We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Kavac and Felix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excursiones Kavac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaima National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Excursiones Kavac
Save
You added Excursiones Kavac to your Saves list
Canaima National Park, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Petaluma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Thank you Kavac and Felix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We choose to stay at Tepuy Lodge and loved it there and were most grateful for the service from Kavac tours. Felix took great care of us, especially my husband as he wasn't feeling his best. The boat ride is a hoot...lots of fun, beauty and wonder. I had reservations before we left based on other reviews yet found everything/everybody to be great. Yes, tardiness is a local trait and our tour was delayed by a few hours (darn, would have liked more time up river). Going up rapids defies logic and made me gasp and laugh all the way. Hiking to the falls isn't too tough, just that to look around I had to stop as when hiking, I watched every step I made due to the roots. When we arrived at the look out it was worth every step, "POW, right in the kisser". Dinner was good and sleeping in the hammocks well worth the adventure (with ambien I suggest....slept like a baby). The ride down is more fun again and then we choose to take the flight over Angel Falls and it was AWESOME...don't miss it if the weather permits. I recommend Kavac and didn't see any difference in the different tours. Have fun, I know you will; it's a trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: take a sleeping pill to avoid hearing others snore when you sleep in a hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

As you will discover, Angel Falls is in the middle of nowhere; needing 2 days of travel into. (From Caracas to either Puerto Ordaz or Cuidad Bolivar, probably having to overnight and then a flight to Canaima). With its remoteness, you will surely expect accommodations to be rustic (and completely off the grid, no phone nor wifi nor internet) The lodges are also your tour guide into the Falls.

You are met at the Canaima airport where you can buy souvenirs, ponchos mosquito repellant and food. Our guides, almost hesitate to call it service, never said much and times were often much later than they told your so you sat around waiting and waiting. Their "10 minutes" to get the keys for our group of 26 (seemed most were doubling up as well) ended up to be nearly 45 minutes. And as they handed us our key, the voluntarily confirmed it was a "matrimonial" room yet got a room with 4 singles...kinda how the trip went.

Room was basic, furniture quite old and bathroom rather musty smelling. The fan worked but the AC unit did not, but area is fine with just the fan. It's a remote, transit only accommodation (only reason to be here is to get to Angel Falls)its very basic but also just hasn't been updated in a long time.

Water provided from a cooler, but only when the kitchen /dining area is open, so you dont always have access to it, so load up during meals. Sold out of beers and alcohol when were were there. Are a couple of tiendas nearby but selection limited, and close at 7or 730pm.

Every meal was served at least 30 minutes later said told to us, sometimes almost an hour. This is not ideal, especially for early morning calls or when trying to get a nap in, you end up sitting and being tired. Same with the departure times from places...wait and wait some more, which also meant just less time for the activities and Falls you are there to see.

Have a towel, bathing suit, trekking shoes, water shoes/sandals, insect repellant and sunblock (and soap/shampoo if taking a shower at the base camp) Only have what is necessary for these 2 days at Canaima, leave the rest of your stuff at Cuidad Bolivar/Puerto Ordaz.

You travel in small wooden boats, not a lot of leg room nor back rests...so on the 4 hour ride to Angel Falls, I found it a bit achy for my back and legs and butt. If you have back issues, ask to sit at the back so you can lean up the luggage...though only 2 of these seats so ask early! The ponchos are for wearing on the boat if you are so inclined, as you WILL get wet from the boat ride. It was so sunny and hot, I found it easier to just be in my bathing suit for the ride, especially as you stop off at waterfalls to so swimming and cool down a bit.

The one hour up to Angel Falls is quite treacherous for the path as opposed to its steepness. Thick tree roots and rocks make up most of the pay, so its difficult for footing, such uneven surfaces (and therefore should it rain, very slippery)...have your trekking shoes for this. The viewpoint for the Falls is on big boulders jutting out from the side if the Falls. And a bit further up is a swimming pool.

Sadly, we NEVER receive ANY info on the Falls nor area, NADA. NIL. And the guides spoke english, simply no info in english nor spanish. Don't know why it was named Angel Falls, when discovered, when it gets more water, that its 20x the height of Niagara (heard this from another tourist, but no idea the actual measured height). Very disappointed in the lack of info. One thing to be late for every meeting time you state, another to just say NOTHING about the reason we are all there...and surely most tourists don't come here often, a once in a lifetime visit and to not have any background or details is very very disappointing.

The base camp is rows of hammocks about a foot/half away from the next person, all lined up together. Metal roof, no walls...and low lighting which goes out around 830/9pm. In total 4 showers (I used my flip flops for) and 4 toilets with everyone using at once, so gets crowded...bring your own toilet paper, soap and shampoo and towel..

So after 2 days of travel there and therefore 2 days of travel back....you get to see the Falls as you approach it on the boat...and maybe for an hour at the viewpoint. Impressive, very much so..but also a bit of "that's it" considering the journey and type of accommodations, which again was made less by the lack of ANY information from the guides, little water or drinks in hot hot weather (a lot of people also felt the meal portions were quite small).

Choose your tour operator well....yes it won't change the journey method and will always be rustic but can be s much more enjoyable for seeing this Wonder

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Overall I would say this was a good experience with Kavac. The guide spoke good English and took care to explain to both English and Spanish crowds.

The programme itself was good. We managed to cover pretty much all the important sights (viewpoint, sapo falls) and in good time. The 2 hour boat ride might be tough for some people but just make sure you have waterproof jackets.

I just wouldn't recommend someone looking for a luxury tour to go with Kavac as they do offer a budget kind of experience. Coming from a 6 day trek up Mt Roraima, I thought that Kavac was pretty good because they provided Coke at mealtimes. And the overnight stay in the jungle features built-up toilets and showers with hot water - comfortable to say the least? Do manage your expectations, they aren't that bad a tour company.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

3 day, 2 night Angel fall tour. We arrived around 9:30am, and told the rooms would be ready at 2pm but lunch would be served at 12. We just had to trust that our bags would be ok as there was nowhere secure to leave them if we wanted to wander down to the lagoon for a swim. (They do have a 'secure' room to leave luggage when you actually go to the falls, but one member of our group had 1000b's stolen from his bag there!) Lunch was ok and the bedroom fine, sharing with two others. Then in the afternoon a 5 min boat ride to a guided walk behind a water fall, this was really amazing, although we lost the guide. Back for dinner, again ok, then the only option is to drink at the bar, (which looked a lot like an english social club) the only thing they do well is provide a good variety of Liquor, because they charge 4 times the price of all the bars in Merida, Venezuela, where I had just come from! They charge 100bs per person more to arrange a flight over the falls than the airport do and won't discount even if you can fill the plane, also claiming it's a good deal from their friend.
The boat trip to the falls the following day is 3 hours long, but very beautiful, lunch was pretty bad, not very nice bread sandwich with processed ham and cheese, but it does keep hunger at bay! The weather was beautiful when we arrived at camp so I asked if we could start the walk to the falls straight away as I knew it was very changeable, but, was told we would go in half an hour and the guide proceeded to lay in his hammock. Sadly the weather did start to change as we were walking to the view point, so our photo's were all cloudy. It didn't take away from the awe inspiring wonder of the falls, it was just a little annoying.
Kavac have one of the worst camps, as you can't actually see the falls from there. Where as from many others you can. So that one trip to the view point is all you get, aside from a brief glimps from the boat on the way in and at 7am the following morning as we left.
I thought Angel falls was all very rushed, with a lot of wasted time in Canaima. You could easily go on the first day, do the walk behind the waterfall on arrival in Canaima, eat lunch then take the boat to the falls, this would give you the option to walk to the view point twice over two days and relax in the jungle by the river which is far more beautiful than Canaima. But then they wouldn't make their money from the bar!!
I've done a lot of tours in South America and this was the worst company, they just went through the motions, not giving any level of care and only trying to get rich.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We just returned from a Venezuela tour. We did the 3 days Angel Falls tour with Kavac. We actually booked our tour through Osprey Expeditions, Ben was great. We arrived in Canaima and were greeted by our tour guide, Moomba. He was great and suggested we walk down to the lagoon for nice views of the falls while we were waiting for the other plane to arrive. He assured us our bag would be safe and it was.

Upon arriving at the camp, Moomba explained to us how our first day of visiting Salto Sapo would be. He was very informative and complete in the description. On the tour he was also very informative about the area. At Salto Sapo he even offered people to walk under the smaller top part of the falls and then a little down the river to almost the edge of the big part. It looked very exciting, although we did not do it.

The next day we headed to Angel Falls, the boat ride was long but the scenery the entire way was beautiful. The hike up to Angel Falls was hard but well worth it once we reached the viewpoint.

All the meals were also very good, except the lunch on the boat, it was just OK.

We would definitely recommend Kavac!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were booked to do a tour with Kavac through someone else and complained very quickly!

The lodge is hideous and dirty - I have never seen so many flies in one place in my life as in their restaurant!

Also we moved to another hotel and were told we still needed to do our flyby with Kavac. When we told the guy who had been allocated as our guide that we were moving hotel but would be ready at 10am the next day as we had been told, he told me that he decided when the tour was and would call me that night and took my number. When he didn't call we walked around to their lodge the next morning at 9.35am and were told to wait. He finally turned up at 10.20am and said that he wasn't doing it any more and so we missed our flight and had to suffer 24 hours or not knowing if we were the only people to go all the way to Angel Falls to not see the falls! As it was our lovely hotel sorted it.

All in all useless! Save your money and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

First off Kavac treated us fantastic, right from the first meal and the surprisingly nice cabin in Canaima. Great food, great guides all the way. The three days Angel falls tour has a lot to offer as Canaima is spectacular in its' own right, even before you get to the falls. The lagoon is very beautiful, walking behind one of the other waterfalls in particular. The surrounding views of the tepius along the way is out of this world.

Be warned though, in the dryer seasons the last few hours on the river can be quite difficult. You will likely have to jump in and out of the boat dozens of times, pushing it along the rocks for brief periods in strong current (only wear socks for this part and waterproof your camera). Less physically able people may want to seriously consider going in a rainier season. For those who are more active though, pushing the boat is actually quite the adventure.

The hike at the end could be hard for some too, as you do have to go about an hour or so up, and you will want to get up to the viewing area of Angel Falls before sunset; as it takes all day to reach angel falls on the boat. We were ok though, we had more than an hour to spare after the hike to the top before sunset. Bring a good flashlight for the hike back though, as it will likely be dark before you get back to camp. The 2nd night angel falls camp is all hammocks, so no luxury at all, but there are showers. The boat journey back is much easier the 3rd day as it is with the current, and we barely had to push, even in dry season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excursiones Kavac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excursiones Kavac

Address: Canaima National Park, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Guayana Region > Canaima National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Canaima National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excursiones Kavac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.