We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all the little things...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kristoff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Kristoff to your Saves list
Hotel Kristoff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave 8 Santa Rita entre calles 68 y 69 | Maracaibo, Edo. Zulia, Maracaibo 4002, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Maracaibo
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“It's all the little things...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

...that don't quite seem to work. When I arrived, the room safe and the tv remote weren't working. The handle to the closet door came off when I tried to open it. A light in the bathroom went out during my stay. As another reviewer mentioned, there is a decent gym but the treadmill shut down after reaching little more than light jogging speed and the tv in that part of the gym didn't work. There is a nice pool but the right chemicals seem to be missing resulting in a shade of blue-green that isn't quite right. On the plus side, the problems that I reported were quickly and effectively fixed. It's clear that they have a substantial staff that work hard. I just wish there hadn't been so many issues and that they were identified and fixed without guests having to point them out.

There's not a lot of choice in Maracaibo for this type of hotel and this one is centrally located. The breakfast buffet is good and reasonably priced. Given the lack of reasonable alternatives in Maracaibo, I would likely stay here again in future visits. Hopefully one of the newer/remodeled rooms suggested by another reviewer will be available!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    54
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
51
6
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Travelled to Marcaibo-Venezuela for personal matters with my family and stayed at the Hotel Kristoff. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast was included and it was very good. we had dinner at the restaurant by the pool and it was excellent. The swimming pool area was nice. The Hotel had a small gym but it should be updated urgently. The bedrooms were very clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days this past month and we both loved it. I highly recommend paying the extra amount for a newer/remodeled room. Our room was beautiful, very modern and clean. It was obviously recently updated with a big flat screen TV, new mini-fridge, king size bed, and shower with see-thru glass into the bedroom. We saw pictures of some of the older rooms and they are very outdated - so to be fair, you get what you pay for.

The hotel staff was great - calls to reception for extra towels, toilet paper, complimentary bottles of water, etc - were answered and delivered within minutes (although we were on the main floor). The atmosphere around the grounds was excellent - relaxing music played 24/7 and there are big areas of comfortable seating (indoor and outdoor) to kick back. We sat outside alot at night while it rained. Very nice.

The hotel is in a decent part of the city, but like anywhere in Venezuela, you're not far from some sketchy areas. My wife is from Maracaibo and we drove her car everyday around town. Security into and out of the parking lot is controlled by guards and at night there are big gates that close and seal the whole perimeter off. We regularly saw security checking the parking lot and common areas day and night, something we definitely appreciated.

The restaurant was excellent as well, although unbelievably pricey. I guess most hotel restaurants are. You definitely pay for the convenience of it being open 24/7, but it's somewhat comforting to not worry about going out at 3am if you get hungry. The food was better than most hotels I've stayed at, but again, you pay for it.

Our only complaint was about the wifi internet throughout the hotel. It worked maybe half the time we were there, and even when it did work, it was painfully slow. To give some credit to the hotel, internet access for this city in general is depressing, so it might not have been their fault. The hotel has a fairly nice business center near the lobby, however, the computers are ancient and also about as slow as the wifi connection when it worked. All in all it wasn't the end of the world - but for a hardcore business trip - best to have a backup plan. We racked up an extra $200 in international roaming for data on our Blackberrys - money we would have much rather spent in the city/hotel. One other sad note of our trip was that the pool was under remodel the entire time we were there. We knew about that in advance so can't complain much, but it would have definitely been nice to take a swim here. We went to the pool at the Intercontinental Hotel (which is definitely more luxurious, although lacking unique atmosphere... and it's about twice as expensive as the Kristoff)

Room Tip: Pay the additional fee for a newer/updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

In February 2011, I stayed here for one night and consider it one of the best options in Maracaibo.

A nice hotel that has grown over the last couple of years.
The rooms are nice, but very simply furnished- you can expect basics, but nothing more.

The hotel also has a small pool and a fairly good equipped gym - although several machines were not functional during my visit.

In easy walking distance, you also find several places for dining.

In general: good value for money in Maracaibo!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed in Maracaibo to visit family for 2 nights and I decided to pick this hotel based on the previous reviews as well as the pictures. We stayed in a renovated matrimonial double which was quite large. The bathroom had glass which looked onto the bedroom so someone in the room could see everything on the bathtub. There was an electronic safe which is very useful. The breakfast was very nice...a large selection of traditional venezuelan food as well as the standard eggs...they also have an omelet bar where they make your eggs to order...that was good. We went into the pool as well and it was a good size. The hotel is a bit far from things to walk to but a short tazi ride away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in maracaibo.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed four nights. Room was comfortable and lobby is spacious and modern. Fitness room wasn't great - the treadmill equipment was sporatic at whether it would work - or not. I'm told the fitness room has been that way for quite a while. Breakfast was excellent - many choices of wonderful meats, fruits and breads. Pool area is beautiful with good bar service. All in all, good stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Traveled there with my partner and we really enjoyed our 2-night stay.

Our room was renovated - except for the bathroom which was dated and smelled like mould. I'm not sure if all the floors and floors have been renovated so you might want to request a remodeled room.

The best thing about this hotel is the patio / pool and common areas. The restaurant was disapointing and was pricy for the quality of the food.

WiFi worked well and was free. I have stayed at other hotels in Maracaibo and this one was the best by far. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kristoff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristoff

Address: Ave 8 Santa Rita entre calles 68 y 69 | Maracaibo, Edo. Zulia, Maracaibo 4002, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Zulian Region > Maracaibo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Maracaibo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kristoff 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Kristoff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristoff Hotel Maracaibo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kristoff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.