We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to Detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Rudy's Ucaima Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaima National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle Rudy's Ucaima Camp
Save
You added Jungle Rudy's Ucaima Camp to your Saves list
Canaima National Park, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
NORTHRIDGE, CALIFORNIA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me (aged 72), my wife (aged 48) and our daughter (aged 15) had a most incredible stay at Jungle Rudy's. Our guide had a sophisticated sense of humor - upon arrival he told us it was his first day! It certainly was not his first day. He was an expert who measured our interests and abilities taking us behind waterfalls, arranging a fantastic flight - make that flightS - back and forth in front of Angel Falls and carefully guided us up the canyon to Kavak Falls. The accommodations were top notch - we had a room right by the river; the food, while simple, was very tasty and served in abundance; all the personnel were personable; the variety of non-human guests provided entertainment - never knew iguanas could jump so far, did not know that tarantulas came in white, and then the birds and more birds. The owner-manager, Gabby, was relaxed, but attentive.

A note about costs. We booked and paid for everything before leaving the U.S. That was a big mistake. You see the official exchange rate is 1 U.S. dollar to 6 Venezuela Bolivares. The easily found street rate was 1 U.S. dollar to 24 to 30 Venezuela Bolivares (now more). That means we paid up to 5 TIMES the real cost. So book your reservation directly with Rudy's and then exchange your dollars after you leave Caracas. Of course, be aware that it is illegal to exchange money on the streets and you could be thrown in the clink. But you can weigh your options when you get there. Asking a few innocent questions in Puerto Ordaz may save you several thousands of U.S. dollars!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - but it is a bit special to have the "far" room by the patio by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Been wanting to visit Angle Falls for 30 years,by chance we stayed at Jungle Rudy, June 2012 had one of the best times of our lives. Rudys daughter runs Ucaima these days, with the locals as employies. Have to single out Alex a local guide who works at Jungle Rudy. Alex ,we had such a fantastic time. Great guy. Promised to send him a boxing kangaroo Flag to hang on the flagpole, Thankyou everyone at Jungle Rudy.Geoff and Lynette. Australia.

Room Tip: Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I went there with a group of friends two years ago and we had an unbelievable time. The Camp was outstanding clean, comfortable and food was GREAT. the Guide we had took us on the best hikes behind waterfalls and into beautiful jungle areas around the area. We saw and swam in so many waterfalls. the trip to Angel falls was great (saw a giant brown tarantualy on the hike - SCARRY) and the trip to Kavac was one of the most wonderful expierinces of my life. When we were in the cave it started to rain and he had to hightail it out before the cave entrance closed up. We got outside in the big lagoon and all of a sudden these two giant waterfalls just came out of the side of the rock cliff at the edge of the logoon not 30 feet from us (100 feet above us). It was the most amazing experience being in the lagoon when the waterfalls started.

I am going back with wife and kids this November.

Room Tip: near the river is better you can jump in right outside your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is THE place to stay if you plan to head t Angel Falls. Rudy's daughter is the current owner and manager at the camp, having grown up in this very area after her father, "Jungle Rudy" was the first to build a camp in the area. The 5m long Anaconda skin above the wall near the bar is the one that the owner's mom had to kill when the snake kept returning. They tried to relocate it, but the snake kept coming back and the couple was worried about their daughter's playing in the river as the snake grew older! Talk about character in a place!
The rooms are clean, the staff is wonderful and the location is the best, by far, of the camps in the area. Their remote camp closer to Angel Falls (2 hours by motorized dugout canoe) is the only one with beds instead of hammocks, and it has a great view of the falls itself. David is the best guide a group could hope to have.
I have no hesitations at all giving a recommendation without reservations. Do remember, this is a lodge in the jungle running on generator (no electricity later at night).
The did offer free wi-fi at the main lodge next to the bar. "Hi speed" is a relative term in the jungle!
I would absolutely recommend

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010 via mobile

What a wonderful place to break away from technology, and the work rat race a place to enjoy nature and merge within. The daily tours to diferent falls were amazing. I loved every minute of this trip. Would recommend it highly. An experience you will never, ever forget.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

My husband and I had an amazing time here. Tucked off a river and filled with stunning views. Dinners were great and excursions to angel falls were so much fun. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. There is a public pavillion on the rivers edge that has a spectacular view of the hills. I would recomend taking a bottle of wine there to watch the sunset!!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Before 1956, when Rudolf Truffino (a.k.a. "Jungle Rudy") had the crazy idea to put a tourist lodge in the middle of this unbroken wilderness, Canaima was a place only the hardest of hard-core explorers could dream of visiting.

Fifty-three years later, the tourist camp he built - Ucaima - is still run by his family, and has earned its billing as THE place to go for outstanding service in the area. Meticulous about preparing trips, leaving nothing at all to chance, and displaying a commitment to looking after their guests every need, the staff at Jungle Rudy's will exceed your expectations with stunning regularity.

And trust me, when you're in the middle of the Venezuelan jungle, this extremely long experience MATTERS. If anything goes wrong this far from civilization, you are in desperate trouble. Which is why the sense you get in Ucaima Camp of being among absolute pros matters so much.

The first thing you notice at Ucaima is that nearly everyone who works there is from the Pemon Indian tribe: the original settlers in the region. So you are hosted, cared for, guided, translated to and catered to by people who've been living in this jungle for literally thousands of years. Ucaima's indigenous staff will wow you again and again with its warmth, professionalism, unrivalled local knowledge, and ability to speak a dazzling variety of languages.

The camp itself is very well tended and set in a stunningly beautiful location right by the river leading up to Angel Falls. The food is simple, Venezuelan home-style cooking: tasty and filling, but nothing fancy. Drinks are a bit pricey, but there's a wide variety on offer. But these kinds of considerations are really secondary.

The real reason to come to Ucaima is that these are the people who quite literally INVENTED the idea that normal tourists could come to and enjoy Canaima. Nobody's been showing outsiders this jungle for longer, and nobody does it better. There's just no better way to enjoy the jungle than to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jungle Rudy's Ucaima Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Rudy's Ucaima Camp

Address: Canaima National Park, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Guayana Region > Canaima National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Canaima National Park
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Jungle Rudy`s Ucaima Camp Hotel Canaima National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Rudy's Ucaima Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.