We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Good room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Maracaibo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Maracaibo to your Saves list
InterContinental Maracaibo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 2 El Milagro, Maracaibo 4002, Venezuela   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Maracaibo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Service, Good room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

El personal es muy amable, el cuarto bastante ejecutivo, el wireless fallaba mucho pero había para conectar por cable y funcionaba bien. El desayuno variado y bueno. No se encuentra en una zona que se pueda caminar, hay que tomar taxi para cualquier lado, muy cerca del lagomall.

The staff is very friendly, the room quite executive, the wireless failed a lot but had to wire and worked well. Breakfast varied and good. It is not located in an area that you can walk, take taxi to either side, near the lagomall.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosana N, Community Manager at InterContinental Maracaibo, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped

Agradecemos que haya tomado parte de su valioso tiempo para realizar este comentario, para nosotros lo más importante es la opinión de nuestros huéspedes. Nos complace saber que disfrutó de todos los servicios durante su estadía y lamentamos que detalles hayan interferido en su experiencia, sabemos que estos marcan la diferencia.

Estaremos encantados de recibirle nuevamente en su próxima visita a la ciudad

Un saludo cordial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
21
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We go there every year because one of our friends works there. The hotel has great architecture and luxury looks, quite good for a 4-stars hotel. The rooms are good too, but get too cold if you turn the air conditioner on, thank god the comforters there will get you more warmer. Sleep quality is great, but not decent.

Food is excellent, from salads to pizzas. There's also the cultural foods we have in on countries like arepas and they taste good. A lounge is also there that is nearby to the pool.

Pool is good but requires some cleaning. There's also a small bar and a waterfall which give you more fun.

There's also salons which are place to special events like bazars/weddings so if you like shopping or partying don't look further.

This is a very good hotel which would give you fun. Somewhat expensive but nice for travels to Maracaibo.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosana N, Community Manager at InterContinental Maracaibo, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank You for your review. We were pleased to receive you and we are delighted to hear that you had a great experience and you enjoyed all the facilities we have and made an excellent experience for you during your stay.

We will be very pleased to receive you on your next visit to the city.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Beautiful hotel with a nice arquitecture and space. Delicious buffet breakfast included, bar and
restaurant in the lobby with great food and attention. Big pool with jacuzzi and waterfall, and also a bar in the pool.
Night club "Bari" music not so good... Close at 2:00am

Excellent rooms with closet, iron, free wifi, mini bar, safe box in the room, very Cousy beds.
Bathroom very clean, with hair dryer and essentials.

100% recommended.

Expensive hotel.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosana N, Community Manager at InterContinental Maracaibo, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Homero A

Thank you for your comment. We are delighted to know that you found the rooms comfortable and that you enjoyed your hotel stay overall. We are saddened to hear that some details affected your overall hotel experience. We know that details makes the difference.

We will be very pleased to receive you on your next visit to the city.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Not to be confused with Hotel del Lago Venetur. This is a new hotel with a great atmosphere, excellent facilities and service. The rooms are clean and modern with a great view of Lake Maracaibo. The restaurant is excellent and the service is good. Recommended for functions and events.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosana N, Community Manager at InterContinental Maracaibo, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Mutescream

Thank you for your review and for stay with us. We are very excited to hear that your overall experience during your stay was very nice.

We would be please to receive you again on your next visit to the city.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Some North American friends and I living in Maracaibo together decided to go for a mini-vacation- one night at the hotel. When we got up to the rooms, we were a bit disappointed to find that there were no adjoining double full rooms available, so they put us all around the hall from each other. Not the worst thing that could happen, but in such a large hotel we were surprised that was their only solution. The rooms were modernly decorated with comfortable beds, and appeared very clean. The view of the lake is decent, but not helped by the parking lot and dirt in between.

We spent the first day relaxing by the pool... we started out with only 4 of us there and struggled to find pool chairs but scrounged up enough. By the time our other 2 friends arrived it was even more challenging but we managed to pull hem together so everyone could have a chair. For the amount of traffic they have at the pool. You would think they would have more chairs available.Unfortunately the bar was closed that night due to Lei Seca (government rules... dry law) so there wasn't an opportunity for us to try that venue. It looked classy from what we could see of it.

The second day, we had breakfast downstairs. The room was beautiful and open with plenty of tables available and attentive staff. The food was buffet style with traditional Venezuelan foods (empanadas, arepitas, etc) as well as American classics (eggs, toast, sweet buns, etc). The empanadas was great and the orange juice was amazing!
After breakfast, we went down to the pool and, again, were unable to find chairs. In addition, the towels were not ready so we had to wait 30 minutes before there were even towels available. It was clear the pool had not been cleaned based on the amount of stuff floating around in it, so we just lounged on the side for the most part. Still, it was a nice day in the sun. The hot tub was lovely and the waterfall feature in the pool area was a nice touch. The servers were much more attentive at the pool than at other hotels and pools I have been to in the area (Kristoff and Hotel Del Lago), and the drinks were reasonably priced.

If I were to have family or friends visit me in Maracaibo, this is definitely the hotel I would choose for them to stay at. For those expecting extravagance, however, don't set your standards too high.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosana N, Community Manager at InterContinental Maracaibo, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Ms ElizabethR_22


Thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed most of your stay in our hotel, we are so sorry for the inconveniences during your stay.
Please accept our deepest apology; we know details are who make the difference.

Will consider your comments to improve our services. We would be please to receive you again on your next visit to the city.

Regadrs Rasana N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

It is not because they don't try, it is because they're not experienced and it is hard to put a finger on what exactly is the problem, it is really a bunch of small things that all add up. Example... never had enough towels, only 2 in a queen double, ignored at the bar area around the pool because I flew to Mcbo so I was told to not bring my "jewelry" so I guess we didn't look like we were worthy of service and servers went after big fish... I tipped extremely generous as in over a days salary because I wanted to and still I was ignored. I did seek the help of mgt and they corrected it but still, come on. Ok, breakfast, .... ran out of food so they shut the door early, room service, sometimes they brought the exact things, other times missed the mark, no consistency. Room stock, sometimes they'd leave water, sometimes nothing, sometimes I'd have to call to have the room made and it was well past 4pm.

Facility, impeccably clean, other than pool staff, everyone and I mean everyone was attentive, polite, and helpful. I'd definitely stay again...

For those worried about safety, pffftt... it is fine, the place has security all over, you can't go to any other floor than your assigned floor unless you have Ambassador status, the markings to different venues are well addressed.

IF you are a foreigner, DO NOT RELY ON TAXI SERVICE BACK TO THE HOTEL AFTER NIGHTFALL, THEY DO NOT COME. We were with family so all was good but we did try to get a taxi from a home nearby to the hotel and no taxi came. The reason, driver safety, they simply do not stay out ... Getting a taxi from the hotel is great, they are clean, new cars but coming back you're actually better off calling the concierge at the hotel or front desk and asking them to hail a cab and send it to your location.

Venezuela is as dangerous as you make it to be... it was absolutely fine and I'm American, we went all over, no problems, no yelling, no problems at all and I did not feel unsafe at ANY point. People were extremely happy, they love to party... and it is sad that they cannot all be free to do what they want but that is another story for another day. Safely say that this place is fine, I'd avoid the gov't owned one, aka older Intercontinental as we went to a concert there and the grounds were great but you could definitely see the structure was unkept and all so choose this hotel and you can't go wrong!

Did I mention shower was amazing and you can drink the water at the hotel and ice, etc... :)

Room Tip: Do NOT get an adjoining room, you can hear every peep, including the various noises couples make if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosana N, Community Manager at InterContinental Maracaibo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear BOBBY 1964_1

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback. We are so sorry for the inconveniences during your stay. Please accept our deepest apology; we know details are who make the difference.

We would be please to receive you again on your next visit to the city.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Excelente hotel in Maracaibo. Everything in my room was just perfect. Great facilities, great pool. I was in a five night stay becouse I was managing an event there and I can say it was just excelent. I want to congratulate Giselle and Johanly our waitresses in Vereda 2 room. Both very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosana N, Community Manager at InterContinental Maracaibo, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear joelCaracas

Thank You for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your experience was satisfactory. We will let know to Giselle and Johanly your congratulations.

We will be pleased to receive you on your next visit to the city to serve you willingly.

Best Regards
Rosana N
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Maracaibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Maracaibo

Address: Avenida 2 El Milagro, Maracaibo 4002, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Zulian Region > Maracaibo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Maracaibo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Maracaibo 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Maracaibo Hotel is located over the eastern brook coming from the Lake of Maracaibo. This modern and avant-garde architectural complex boasts 252 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Maracaibo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Maracaibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.