We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angel Falls

Angel Falls
Canaima National Park, Venezuela
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This breathtakingly beautiful waterfall is 16 times the height of Niagara Falls and one of Venezuela's top tourist draws.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was one of my most rewarding trips. Having only read about Angel Falls & Canaima when finally making it to the National Park I was totally blown away. Then the trip by canoe to the base of the falls was the best trip of my life.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    24
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A must see in your life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

You know all the websites and articles about "Places to see before you die"? Well, actually Angel Falls are one of those...It's a lifetime experience, an adventure you ust take alone or in a group/with your partner.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than you can imagine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were nervous about the trip from having read other reviews yet for us, it was a huge and fun adventure...."Romancing the Stone"-like. The two flights are a little scenic and arriving is thrilling. We LOVED Tepuy Lodge, very charming, artistic and comfortable. The trip to Sapo Falls is not to be missed...squeals and giggles all the way. The 4 hr boat trip the Angel was a blast...it defies nature to go up rapids and the water spray kept us cool; we still laugh at the 40' dugout canoe with the 48 horsepower motor revving up the river. The forest is beautiful and we saw a capybara swimming in the river. The guys running the boat are amazing...it's crazy- really and fun. The falls are "over the top" and staying in the hammocks was fun (we took ambien and recommend it to you). The team from Kavac tours was great, Felix took great and thoughtful care when my husband needed support as he wasn't feeling his best. Thanks Felix. We recommend the flight over the falls too, well worth it if the weather permits. We had perfect weather including a peaceful morning quiet with the falls before heading back down river. My other suggestion is to take something to drink if you like alcohol...it's welcome after the hike up and down (Venezuelan Rum did the trick for us). Have fun, I know you will. PS we stayed one night in hotel, one night in hammocks then returned. I suggest you stay an additional night at the lagoon...it would be great to chill after all the excitement plus is lovely there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The most amazing place on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is probably the most incredible, astonishing, breathtaking place on earth. It is absolutely worth the wait, the time flying and all the associated costs.
There are at least two ways to visit the falls. You can take a small plane from Puerto Ordaz that will fly you right into the canyon where the falls are or you can take the long trip which involves taking a "curiara" (small wooden boat), sleeping in hammocks and hiking to the base of the falls. No matter the option you take, you will be thankful for the experience.
It's important to make a little research before going, to make sure you select the best tour guides. I personally believe Ecoalianza is the best option because they have a lot of experience, know the best pilots and make you enjoy even more the trip.
This is a must-see place, a wonder of nature and an experience you would never forget.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Loved seeing Angel Falls, well worth the 4 hour boat ride up after an hour flight. We camped overnight in hammocks and had lovely food cooked for us. It has just rained and then cleared, leaving us with a huge view of Angel Falls pouring down water.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Falls also viewed

Canaima National Park, Guayana Region
Canaima National Park, Guayana Region
 
Canaima National Park, Guayana Region
Canaima National Park, Guayana Region
 

Been to Angel Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.