We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in the delta!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kwetsani Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwetsani Camp
Save
You added Kwetsani Camp to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Jao Concession, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best food in the delta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Kwetsani was our third camp on our holiday. I would highly recommend Kwetsani, it felt like home. Dan and Charmaine the managers were absolutely fabulous! One of the highlights of our trip was Dan sharing his photographs and reading some Charmaine's beautiful poetry. Our favorite time of day was cocktails at the bar followed by an amazing meal. The lodge has such a relaxed feel. I am glad to hear the lodge getting some renovation in the coming year. Our room was beautiful, but there was a "tad" too much furniture in there. I really enjoyed our guide Flo, she took great care and attention to ensure we enjoyed our experience. The delta is beautiful and i would highly recommend this lodge. This lodge by far has the best, Lou with a view! Of all the camps we visited, Charmaine gave the best "what to expect" debrief when we arrived. She is so thorough and really wanted us to maximize our time. Don't miss the high tea, in my opinion the best in Botswana.

Room Tip: We were in tent #4, great view but close to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
41
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

During our four-week safari, we stayed in a variety of places from tented camps in the Serengeti to luxury country estates near Cape Town, however, the hospitality, food and fun of the activities with expert guides at the eco-friendly Kwetsani Camp are the most memorable. Camp Managers Charmaine and Dan engaged us in wonderful conversation about the conservation of the Okavango Delta as well as other interesting topics around the dinner table. We spent three amazing days there seeing all sorts of wildlife from the baboons on the deck of our tree house to hippos, elephants, lions, fighting warthogs, along with a myriad of birds and more on game drives and in mokoros. It was an amazing adventure at Kwetsani and we would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: All the rooms/tree houses are very nice. The lodge, walkways and tree houses are all elevated above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Kwetsani Camp in the Okavango Delta is a Wilderness Safari camp and truly felt like home-away-from home in large part due to the exquisite attention paid by the staff. Den and Charmaine are down to earth, charming and caring. The meals here were amazing, guides were very good, this was my favourite mokoro experience, early morning and peaceful. Baboons are around this camp and you need to watch out for them on the raised walkways, lots of elephants also came into camp (the electrified fence keeps them from coming too close) walk right by the pool and lingering to munch on the trees. Loved this camp overall, its quite a ride in the boat from the airstrip so which was an attraction for me, its a water camp and loved that. Would certainly go back. Here's a video of my experience http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vIh1xbWVpf8

Room Tip: If you are a bit skittish or travelling alone you may be more comfortable with a tent closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We loved this camp! Charmaine and Dan are wonderful hosts. Flo is an incredible guide. Our tree hut was lovely and the lodge is perfect! We totally injoyed our stay there even if we couldn't find the lion! Wonderful leopard sighting made up for it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great camp with a nice combination of wet and dry activities. This was our second camp, so it was a welcome change from the game drives. I highly recommend a tour in the makoro boats. Dan and Charmaine were great hosts - ask Charmaine to make you a margarita. ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan capistrano
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We recently went as a family ,(8), of us and we had the entire camp as our own. This was the best when compared to other camps we visited. The best part of the 3 day stay was our guide Flo, who is one of the few ,(only?), guides in the delta. She was very knowledgable and accomodating to our wishes. We had a great experience both on the water and on land. It was warm in the daytime and cold at night as predicted. Need to have warm layered clothing. Sun glare off the water surface was more qute strong. Need to be prepared.
Most interesting sighting was a leopard in a tree with its recent kill. Many great viewing and photo ops.
The accommodations were by nice. The tented rooms were above the floor of the delta which afforded great viewing of elephants which came daily to browse on the foliage near our rooms. Rooms quite separated and private. Rooms could have been somewhat cleaner. Towels somewhat stiff. Laundry done nicely and promptly. Electricity 24 hrs a day and plenty of hot water. Bed nice and comfy, especially with the nighttime "bush babies" to keep you warm. Plenty of food served buffet style. Everyone was happy.
Managers Charmaine and Dan were pleasant and interesting. Nice little gift shop. The camp staff were great and were very friendly. Over- all a nice blend of water viewing and land viewing. Best close-up viewing of Hippos in the water. Would recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Africa and the second camp we visited. This was quite different from the first camp (Chitabe) in that this is a "wet" camp, surrounded by water. To get from the airstrip to the camp, one travels by motorboat down the hippo highway. The trip takes about 30 minutes. Totally different landscape from the other camp; lots of birds and of course hippos. Here we had a mokoro ride (similar to a canoe) one evening. The second evening we did a boat ride to see the hippos up close. In the morning, we had to take a boat to another island to do the game drive; not as much game here as previous camp. Our guide here was a bit disappointing after our previous wonderful guide. Dan & Charmaine (managers) were very welcoming and hands-on with guests. Food was excellent and the treehouse tents were beautiful with outdoor shower. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were here for 2 nights which was certainly sufficient.

Room Tip: All tents are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kwetsani Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwetsani Camp

Address: Jao Concession, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwetsani Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island tree-houses overlooking a picture-perfect, lechwe-dotted floodplainKwetsani is situated on an elongated island covered with palm, mangosteen and fig trees. The main area, including dining and lounge area, with its large wooden deck and cool thatched roof, is raised high above the ground and overlooks an expansive floodplain. A walkway leads to a plunge pool with loungers – a perfect spot to relax at midday. HighlightsKwetsani offers excellent land and water activities dependent on annual inundation levels. Lion, leopard, lechwe and tsessebe are among the major game attractions, while hippo, sitatunga and crocodile reside in the deeper, permanently lily-filled lagoons. Incredible vistas of the surrounding floodplains dotted with lechwe, other plains game and even lion can be seen from the decks or from the comfort of your tent. 5 Tents: Airy ‘tree-house’ chalets of thatch, wood, glass and canvas; en-suite bathrooms; outdoor shower; connected with wooden walkwaysExperiences: Game drives Mokoro excursions Boat trips to Hunda Island for game drives (Seasonal) Seasonal hide for sleep-outs or game viewing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kwetsani Camp Hotel Okavango Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kwetsani Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.