We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent safari-chic camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sango Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sango Safari Camp
Save
You added Sango Safari Camp to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Khwai Concession, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent safari-chic camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Outstanding safari experience. This is a small camp catering to a maximum of 12 guests, with a 2:1 ratio of staff to guests! My guide "Face" was fantastic. He understood my requirements as a photographer to get the best angles for shooting. And his eagle-eye...get this: he spotted a lion 400m away with only its 2 front paws visible in the air while the lion slept on his back!

The camp will go out of there way to accommodate your needs. For example, I wanted to do a safari on my last day, but also needed to on my way prior to normal safari end. So they sent out a vehicle to pick me up in the field, brought me back, cooked a special breakfast for me and sent me on my way with a pack lunch. And they accompanied me to the stream crossing to ensure I successfully navigated the meter plus deep water.

Yup, these guys get (or should I say give?) exceptional service. To be sure, you pay dearly for it, but it's nice to know they give you want you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
79
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was truly a remarkable experience, and the staff at Sango camp were great! I loved the atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

It wasn't just the many leopards, mating hippos, kori bustards, the eagle-eyed guide OT, it was everything. The camp has an eye for detail, that's what makes it exceptional. Lovely lights at night, a campfire, flashlights for when you walk to your luxurious tent. The singing Khwai people, we just loved it all. The safari's are in small groups and as the camp has only 6 tents, you dine together at one long table.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Absolutely outstanding. There is a small sinister part of me that wants to say bad things so this wildlife heaven doesn't become too busy but I just can't. We were fortunate to spend 3 months travelling in Africa and this was without a question the highlight. The hospitality was first rate, the quality of the guides was tremendous and the wildlife encounters were unforgettable. The Sango's have put together a first rate operation that deserves nothing but praise!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is what being on safari should be like!!

I've been on safari a couple of time before, due to my work related destination. However, Botswana was a totally unique experience. Having the opportunity to discover the delta by foot, 4x4 and boat was amazing.

We got to see lots of game during our 2 night stay here. The night time game drive was well worth getting cold for....
Our stay was made comfy by Judge (the manager) Joel (our guide) & dickson (our jr guide). All the staff were very friendly and food was of high standard.

I would recommend sango camp when visiting the delat.
I found the camp inexpensive but of high quality! great value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms the same. We could hear hippo's out side during the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with 6 people in this camp. The 2 brothers and the staff made sure that we had a great time. The tents are very luxures and although it was wintertime and cold at night they made sure that we had everything for warm and comfy nights.
Because we were with 6 people we could decided what and when we wanted to do the safari's and boattrips. We had no other people with us on the game drives.
Face made sure that we had the best safari's and he took all time to find the wildlife (although he had a bad cold and felt sick). Even on the way back and in the dark he was still trying to find animals. That's when we also saw the wilde dogs.
The staff really spoiled us with everything they had to offer. They are proud of their wildlife and their country. That was good to see.
I can advise this camp to everyone!

Room Tip: All 6 tents are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Of the 4 camps we stayed throughout the Delta, Sango was the cleanest and nicest but that was also because it was the newest. I got my first night of good sleep at this camp in days, beds are very comfortable. The food is excellent. We didn't see as much game here as some of the other camps but as anyone will tell you, game viewing at any camp is all about luck, one day you see lots, other days you don't see much.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sango Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sango Safari Camp

Address: Khwai Concession, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sango Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sango Safari Camp is nestled in the shade of the trees overlooking the Khwai River. Situated on the outskirts of the traditional village of Khwai and on the border of Moremi Game Reserve, the camp offers you the perfect base from which to explore the wildlife and culture of this unique habitat. This intimate safari camp is named for the Sango Family, some of the original inhabitants of the Khwai area, and now part owners of the camp. You will have the chance to learn first hand about the unique lifestyle and experiences that come from living and growing up in one of the most wildlife rich areas of Botswana. Accommodating 12 guests in 6 en-suite meru tents Sango Safari Camp is designed in the style of the classic tented safari camp of days gone by. With its open-air bucket showers, hand crafted furnishings and classic styling Sango Safari Camp aims to rekindle the atmosphere of the luxury mobile safari camp, successfully blending the rustic with the luxurious. With the Khwai River forming a natural border between the world famous Moremi Game Reserve and Khwai Concession, animals can travel freely through this vast unfenced wilderness. Situated on the river overlooking the Moremi and with access to both these magnificent wildlife areas, Sango Safari Camp is focused on delivering an exceptional wildlife experience. The camp’s location allows guests to take advantage of a host of wildlife activities which include; open vehicle game drives both in the Moremi and in the Khwai concession area, guided bush walks, and night drives. With a combination of permanent water, seasonal floodplains, open grasslands, riverine forests, and dry woodlands this incredibly rich habitat supports a diversity and abundance of mammals and birds rarely matched in northern Botswana. Sango Safari Camp invites you to share in this bounty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sango Safari Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sango Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.