We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okuti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okuti
Save
You added Okuti to your Saves list
Xakanaka, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Felt like a home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Okuti was our last camp of three that we visited in Botswana. The first two were Wildnerness Safari camps, and they set the bar pretty high, in terms of accommodation, staff, and ethos. I must say that Okuti was of comparable quality in every way.
The thing I noticed first was that Okuti was managed by Botswanans, at least when we were there. (I think the management staff must work on some sort of rotation.) We felt as if we were being welcomed to someone's private home, of which they were justifiably proud. No request was too large or too small.
We stayed in a family room with our 13 year old. It was absolutely huge, with a completely separate bedroom. There is both an indoor and outdoor shower. Both were great. Our guide, Tshepo, was an excellent tracker and was very conscientious about making sure we were happy and got to see everything we wanted to see. He is a delightful person.
We really appreciated being awakened each morning by coffee and tea. It made the 6 a.m. wakeups easier to bear.
We were there in early June, and it was quite cool at night (hot water bottles provided) and hot in the afternoons--hot enough to use the little pool. We didn't notice any mosquitoes, even when we were on the water.
The food was plentiful and delicious. Everyone ate together at a long table, which we quite liked. I think you could arrange for a private table if you wanted. Some people dressed up a bit for dinner, some wore their safari clothes--either one was fine. The atmposhere is very relaxed. There was a very small curio shop where it was possible to buy souvenirs, some of which were made by the staff. Lizzie's baskets are beautiful!
We thought Okuti was a very special place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely well appointed accommodations the outdoor shower was wonderful. Helpful caring staff, our guide was fantastic thanks Sully!! Thanks Robin and Mona for a wonderful time (great managers). The food was very good and served by a great staff We had a wonderful experience at Okuti!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alr4444
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Camp Okuti was our first stop in Bostwana and lived up to every expectation. The staff was stellar, welcoming and extremely helpful throughout our 3 day/2 night stay. No request was too much and offers of superior service for things you didn't even think to ask for were common. The managers Robyn and Mona worked hard to make this trip everything a safari in Botswana should be while at the same time friendly and enjoyable by the camp fire with a glass of wine. The entire staff was so friendly and made you feel like family. Our guide, Soloman was extremely knowledgable and fun. The stay began and ended with a light aircraft flight over the Delta which was a spectacular addition to the trip seeing herds of elephants bathing, hippos and giraffe. Highly recommend the motor boat cruise in the afternoon with the opportunity for an amazing sunset and great bird viewing. Other game drives included a high volume of animal viewing including elephant, lion, hippo, impala, etc. No watch outs or heads up to give potential guests and feel confident saying you'll be in great hands at Okuti, with lovely rooms (comfy beds and lovely showers), morning coffee watching sunrise and great food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

After a long flight to Jo'Burg and two shorter ones to Maun and then Okuti, we were introduced to Botswana. This was the first leg of our two-week safari and we were utterly impressed.
Being from Canada, we were very familiar with "rustic" - but this kind of "rustic" took our breath away. Huge rooms, outdoor showers (where the sun never stopped shining), incredibly comfortable beds, coffee service to our door every single morning was just the beginning. The food was great and abundant and the pool was perfect after the morning safaris.
Our guide - King Solomon - made every effort to make every drive the most memorable. His knowledge of the countryside and his respect for the animals was exceptional. We got to see a lioness and her three cubs, a pack of wild dogs, elephants, hippos, zebras, giraffes and countless birds. Had this been the one and only safari, I would have left very happy (we had two other camps to go).
The staff was wonderful, accommodating, helpful and very entertaining. The drinks by the side of the fire every evening had us sharing our experiences with other travelers and simply brought a nice finale to each day.
Should you go? Absolutely. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in April for three nights at the Okute Camp with our 9 year old daughter. This camp is splendid, perfectily situated with postcard views and managed perfectly. The team at the Camp made the difference and were fabulous. The rooms are very large, even with balcony and clean. Food and wine at the camp were excellent. We have seen lots of wildlife in particular by Jeep. We recommend this camp in particular for families with children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgian
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went to Okuti camp, so said a 5 star camp. We enjoyed the trip but expected more from the camp itself. Rooms were very nice but there was no bath as you would expect in a 5 star place. Also if you wanted to dry your hair with a hairdryer you had to go to the lounge where there was no privacy. Food was average, there was no choice and I also found there was no atmosphere at the camp.
But it was not all bad, we enjoyed the drives with our guide Solly, which I must give an extra thumb up to do a good job. He went out of his way to find leopards, lions etc. etc. and this made up for everything else. Thanks to Solly we had a trip we will never forget!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having spent 2 nights in the desert the delta was a total contrast and okuti is perfectly situated to take in the environment. Looking over the xackanaxa lagoon the room was not what I would describe as a tent it was beautifully constructed with carved hardwood indoor and fleshing out door shower nice touch.
Saw the big five and my best leopard with kill until wild dogs and baboons turned up though he soon returned to finish up.
Food was fantastic and brought to you with African song which helps remind you where you actually are!
Great staff and guides add to the whole experience

Room Tip: All rooms have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Okuti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okuti

Address: Xakanaka, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Okuti you will discover the treasure trove of wildlife that inhabits the Moremi Game Reserve, one of Botswana’s prime wilderness areas. The ceiling fan cooled rooms have en-suite bathrooms and both indoor and outdoor showers. Each room has a magnificent view of the Xakanaxa lagoon. Public areas include a dining room, sitting room, swimming pool and campfire.Game drives are conducted by specially adapted four wheel drive vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Okuti Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okuti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.