We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of Puerto la Cruz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz to your Saves list
Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colon 33, Puerto La Cruz, Venezuela (Formerly Riviera Puerto La Cruz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Puerto La Cruz
Puerto La Cruz, Venezuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel of Puerto la Cruz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

It is almost one year since I came to Puerto la Cruz, Anzoategi (Venezuela) I spent my first two weeks in another hotel and later on I moved to Venetur Puerto la Cruz. After 12 months living in this place I really want to continue staying on it and no intention to move to any other place, expected to be living here at least one year more.

All the rooms have awesome sea views (unless few rooms on 1st floor where some trees are around) The rooms are really comfortable and the staff is very kind and helpfull.

The swimming pool has been recently upgraded and it is really top quality.
The rest of the facilities like tenis court are out of service.
Unfortunately the beach in all Puerto la Cruz is contaminated.

The only item that really need some improvement is the food variety / quality, specially during breakfast.

Room Tip: 8th floor is the perfect place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeneturPLC, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por sus sugerencias, nos comunicaremos con los respectivos departamentos y les haremos llegar sus inquietudes. Gracias por su visita a nuestras instalaciones, esperamos contar nuevamente con su excelente presencia, estamos para brindarle un servicio de calidad. Que tenga un feliz día.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    20
    6
    9
See reviews for
25
15
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

For well traveled Americans, there are only three acceptable hotels in Barcelona. This was my second stay here, but only because the best one has no rooms as usual. The property is nice but one downside is the WIFI service is available only in the lobby, and it is unreliable most of the time and there is no business center for guests to access the Internet. Maybe because they call this a resort hotel.

When I checked in a few nights ago, the WIFI was not working at all and the front desk staff could not offer any remedy. Good thing I had Spanish speaking friends with me because, while the front desk staff tries to be helpful, but very few speak any English. I find this surprising for a hotel that boasts a self issued five star rating and one that caters to many English only guests. In contrast, the bus boy in the restaurant spoke very good English. Maybe they should train him for the front desk.
At morning breakfast, the single cook who makes eggs to order is overwhelmed with 20 or so people lined up waiting to get their eggs cooked. The management must be blind not to see this, or maybe they just don't care. I find the Venezuelan people to be very friendly and easy going. Perhaps too easy going because they put up with too many mindless situations without complaining. This hotel would go out of business in five minutes if they had a few good competitors, or if it was located anywhere in the USA.

Also, do not plan on using your USA issued credit card to buy anything in Venezuela including a cup of coffee. The prices are astronomical and when the currency is converted to USA by the banks, a cup coffee will cost you about $21. The government mandated exchange rate is $1 = 6 Bolivars. Exchange dollars for Bolivars on the black market for $1 you get about 70 Bolivars. A beer is 50 Bolivars in the hotel. Put that beer on your credit card and you will pay about $9. Pay your hotel bill in cash with Bolivars acquired on the back market.

The mattresses on the beds are very hard like sleeping on a slab of concrete. The TVs are from the 80's and there are no English language channels. There are only Venezuelan news channels in Spanish and no news channels from the US like CNN or Fox News.

My room was next to the marina dock where the hired deck hands take care of the yachts for the owners when they are away. The owner was away from the yacht below my room, and like the mice will play when the cats away, the workers were blasting Latin music so loud I could not hear the Spanish only TV. When I called the front desk to see if they could do something about it, no one understood English so I left the room and waited until 5 pm when the deck hands left.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the Marina docks, unless you like non-stop loud Latin music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeneturPLC, Gerente at Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thanks for your suggestions, will be reported to the appropriate department and they will make corrective actions. Have a nice day.


Gracias por sus sugerencias, se comunicará al departamento correspondiente y ellos harán las medidas correctivas. Que tenga buen día.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

They told me it is the best hotel in Puerto La Cruz, may be it is, but I don't want to imagine how are the others. Service awful, cleaninless left much to be' desiderd, restaurant to forget, pool service not existing. Humidity in the bathroom everywhere. The only nice things are the sunset view over the small islands and the iguanas in the garden. A place where not to stay more that one night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto La Cruz hotels

Shepherd, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Gran Hotel and Hotel Venetur are one in the same , they are just showing you the top
floor suites.
The service is horrible , theft is common practice by employees, maid service in awful and to
say the least food is expensive and not worth the time to stick a fork into.
So take it from a person who was there for 6 months, these 2 places are the one and the same.
So beware my friends the truth is not told.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having travelled around Venezuela and paying a lot for hotels that were called 4-5 stars but that were actually giving you a 2-3 star service, this hotel was the best one.
The room was big, with double beds, clean and the bed sheets and towels were also very clean. You have a hair drier and a nice view of the port from the room.
You have tv, closets and a lot of space.
The restaurant is good, you can get a good variety of food. Internet is available at the lobby, reception and restaurant area.
The swimingpool is very big, pleasant to swim but should be more clean!!!
In overall, it was a pleasant hotel. It allowed us to relax for a night before continuing the adventure around Venezuela!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamanare
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

HOTEL: The hotel is still a grand hotel architecturally, yet time has left a very strong mark on its looks today. It is noticeable the effort being made to recover part of its image but probablly ue to budget matters it is being done on a very slow pace. Anyhow, it looks very clean; reception, lobby, restaurants and even ballrooms look good. At our arrival the pool was being repaired but it was working the next day. The wave making machine was not operating.
SERVICE:
The staff is probablly the hotel´s best asset. Everyone is attentive, polite and proud of the job they have. Receptionists, bell boys, bartenders, pool service personnel, restaurant service and cleaning ladies they all deserve a special recognition. Without them the hotel is worthless.
FOOD
Overall the food is of average quality, as usually found at the buffets of mid-priced hotels. Breakfast, which is included with your reservation, offers a variety of options. Eggs in any form are prepared to order by a chef (would be fair to aid him with an assistant; too much work for one person....just saying) The buffet has a fruit salad bar, a criollo breakfast bar with carne mechada, black beans, plantains, etc. a bread station with a selection of croissants, toasts, brioches and french bread. You can order juice, coffee and lattes to the table.
Lunch and dinner are also served buffet style. They offer beef stew, chicken bechamel, rice, potatoes, desserts and salads. Being the kind of guest who like to order from a menu, we decided to have breakfasts at La Baguette which is two blocks from the hotel and lunches at L Anchora (near Baguette) and Crepes at the Caribbean Mall across the street from the hotel. All three alternatives offer a family menu, varied, good prices and a pleasant atmosphere.
ROOMS
First of all, the rooms do not look like the pictures in the web page. They do have a resemblance though. I changed rooms three times before unpacking mainly because the humidity, mustiness and worn out bedding. The good news is that I did find one I could live with and the hotel personnel were very helpful helping me finding it. My room was No. 2149 in the Building # 13. Nice view of the marina, quiet, clean, recently redecorated.
PRICE-VALUE RELATIONSHIP
In the turistic area of El Morro in Puerto La Cruz there is only one other hotel worth visiting: Hotel Punta Palma. The price of both Mare Mares and Punta Palma are similar when Punta Palma launches its promotions otherwise it is much more expensive. I would say that if you are looking for an overnight or two day stay in El Morro then it is a good deal. For one week stay check Pueblo Viejo Villas.

TOURS TO THE BEACH
If you want you can book a taxi-boat to take you to the near beaches Puinare or El Faro. Make this request at the Front Desk. But, if you can afford it, rent a private boat at the marina Americo Vespucio (next to the Hotel) Here a contact for which I do not get paid to promote: www.rasitours.com 0281-281.1297/ 281.1295 / 0424-847.2222 / 0414-822.8888, Sr. Maximo Mazzuka, Buenaventura Saavedra y Ellinda Ramos

Room Tip: Room 2149, 2259
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Ordaz
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The rooms are very old, old carpets, old design of the facilities. The hotel is near the main street of Puerto La Cruz. Very secure and the personal is very friendly.
In Puerto La Cruz are better Hotel with higher fees.

Room Tip: Be careful with the old air condition system, can make much noise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz

Address: Paseo Colon 33, Puerto La Cruz, Venezuela (Formerly Riviera Puerto La Cruz)
Location: Venezuela > North-Eastern Region > Puerto La Cruz
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Puerto La Cruz
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.