside our tent and the other at the edge of camp. Every game drive was an active game watching extravaganza. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: For those wanting to travel with their children, this camp is a good bet and the family suites are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Machaba Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machaba Camp

Address: Khwai, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Machaba Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.