We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aprile

Aprile
4ta Av con 5ta Transversal, Caracas, Venezuela (La Castellana)
582122645775
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 464 Restaurants in Caracas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: La Castellana
Georgetown, Guyana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The best restaurant in Caracas. Excelent food, nice service, nice place and beautiful people. Try the filet and the ensalada tibia. And the crumble pie.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    41
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overrated, expensive Italian cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I heard about Aprile from many people but after having visited for dinner, I can say that it is overrated and certainly not the best Italian restaurant in Caracas.
The menu is limited but they have some innovative dishes, such as the Thai style beef carpaccio, which was a pleasant surprise. The pasta is ok but the portions are far too small for a main course.
The atmosphere is probably the best part of Aprile, a sophisticated dining room with dimmed lighting and striking floor tiles. The garden terrace is very nice as well but be aware of mosquitos.
Overall the prices are far too expensive for the quality of the food so I don't think I will return. There are certainly many other good options to try in Caracas.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's ok but not wonderful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I understand that the restaurant has a innovative menu but that is not Italian and also some dishes are not very well developed. (Ceviche caliente de Camarones y Rissotto de Portobello). The first one is an apetizer and you don't understand that combination with corn; and the second one, main dishes, the rissotto was overcooked.
The prices are too high and the terrace is very low key place, totally different to the inside area. Many told me about this restaurant but it didn't convince me for good

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Italian restaurant in the city”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

It's hard to find a place with such terrible service, atmosphere and food. When you spend 300$ (Almost 4.000bs!) you await to receive the best of the best. It's sad to tell that they can't even make a decent salsa Napoli. Worst Italian restaurant in the city, period.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“European style in Caracas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

In a city notorious for inconsistent service and supply, where waiters routinely tell customers "no hay" with an impatient roll of the eye, it is refreshing to find a gem like Aprile. Reservations are faithfully noted, tables instantly available and service is reliable. The terrace is worth reserving in advance and you might forget for a few minutes that you are in the most dangerous city in South America.

The steak-frites is the jewel in the crown of the menu. The steaks are done to perfection and the frites are worthy of a French brasserie. The wine list includes the usual South American selection as well as a smattering of Italian and Spanish wines. The Misa Bordalino was a light, fruity companion to our hearty steaks.

I'm not sure how they manage it but someone Aprile manages to find feta for its Greek salad. Feta is notoriously hard to locate in Caracas, and that alone is worth a trip.

The bar is very appealing. I plan to spend one evening there before leaving Caracas and drinking the night away.

All in all, Aprile is a top-notch restaurant. As my notoriously particular friend always comments, "It's the only place in Caracas that has never made me sick." High praise indeed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aprile also viewed

Caracas, Capital Region
Caracas, Capital Region
 
Caracas, Capital Region
Caracas, Capital Region
 

Been to Aprile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aprile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.