We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive hotel for what they offer, if you can book the Eurobuilding it's a better choice!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande to your Saves list
Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida El Hotel Playa Grande, Catia La Mar 1162, Venezuela   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Expensive hotel for what they offer, if you can book the Eurobuilding it's a better choice!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had to stay there on December 2012 and January 2013 for 4 occasions, due to late arrivals and no connections to my my destination or early departure. I had no choice to book, since the Eurobuilding (better choice and nearest to the Airport is always full). The price is way too high for what they offer, the staff at the reception have no education on tourist service whatsoever. The food at the restaurant was expensive, but at least decent. The rooms are ok, clean and comfortable but not to the standard you expect for what you have paid. NO complementary internet even do they charge so high for a room!!. The shuttle service SUCKS!...had to take a taxi everytime.

Compare to the JW Marriot in Caracas that is a GREAT hotel, this one is a not the best choice, but if you cannot get a reservation at the Eurobuilding, there is no more decent and safe choice nearby so you have to get stuck with this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    101
    62
    23
    14
See reviews for
55
77
16
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my family and honestly it was great comparing with all other hotels in Venezuela. The food was delicious. Rooms and facilities where excellent. The only problem is that it takes around 10 mins to get there and it could be a bit dangerous

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, W.I.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent hotel, easily the best I have stayed at while in Venezuela. I usually stay there before leaving Venezuela and I have, so far, always enjoyed my stay. Good rooms, great food, and excellent service from bilingual staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

No need to travel to Caracas if you arrive oversees heading to Grand Sabana. Free airport shuttle in theory ( not always worked) : Modern intenational standard hotel close to Caracas Airport. Not a top class neighbourhood. Rooms are modern , mediumsized and clean.Free wifi.
Most of the rooms have partial seaview. 2 munites walk to alimentary shop with sandwich and pizza corner and bakery. Good alternative to hotel pricy restaurant. Free baggage room to leave them for a few days excursion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it is definitely a good place to stay around the airport. The rooms were clean as was the entire facility. It has a great swimming pool and gym. We were able to leave ours bags while we traveled to Los Roques - they then had a taxi bring the bags to the airport when we came back. It felt safe and compared to the Eurobuilding Express it was nicer - However the eurobuilding express is closer to the airport. Pay in Bolivares and not in $

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is about a 15 minute drive from Caracas airport. It is rather dated for a top name chain, but just about adequate for one night and convenient for the airport. Very slow check in.
Free Wifi in reception area only. We were given the wrong access code at first so had to queue up again to get the correct one!
As we had been quite well fed by Lufthansa on the flight from Frankfurt we were able to avoid using the restaurant which other reviewers have complained of being very expensive. There is a supermarket about 50 meters from the hotel- useful for snacks and water, although I would not want to venture outside the front door after about 8pm as the area doesn't look like it might be too safe.
Unable to comment on the breakfast as we had to leave at 5 am. The overall impression was well below expectations for a top name chain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Room has great view, breakfast was great but the big problem was the elevatora. The day of my arrival, I had to use the service elevator. The folloqing day, only one elevator was working out of 3!!!!!
By the wayhotel.rate was $395!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande

Address: Avenida El Hotel Playa Grande, Catia La Mar 1162, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Catia La Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande Hotel Catia La Mar
Marriott Catia La Mar
Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande Catia La Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.