We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fraud” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paseo Las Mercedes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Paseo Las Mercedes to your Saves list
Hotel Paseo Las Mercedes
Avenida Principal de Las Mercedes, Caracas, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
1 review
“Fraud”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Staff misunderstood my stay intentions and applied my payment to the morning instead of afternoon and then tried to double charge me for the day. When they realized their mistake the only solution they could propose was for me to pay again anyway. Total con!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
12
16
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Decent hotel, clean rooms, good layout etc.
But that was spoiled by poor service and cold food in the hotel restaurant.
There were four of us sitting at a table for four, but the waiter repeatedly brought only three glasses, three napkins, three side plates etc.
He took our order and had to change it because they didn't have what we ordered.
He took our drinks order but did not deliver it till he brought the meal. A wait of thirty minutes
My dish of steak and French fries was cold and on complaining I was given a mixed grill from the barbeque buffet as an alternative.
This was also cold. So I gave up and ate it, or enough to satisfy my hunger.
I would advise not to use the hotel restaurant, but the rest of the staff appeared helpful, particularly the barman in the Sushi bar/ restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

1. No internet, they give you a tiny paper with the password but there is no Wifi signal.
2. Good location OK I acknowledge that.
3. No free parking
4. Cleanness is not great
5. Bathroom needs a renewal
6. Pool is small and they play very loud venezuelan pop
7. I moved from this hotel to Eurobuilding, a bit further away but it's a more serious hotel, larger pool, very clean, great breakfast for about the same price.

Room Tip: Check it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hotel is in a good location, a few blocks from El Tolón Shopping Center and surrounded by good restaurants. Las Mercedes District is one of the safer areas in Caracas. Hotel itself is part of Paseo Las Mercedes Shopping Center, but it is small and mainly tailors shops. Hotel rooms are spacious and clean. Common areas were not as clean. Swimming pool is small and too close to dining area; swimming pool, restaurant and gym are so close that get congested very easy. Service was not as good as I expected, mainly depend on people; sometimes you get a good service, sometimes don´t. Please, while in Caracas, just take taxi at hotels or shopping malls, avoid stopping taxies at the street it is not safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Quite good hotel, but a little bit oldstyle...

Hotel is in a good position, just at the end of Avenida Las Mercedes, one of the Caracas mains, close to a mall (direct entrance from the floor level)
Rooms are spacious, good general cleanliness, furniture and bathroom a little bit old-style..
Hotel is safe, with security at the entrance 24/7.
There's also an outside pool with solarium.
Breakfast and general food quality OK
at the end of the day, a bargain hotel, compared to Caracas average prices.

Room Tip: Take a high floor to avoid traffic noise from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

While this hotel is somewhat overpriced, so are all the accommodations in Caracas. The rooms here are clean and adequately appointed. The service was friendly and helpful. The area where this hotel is located is convenient for getting out and about around the city and not any more "unsafe" than any other in Caracas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Decent four star hotel in a crazy unsafe city. Nothing luxurious, but it si okey to stay over a few nights. Just a piece of advice - if you have a chance to avoid staying in Caracas, fly away to Los Roques (30 min flight).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paseo Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paseo Las Mercedes

Address: Avenida Principal de Las Mercedes, Caracas, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Paseo Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paseo Las Mercedes Hotel
Paseo Las Mercedes Caracas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paseo Las Mercedes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.